The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   UK vs Louisville--Shot Clock Violation in Final Minute-Reset Clock? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100563-uk-vs-louisville-shot-clock-violation-final-minute-reset-clock.html)

WhistlesAndStripes Sat Dec 26, 2015 02:19pm

UK vs Louisville--Shot Clock Violation in Final Minute-Reset Clock?
 
Kentucky got the ball back with 43.1 seconds left in regulation. They are called for a shot clock violation. Never even got an attempt off. Whistle blows and clock stops with 12.6 seconds left.

Can the officials reset the clock to 13.1 based on definite knowledge of the 43.1 on the clock when UK got the ball? Any allowance for video review in this situation to set the clock properly?

crosscountry55 Sat Dec 26, 2015 04:17pm

This is not an official NCAA reply. But I will say this: if I'm officiating in CA, RI, SD, etc., and this happens in my game.....to me that's definite knowledge and great heads-up officiating, provided we had a situation where the game and shot clocks started simultaneously (e.g. on a throw-in). Yeah, I'd put the 0.5s back on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bballref3966 Sat Dec 26, 2015 08:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 974245)
This is not an official NCAA reply. But I will say this: if I'm officiating in CA, RI, SD, etc., and this happens in my game.....to me that's definite knowledge and great heads-up officiating, provided we had a situation where the game and shot clocks started simultaneously (e.g. on a throw-in). Yeah, I'd put the 0.5s back on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The shot clock doesn't necessarily start when the game clock starts on a throw-in. The shot clock starts when there is player control.

crosscountry55 Sat Dec 26, 2015 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 974271)
The shot clock doesn't necessarily start when the game clock starts on a throw-in. The shot clock starts when there is player control.


Great point.

So given that PC is a subjective assessment by the SC operator, maybe my situation does not equate to definite knowledge. I am willing to stand corrected.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

APG Sat Dec 26, 2015 08:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 974271)
The shot clock doesn't necessarily start when the game clock starts on a throw-in. The shot clock starts when there is player control.

When coming from a throw-in, the shot clock starts when it's legally touched inbounds

bballref3966 Sat Dec 26, 2015 08:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 974278)
When coming from a throw-in, the shot clock starts when it's legally touched inbounds

Whoops, that's what I going off my own NCAA knowledge and not the book. :D

Nevadaref Sat Dec 26, 2015 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 974245)
This is not an official NCAA reply. But I will say this: if I'm officiating in CA, RI, SD, etc., and this happens in my game.....to me that's definite knowledge and great heads-up officiating, provided we had a situation where the game and shot clocks started simultaneously (e.g. on a throw-in). Yeah, I'd put the 0.5s back on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You would be wrong to do that in CA.

bob jenkins Sat Dec 26, 2015 10:59pm

In NCAAW, yes, they should reset the clock, if I understand the play.

crosscountry55 Sat Dec 26, 2015 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 974283)
You would be wrong to do that in CA.


Not saying you're wrong, but mind if I ask why? Assuming SC on throw-in starts when legally touched in CA (same rule that APG cites), why not take this into consideration as definite knowledge?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Nevadaref Sun Dec 27, 2015 01:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 974292)
Not saying you're wrong, but mind if I ask why? Assuming SC on throw-in starts when legally touched in CA (same rule that APG cites), why not take this into consideration as definite knowledge?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

CA plays by the NFHS rules, except for the modifications made by the CIF and various Section offices.

In the CIF modifications document on the shot clock the following appears, [the shot clock operator shall] "Sound the shot-clock horn at the expiration of the shot-clock period. This shot-clock horn shall not stop play unless recognized by an official’s whistle."

So the whistle is what matters to the players and timer(s), not the horn, and according to NFHS rules that is when the timer is to stop the game clock. Therefore, if the timer stopped the game clock upon the sounding of the official's whistle and not the horn, no obvious timing error has occurred and the referee is not justified in altering the game clock. The game clock does not automatically stop at the sounding of the shot clock horn, even when no try for goal is involved.

Just as is the case for a travel or a foul, if the official's whistle lags the exact moment of the violation or foul, by rule, the game clock stops a little bit after the violation or foul. CA high school officials do not have a courtside monitor and therefore cannot restore the game clock to the exact time of the violation or foul as is done in NCAA contests. Officials working HS games need to adhere to HS rules, not college rulings.

JetMetFan Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 974299)
CA plays by the NFHS rules, except for the modifications made by the CIF and various Section offices.

