The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Where is the subsequent throw in from. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100580-where-subsequent-throw.html)

rbruno Wed Dec 30, 2015 12:56pm

Where is the subsequent throw in from.
 
Player A-1 is out of bounds along the endline for a throw in. He throws the ball which is caught by B-1 with his foot on a sideline boundry line. Where is the subsequent throw in... on the endline or the sideline where the throw in was caught. Is this the same as throwing the ball directly out of bounds without being touched because the ball never touched in bounds/

bob jenkins Wed Dec 30, 2015 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 974565)
Player A-1 is out of bounds along the endline for a throw in. He throws the ball which is caught by B-1 with his foot on a sideline boundry line. Where is the subsequent throw in... on the endline or the sideline where the throw in was caught. Is this the same as throwing the ball directly out of bounds without being touched because the ball never touched in bounds/

On the sideline. It is NOT the same as throwing the ball OOB untouched.

SAK Wed Dec 30, 2015 02:29pm

Throw-ins are always at the location nearest the violation. Since B1 violated by being OOB when he touched the ball and caused the ball to be OOB, the new throw-in is at the same location where B1 was OOB.

Don't over think this.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 30, 2015 02:55pm

Yep, sideline. This was clarified by the NFHS about six years ago. Search for one of our old threads on this.

BillyMac Wed Dec 30, 2015 04:55pm

Am I Right Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 974565)
Player A-1 is out of bounds along the endline for a throw in. He throws the ball which is caught by B-1 with his foot on a sideline boundary line. Where is the subsequent throw in...

Many years ago, this used to be a throwin violation on A-1 and Team B would get the ball for a throwin at the original spot. I can't believe that there are enough of us that wake up on the right side of the grass that remember this old interpretation to make it a confusing situation for some.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Dec 30, 2015 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 974591)
Many years ago, this used to be a throwin violation on A-1 and Team B would get the ball for a throwin at the original spot. I can't believe that there are enough of us that wake up on the right side of the grass that remember this old interpretation to make it a confusing situation for some.


We are getting ready to pick my mother-in-law up to take her out for a surprise birthday dinner party celebrating her 85th birthday today, so I am not about to climb up into the attic. Therefore, I will attempt to answer Billy's question from memory.

I can definitely tell you that:

1) When I started officiating in 1971, the National Basketball Committee of the Untied States and Canada rule (for boys'/girls' high school and men's college) that if A1's Throw-in pass (along the End Line) was first touched by either A2 or B2, who were standing (along a Side Line) with one foot (or both feet) out-of-bounds, A1 had committed a Throw-in Violation for not passing the Ball to a Player on the Court. I do not remember when the rule was changed to what is now in the rules.

2) When I started officiate women's college basketball in 1974, the National Association for Girls and Women in Sports rule (for women's college in the U.S., and also girls' high school in some places of the U.S.) that if A1's Throw-in pass (along the End Line) was first touched by either A2 or B2, who were standing (along a Side Line) with one foot (or both feet) out-of-bounds, A2 or B2 had committed an Out-of Bounds Violation.

MTD, Sr.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 30, 2015 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 974591)
Many years ago, this used to be a throwin violation on A-1 and Team B would get the ball for a throwin at the original spot. I can't believe that there are enough of us that wake up on the right side of the grass that remember this old interpretation to make it a confusing situation for some.

There is confusion because about six years ago the NFHS used the opposite ruling for a year or two, then reverted to what it is now.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 30, 2015 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 974591)
Many years ago, this used to be a throwin violation on A-1 and Team B would get the ball for a throwin at the original spot. I can't believe that there are enough of us that wake up on the right side of the grass that remember this old interpretation to make it a confusing situation for some.

It was a mistake by the NFHS for a year or two that they corrected. If only they'd do that with other such mistakes.

Zoochy Wed Dec 30, 2015 09:17pm

https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29479-where-throw.html
 
Read this Post from, WOW over 9 years ago. I think it was my 1st post. :D

BillyMac Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:30pm

Fire Up The Flux Capacitor ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 974631)
Read this Post from, WOW over 9 years ago. I think it was my 1st post.

https://forum.officiating.com/basket...tml#post352597


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1