The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Which Side of the Lane Line? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100579-side-lane-line.html)

BillyMac Sat Jan 02, 2016 11:35am

Very Clear, Not Confusing At All ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 974961)
I am not moving unless it is made very clear to me what they are asking. The problem that request when I had it was very unclear and confusing. I am not taking a lot of time to try to figure them out on something where we are already set up.

So, a head coach sticks his head out of his huddle and says "Hey, Mr. JRutledge. We want the throwin on the other side of the lane, opposite the table", after you, or one of your partners, had intended putting the ball in play on the table side of the lane (the way that you were oriented before the time out). That very clear, nonconfusing request will be honored by you?

JRutledge Sat Jan 02, 2016 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 974951)
You mean the diagram for spot throw ins?

That diagram has little to do with what kind of throw-in takes place. You could have a violation or a foul that would allow you to "run" if the right violation/foul took place and put the ball back to the end line. That diagram just is for where we throw in the ball. Nothing about what type has to be executed. But most throw-ins anyway will be a spot throw-in regardless of this chart.

Peace

JRutledge Sat Jan 02, 2016 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 974963)
So, a head coach sticks his head out of his huddle and says "Hey, Mr. JRutledge. We want the throwin on the other side of the lane, opposite the table". That clear request will be honored by you?

No. I am handing it to them on the end line where I was going to be at the very beginning. He better tell the entire crew.

Peace

Adam Sat Jan 02, 2016 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 974962)
I don't believe that I've ever had such a request, but if I did I would probably honor it, unless (as I've indicated previously) it was complicated by myself, or my partner, already marking the throwin location (note that I didn't use the word spot) by standing at said location with the ball (as we're supposed to do). Doing this would give the nonrequesting team (new defense) a disadvantage not intended by the rules.

This is exactly why it would be nice (not absolutely needed, but just nice) to get some guidance from the NFHS regarding this matter.

I just don't see a problem with moving. The mechanic of standing in the throwin location isn't designed to solidify the location. But regardless, I'm just adding to the problem now so I'll bow out. We've beat this horse to death and beyond.

BillyMac Sat Jan 02, 2016 11:46am

Unless ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 974963)
That very clear, nonconfusing request will be honored by you?

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 974965)
No. I am handing it to them on the end line where I was going to be at the very beginning. He better tell the entire crew.

Wait? You just implied that you would move if the request was made very clear to you? The definition of unless is except on the condition that, or except under the circumstances that.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 974961)
I am not moving unless it is made very clear to me what they are asking.


BillyMac Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:03pm

Double Your Pleasure, Double Your Fun ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 974966)
I just don't see a problem with moving. The mechanic of standing in the throwin location isn't designed to solidify the location.

How many times does an assistant coach poke his head out of the huddle and ask, "Where's the throwin?", and we simply point to the official standing at the location with the ball? They wouldn't ask if it didn't make any difference to them as they set up their press, or their press break. (I coached middle school basketball for over twenty-five years so the location does make a difference to a coach, some players follow directions very literally) Changing the location of the throwin a few seconds before the end of the timeout could (possibly) create a disadvantage for the defensive team, and an advantage for the offensive team, advantages and disadvantages not intended by the rules.

Defensive Coach: "Hey Mr. Adam. We set up our press for the other side of the lane. Why did you change the spot from where your partner was standing with the ball, especially after my assistant coach asked about the location? Now I've got to burn another timeout to set up my press on the other side. Timeout please?" (This is the G-rated version that doesn't end with a few choice words and a technical foul).

And then, to make matters worse, at the very end of the second timeout the offensive coach requests to switch the side of the throwin a second time.

This is exactly why it would be nice to get some guidance from the NFHS regarding this matter.

Adam Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:33pm

"coach, it's an endline throw-in, they can throw in from anywhere along the end line"

BillyMac Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:35pm

Good Answer, Not Great, But Very Good ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 974973)
"Coach, it's an endline throw-in, they can throw in from anywhere along the end line"

Yes they can.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 974925)
Is A Throwin The Same As A Throwin Spot ???

Or, better yet, is a throwin the same as a throwin starting location?

4-42-3: The throw-in ... begin(s) when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.

The throwin doesn't start before the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.

There's something that occurs immediately before a throwin.