In the CIF modifications document on the shot clock the following appears, [the shot clock operator shall] "Sound the shot-clock horn at the expiration of the shot-clock period. This shot-clock horn shall not stop play unless recognized by an official’s whistle."

So the whistle is what matters to the players and timer(s), not the horn, and according to NFHS rules that is when the timer is to stop the game clock. Therefore, if the timer stopped the game clock upon the sounding of the official's whistle and not the horn, no obvious timing error has occurred and the referee is not justified in altering the game clock. The game clock does not automatically stop at the sounding of the shot clock horn, even when no try for goal is involved.

Just as is the case for a travel or a foul, if the official's whistle lags the exact moment of the violation or foul, by rule, the game clock stops a little bit after the violation or foul. CA high school officials do not have a courtside monitor and therefore cannot restore the game clock to the exact time of the violation or foul as is done in NCAA contests. Officials working HS games need to adhere to HS rules, not college rulings.

I don't know how current it is but here's the language I found from CIF on shot-clock violations:

Quote:

The team in control shall attempt a try for field goal within the allotted shot-clock time. The try shall leave the player’s hand before the expiration of the allotted shot-clock time. Following the release, the try subsequently shall strike the basket ring or enter the basket before or after the expiration of the allotted shot-clock time.

Penalty
The ball becomes dead when the violation occurs.
Here's the language in the NCAA rule books:

Quote:

NCAA 9-11-3 & 4
The team in control must attempt a try as in 9-11.2 for field goal within 30 seconds after the shot-clock period begins.

It is a violation when a try for field goal does not leave the shooter’s hand before the expiration of the allotted shot-clock time (as indicated by the sounding of the shot-clock horn) or when it does leave the shooter’s hand before the expiration of the allotted shot-clock time and the try does not
subsequently strike the ring or flange or enter the basket.
So they're the same. If that's the case - and, under CIF rules, the ball becomes dead when the violation occurs - why wouldn't you reset the clock if the violation was for failing to release a shot-clock try before the expiration of the shot-clock period? The violation is failure to attempt a shot-clock try before 30 seconds expire. If the officials in a similar CIF situation knew the possession started with 43.1 on the clock it would seem the rules provide leeway for the clock to be reset to the point of the violation (13.1).

Nevadaref Sun Dec 27, 2015 04:06pm

Because it is not the time of the violation when BY RULE the timer is to stop the game clock, but upon the sounding of the official's whistle to recognize such violation. I believe that I was clear about that in my previous post.

Just as if a travel were to occur at 13.1 seconds remaining and the official whistles for it at 12.7, the correct time for the game clock would be 12.7, not the time of the violation.

deecee Sun Dec 27, 2015 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 974330)
Because it is not the time of the violation when BY RULE the timer is to stop the game clock, but upon the sounding of the official's whistle to recognize such violation. I believe that I was clear about that in my previous post.

Just as if a travel were to occur at 13.1 seconds remaining and the official whistles for it at 12.7, the correct time for the game clock would be 12.7, not the time of the violation.

I would only agree on shot clock violations where the ball was shot and failed to hit the rim. Then there may be discrepancy between game and shot clock. However in the case where a player is dribbling and the officials blow the whistle, say a second after the horn, I would go with the math and deduct the shot clock from game clock as what to set my timer at.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 27, 2015 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 974331)
I would only agree on shot clock violations where the ball was shot and failed to hit the rim. Then there may be discrepancy between game and shot clock. However in the case where a player is dribbling and the officials blow the whistle, say a second after the horn, I would go with the math and deduct the shot clock from game clock as what to set my timer at.

Real officials follow the rules, not make up their own.

For example, the clock rules for a shot clock violation due to an airball are different in the NBA and NCAA. The people working those games don't just decide upon a number to tell the timer. They follow the rule for the level of play that they are working.

AremRed Sun Dec 27, 2015 05:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 974332)
Real officials follow the rules, not make up their own.

Are you suggesting he is making up his own rules? If I am running down to Lead and see the game clock at 45.3 and the shot clock at 30 and we have a shot clock violation on the ensuing possession then you bet your but I am putting 15.3 on the game clock before the next inbound, even if the timer is slow and only stops the game clock at 13.9 for example.

crosscountry55 Sun Dec 27, 2015 06:33pm

UK vs Louisville--Shot Clock Violation in Final Minute-Reset Clock?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 974335)
Are you suggesting he is making up his own rules? If I am running down to Lead and see the game clock at 45.3 and the shot clock at 30 and we have a shot clock violation on the ensuing possession then you bet your but I am putting 15.3 on the game clock before the next inbound, even if the timer is slow and only stops the game clock at 13.9 for example.


