The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Case Book: 7.4.b. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100624-case-book-7-4-b.html)

Kansas Ref Tue Jan 05, 2016 03:04pm

Case Book: 7.4.b.
 
Please peruse the sitch described in 7.4.b..
I have observed 99.9% of refs to designate the throw-in for Team B at the original spot where A1 was, rather than heading to the other end of the court and designating a throw in for Team B at the nearest OOB spot.

Dad Tue Jan 05, 2016 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 975279)
Please peruse the sitch described in 7.4.b..
I have observed 99.9% of refs to designate the throw-in for Team B at the original spot where A1 was, rather than heading to the other end of the court and designating a throw in for Team B at the nearest OOB spot.

Are you confusing this with the initial thrower in the play being OOB?

I can't even remember the last time I've seen this play mucked up. 99.9% seems off

jpgc99 Tue Jan 05, 2016 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 975279)
Please peruse the sitch described in 7.4.b..
I have observed 99.9% of refs to designate the throw-in for Team B at the original spot where A1 was, rather than heading to the other end of the court and designating a throw in for Team B at the nearest OOB spot.

I don't have my books with me, but is this a caseplay regarding the spot of a backcourt violation? Or a potential back court violation that does not occur because the ball goes out of bounds before being touched in the backcourt by A?

In either case, the spot of the next throw in should be the spot nearest to where the violation (either out of bounds or backcourt) occurs.

Not a hard rule to understand, but hard to believe that you have observed 99.9% of refs get this wrong.

Raymond Tue Jan 05, 2016 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 975279)
Please peruse the sitch described in 7.4.b..
I have observed 99.9% of refs to designate the throw-in for Team B at the original spot where A1 was, rather than heading to the other end of the court and designating a throw in for Team B at the nearest OOB spot.

I've never seen an official bring the ball back to the spot nearest where A1 was standing inbounds when he threw the errand pass. You must be confusing plays.

BillyMac Tue Jan 05, 2016 03:44pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
7.4 SITUATION: What and where is the violation when: (b) A1, in a corner near B’s end line, throws a long pass which crosses the sideline in flight at the division line and touches in the bleachers near A’s end-line extended; RULING: In (b), the violation is for causing the ball to be out of bounds, but since the ball is not out of bounds until it touches something, the violation occurs when the ball touches the bleachers and the throw-in by B is at the out-of-bounds spot nearest such touching.

egj13 Tue Jan 05, 2016 03:51pm

Yeah you must be confused with another play. NO WAY 99.9% of officials get this wrong...I can't buy it.

WhistlesAndStripes Tue Jan 05, 2016 03:52pm

I'm with everyone else on this one. I don't know that I've ever seen this one done wrong.

PG_Ref Tue Jan 05, 2016 03:53pm

I think Kansas Ref is thinking that A1's pass is from out of bounds and not inbounds.

egj13 Tue Jan 05, 2016 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 975297)
I think Kansas Ref is thinking that A1's pass is from out of bounds and not inbounds.

even if...99.9% of officials in his area are administering that play wrong? (thrower starting OOB)

BlueDevilRef Tue Jan 05, 2016 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 975297)
I think Kansas Ref is thinking that A1's pass is from out of bounds and not inbounds.


I was confused for a second as well given the wording of the play. In a corner near the endline , in the play described, is inbounds. I should really read better


I wish I had a cool signature

Adam Tue Jan 05, 2016 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 975297)
I think Kansas Ref is thinking that A1's pass is from out of bounds and not inbounds.

In which case, his example of them doing it wrong is actually them doing it right.

Kansas Ref Fri Jan 08, 2016 04:41pm

yep, terrible wording in the case book, ok I understand now:)

Camron Rust Sat Jan 09, 2016 03:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 975845)
yep, terrible wording in the case book, ok I understand now:)

I didn't think the case was at all hard to understand. What was wrong with it?

BillyMac Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:51am

Doesn't Match Up With The Casebook Play ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 975845)
... terrible wording in the case book ...

I actually found this (below) to be confusing. It didn't seem to match up with the casebook play.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 975279)
I have observed 99.9% of refs to designate the throw-in for Team B at the original spot where A1 was ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 975870)
I didn't think the case was at all hard to understand.

Agree.

I still believe that the original poster confused a "regular" pass (as in the casebook play), with a throwin pass.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1