I'm not sure what it is, but where the official stands with the ball before putting the ball at the disposal of the inbounder definitely isn't part of the throwin.

bob jenkins Sat Jan 02, 2016 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 974950)
If it doesn't matter, then how is this thread now nearly 100 posts strong?

I can think of two reasons.

jpgc99 Sat Jan 02, 2016 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 974975)
I can think of two reasons.

This made me laugh. But for some reason it was somewhat entertaining. Maybe I'm just bored.

BillyMac Sat Jan 02, 2016 06:17pm

Definitions? We Don't Need No Stinkin' Definitions ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jpgc99 (Post 974979)
This made me laugh. But for some reason it was somewhat entertaining. Maybe I'm just bored.

Anything, entertaining, or not, that makes us stick our nose into a rulebook, or a mechanics manual, is worth the effort. We can't save the NFHS from imploding on itself but we can sure try.

JRutledge Sat Jan 02, 2016 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 974967)
Wait? You just implied that you would move if the request was made very clear to you? The definition of unless is except on the condition that, or except under the circumstances that.

Asking right before we are going to put the ball in play in not enough. And again, I do not have to.

Peace

Raymond Sun Jan 03, 2016 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 974996)
Asking right before we are going to put the ball in play in not enough. And again, I do not have to.

Peace

I agree...my requests all came at the beginning of the time-out.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sun Jan 03, 2016 08:56am

Not Intended By The Rules ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 974996)
Asking right before we are going to put the ball in play in not enough.

Agree.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 974969)
Changing the location of the throwin a few seconds before the end of the timeout could (possibly) create a disadvantage for the defensive team, and an advantage for the offensive team, advantages and disadvantages not intended by the rules.


BigCat Sun Jan 03, 2016 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 974974)
Yes they can.



Or, better yet, is a throwin the same as a throwin starting location?

4-42-3: The throw-in ... begin(s) when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.

The throwin doesn't start before the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.

There's something that occurs immediately before a throwin.

I'm not sure what it is, but where the official stands with the ball before putting the ball at the disposal of the inbounder definitely isn't part of the throwin.

See 6.5f. It is our job to decide where to hand ball to thrower "AFTER which" he can make throwin anywhere along endline. The team doesn't gets to decide where the throw in starts. I don't really care and will move if asked, but, as others have said, i likely won't if they wait until they are coming out of the huddle to ask. It has been requested before and when it is important enough they always ask early. Sorry to prolong this thread.

BillyMac Sun Jan 03, 2016 01:55pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 975020)
See 6.5f. It is our job to decide where to hand ball to thrower "AFTER which" he can make throwin anywhere along endline. The team doesn't gets to decide where the throw in starts.

6.5 SITUATION F: What is the procedure for putting the ball in play after a score followed immediately by a timeout: The official shall hand, or bounce (as applicable by NFHS Officials Manual), the ball to a player of the team entitled to the throwin, after which the throwin may be made anywhere along the endline (7-5-7; 8-5)

JRutledge Sun Jan 03, 2016 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 975011)
I agree...my requests all came at the beginning of the time-out.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

As I said, I only had once in my career a request after a ball was made on a FT. I honestly did not understand the request and would have been really confusing to my crew if I all of a sudden switched sides of the lane. And the coach and player never made it clear what they wanted to do. They ask the question as if I was preventing them from running to the other side of the lane, which I was not.

If the requests are made before the timeout is started, I might consider such movement, but not when we are already ready to go.

Again, I am still waiting for that request that I have to be concerned with in the first place. I just do not see this ever become an issue either way. My situation happen over 15 years ago. I have worked a lot of games since then, if this was a problem or an issue, I would think someone else would make such a request, but they haven't.

Peace

MechanicGuy Mon Jan 04, 2016 12:05am

Apologies if this post is rehashing something already covered, but this issue came in an area meeting earlier this season, was passed up the chain, and the following came back from, I believe, a state interpreter (Colorado).

5. After a score by Team A, a timeout is granted to Team B. After the timeout the coach of Team B requests the ball be placed at the disposal of the thrower at the free throw lane line extended different from the lane line extended where the official is ready to put the ball in play. Can the request be granted? The official may grant this request as it would be permitted because Team B has the privilege of moving along or passing the ball out of bounds along the endline. (Rule 7-5-7)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1