Yeah, Nevada I hate to say it, but I think you're over-interpreting this. One of the rules fundamentals is that "the whistle rarely causes the ball to become dead (it is already dead)." Usually definite knowledge relative to the time involved is not available, plus there is some tolerance for human reaction time in stopping the clock. But this shot clock case is a unique scenario for which definite knowledge is available and precise. I know for certain exactly when (on the game clock) the violation occurred. I can't see any reason I would not, therefore, put that time on the clock.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

APG Sun Dec 27, 2015 06:53pm

I like how the NBA handles this....a team can only "waste" 24 seconds by rule if there's a shot clock violation.

EX: Team A has the ball to start the 2nd Q. They shoot the ball at 11:37. Team A's try does not hit the rim and a violation is call at 11:34.

Ruling: Shot clock violation. The officials will reset the clock to 11:36.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 27, 2015 09:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 974335)
Are you suggesting he is making up his own rules? If I am running down to Lead and see the game clock at 45.3 and the shot clock at 30 and we have a shot clock violation on the ensuing possession then you bet your but I am putting 15.3 on the game clock before the next inbound, even if the timer is slow and only stops the game clock at 13.9 for example.

Technically, he isn't making up his own rules. He is applying a rule from another level of basketball to the game that he is working and that isn't appropriate. The NFHS GAME CLOCK rule is very clear. The timer is to stop the clock when the official sounds the whistle, not when the ball becomes dead.
The point is that this is a simple application of the timing rules for high school games. The game clock is to stop on the whistle, not the shot clock horn. Sorry, that you don't like that, but that's the way it is.

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 974340)
Yeah, Nevada I hate to say it, but I think you're over-interpreting this. One of the rules fundamentals is that "the whistle rarely causes the ball to become dead (it is already dead)." Usually definite knowledge relative to the time involved is not available, plus there is some tolerance for human reaction time in stopping the clock. But this shot clock case is a unique scenario for which definite knowledge is available and precise. I know for certain exactly when (on the game clock) the violation occurred. I can't see any reason I would not, therefore, put that time on the clock.

When the ball becomes dead doesn't matter one bit. See above.

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 974341)
I like how the NBA handles this....a team can only "waste" 24 seconds by rule if there's a shot clock violation.

EX: Team A has the ball to start the 2nd Q. They shoot the ball at 11:37. Team A's try does not hit the rim and a violation is call at 11:34.

Ruling: Shot clock violation. The officials will reset the clock to 11:36.

I like that NBA rule too, but I won't be using it any HS or college games that I work because it isn't applicable to those levels. If the NCAA, NFHS, or CIF adopted this ruling, then I would be happy to apply it.

BigCat Sun Dec 27, 2015 10:47pm

There is an ncaa m case play wherein there is 30 seconds on the clock when the ball is inbounded to team A in its BC. At 17 seconds, A still in BC. The ruling is violation and put the game clock back at 20.

NFHS plays say time can be corrected if clock isnt stopped at the time of the whistle. I would think that anybody using a shot clock would have rules specific to these situations. If they dont, your stuck with regular nfhs timing rules. Whistle rules.

JetMetFan Mon Dec 28, 2015 12:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 974355)
There is an ncaa m case play wherein there is 30 seconds on the clock when the ball is inbounded to team A in its BC. At 17 seconds, A still in BC. The ruling is violation and put the game clock back at 20.

NFHS plays say time can be corrected if clock isnt stopped at the time of the whistle. I would think that anybody using a shot clock would have rules specific to these situations. If they dont, your stuck with regular nfhs timing rules. Whistle rules.

BigCat, I think you misread (or misremembered, to quote Andy Pettitte) that A.R. NCAAW has the same case play:

Quote:

A.R. 223. With 30 seconds on the shot clock, Team A inbounds the ball. The shot clock and the 10-second backcourt count begin when A2 legally touches the ball. While still in the backcourt, Team B causes the ball to go out of bounds. The official checks the clock after the whistle and both the game and shot clock stop on the whistle, so there is no timing mistake. The official realizes that the shot clock displays 17 seconds and there should have been a 10-second backcourt violation when the shot clock reached 20 and Team A still had the ball in their backcourt.
RULING: All three officials have erred by missing the 10-second backcourt violation. All three officials must be aware of the shot clock and know when a team has had continuous control in the backcourt for 10 seconds. Clearly, this has not happened in this play so the out-of-bounds violation must be penalized. (Rule 9-10)
I didn't include the last line of the A.R. because it isn't relevant to the conversation but it does not call for any time to be put back on the game clock.

