![]() |
|
|||
length of overtime period incorrect
Clock operator puts 3:00 on the board instead of 4:00 for a varsity game overtime period. Team A wins in the overtime but before the officials leave the floor it is recognized that the length of the overtime period was incorrect. Would resuming the overtime (with 1:00 remaining) be correct?
|
|
|||
Quote:
As the R, before I even consider starting the extra period I am checking the clock, counting the players and checking with my partners (I have already verified the book). As the U (or one of them) I am not giving the R a thumbs up to proceed until I know we are ready. |
|
|||
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
Quote:
the referee to the table. The timer informs the referee that by mistake the period started with: (a) more; or (b) less than four minutes on the clock. RULING: In (a), if the mistake is discovered before the clock reaches four minutes, the clock shall be set at four minutes and play resumes. If discovered after reaching four minutes, no correction is allowed. In (b), the appropriate amount of time shall be added to reflect a four-minute period. (2-5-5)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
I was reviewing the caseplay earlier today and that's when I got the idea for my scenario. I had never heard of this happening before and was wondering if anyone else had; and if so, did the officials put 1:00 minute back on the board and continue the OT or just rule game over?
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
But the officials haven't left the floor so they still have jurisdiction, right?
|
|
|||
Quote:
*yeah, I should probably know the answer to that ![]() |
|
|||
Only if you are still within the allowable window to correct the error.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!! |
|
|||
Did you read the relevant case play and rule referenced in this thread?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
And everyone thought this was a simple game?
Quote:
This Rules section appears to address a time before the horn blows. It's less clear to me what to do after the horn does blow. Is the game completed and we leave the visual confines of the court? or If we are to put 1 minute on the clock, how do we put the ball back in play? Tip off? AP arrow? Point of interruption?
__________________
Tomorrow is promised to no one. Stay thirsty my friend! ![]() Last edited by Gutierrez7; Thu Dec 31, 2015 at 10:49am. Reason: Clarification |
|
|||
Quote:
Is there statute of limitations for correcting timing and scoring errors?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Dec 31, 2015 at 11:37am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Correct or incorrect. If incorrect is this correctable? | rawhi1 | Basketball | 16 | Sat Jan 26, 2013 02:50am |
I'm confused on penalties carrying over to overtime period. (nf) | kfo9494 | Football | 5 | Sun Aug 10, 2008 07:49pm |
Length Of Extra Period Incorrect | Joel Poli | Basketball | 5 | Wed Nov 17, 2004 09:21am |
Length of Overtime | SCBroncos | Basketball | 5 | Mon Feb 24, 2003 10:24am |
Length of net? | Mike Towne | Basketball | 1 | Sat Jan 01, 2000 10:14pm |