![]() |
double foul during shot
From game last night (as parent):
Double foul called (seemed to me like a poor choice to call a double foul, but that's beside the point) about the same time a shot is taken. I believe that the referee ruled the foul occurred before the shot was taken, and the team shooting kept the ball (I don't think the PA was flipped). (The coach was arguing the ball was in flight when the whistle blew, which is obviously not the test . . . this ref often had a slow whistle, sometimes very slow.) If the double foul had occurred while the ball was in flight, does the basket count? If not, does it go to AP since no team control? |
Quote:
And if the double foul occurred before the try was released, the POI is quite obvious. |
Quote:
Correct on both counts. And, if it happens after the motion has started, then it's the same answer (at least by interp, here. We've had discussions on this in the past -- one rule says allow continuous motion if there's a foul by the defense; another says no CM if there's a foul by the offense; no rule specifically says what to do if both of the above are true.) |
Quote:
If the double foul happens when the ball is in the air and the shot does NOT go in, the resumption of play goes to the arrow. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
1) DF while shooter STILL has the ball 2) DF while ball is in the air and shot is made 3) DF while ball is in the air and shot is missed |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
That's my take anyway. |
Quote:
|
Not sure how the rule is worded, but a double foul would include a "foul by the defense." What makes continuous motion inapplicable?
Thinking further: would it be the fact that a foul by a player on the team in control causes the ball to immediately become dead? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I disagree. What about a blarge? In that case, if the shot goes, the bucket counts. The charge isn't a player control foul and the block isn't a defensive foul. It becomes a double foul and the ball remains live, then ROP is POI.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Fair enough.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk |
Quote:
The examples I could find quickly in the case book either have the try released or no try started. None with a try started but the ball not released. I do recognize the conflict and the opposing point of view. |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49pm. |