JetMetFan Mon Dec 28, 2015 01:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 974354)
I like that NBA rule too, but I won't be using it any HS or college games that I work because it isn't applicable to those levels. If the NCAA, NFHS, or CIF adopted this ruling, then I would be happy to apply it.

Nevada, the NBA (as related by APG) and NCAA ruling are different if the shot-clock try is attempted prior to the shot-clock expiring. In NCAA if a player from Team A attempts a try and the shot-clock expires, team A has satisfied half of the requirement (i.e., attempting a shot-clock try). That's why the game clock isn't reset.

Meantime, to speak to one of your earlier comments:

Quote:

Just as if a travel were to occur at 13.1 seconds remaining and the official whistles for it at 12.7, the correct time for the game clock would be 12.7, not the time of the violation.
First, that's a case of the official's reaction time. There's always a bit of a lag time between what we see on the court and how fast we react. However, in the case of a shot-clock violation where the infraction is not attempting the try we know that infraction took place 30 (or 35) seconds after the possession began. Let's adjust your earlier scenario: In NF, an official calls a travel with 13.1 on the game clock but the clock isn't stopped until 12.7. If any of the officials knows there was 13.1 on the game clock when the whistle blew they're allowed - by rule - to put that time back on the clock. NF 5.10.1 situation C is the closest thing I can find to this situation:

Quote:

5.10.1 SITUATION C:

As the official calls a three-second lane violation, he/she properly sounds the whistle and gives the signal to stop the clock. While doing this, the official is able to see the exact time remaining in the fourth quarter. The clock shows five seconds remaining. The timer stops the clock: (a) at five seconds; (b) at four seconds; (c) at three seconds; or (d) the time runs out completely.

RULING: No correction is needed in (a). In (b), (c) and (d), the referee will order five seconds put on the clock.
Again, it's a case of definite knowledge. Yes, I know 5-10 deals with "timing errors" but scenario B in the case play doesn't necessarily have to be a mistake/error. The violation might have taken place at 5.1 on a clock which doesn't show tenths of seconds but the clock isn't stopped until 4.9. All that matters is we saw the clock at one number when we blew our whistle and it ticked down to another. In the "no shot-clock try" scenario we know when the violation takes effect so that's definite knowledge.

Nevadaref Mon Dec 28, 2015 06:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 974357)
Nevada, the NBA (as related by APG) and NCAA ruling are different if the shot-clock try is attempted prior to the shot-clock expiring. In NCAA if a player from Team A attempts a try and the shot-clock expires, team A has satisfied half of the requirement (i.e., attempting a shot-clock try). That's why the game clock isn't reset.

I'm aware of that. I never said that the two situations were the same. I merely commented that I like the NBA rule of restoring the time even when the horn sounds while the try is in flight and subsequently fails to strike the ring. I actually like that better than the NCAA way of doing it which is to not restore the time prior to the whistle.
In fact, that is basically my point in this entire thread. The officials need to follow the rules for the level which they are working. One wouldn't use the NBA method at the NCAA level or vice versa. However, some posters on here are advocating using these higher level rules at the high school level. Since all HS shot clock rules are set by the various states or leagues within those states, there is no rule basis for doing that unless these governing authorities publish such. The CIF has not done that.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 974357)
Meantime, to speak to one of your earlier comments:

First, that's a case of the official's reaction time. There's always a bit of a lag time between what we see on the court and how fast we react.

Yep, that's true and that time cannot be restored BY RULE at the NFHS level.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 974357)
However, in the case of a shot-clock violation where the infraction is not attempting the try we know that infraction took place 30 (or 35) seconds after the possession began. Let's adjust your earlier scenario: In NF, an official calls a travel with 13.1 on the game clock but the clock isn't stopped until 12.7. If any of the officials knows there was 13.1 on the game clock when the whistle blew they're allowed - by rule - to put that time back on the clock. NF 5.10.1 situation C is the closest thing I can find to this situation:

Yep, the time WHEN THE WHISTLE BLEW is what the NFHS rules require us to use. That's what I've been saying the whole time.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 974357)
Again, it's a case of definite knowledge. Yes, I know 5-10 deals with "timing errors" but scenario B in the case play doesn't necessarily have to be a mistake/error. The violation might have taken place at 5.1 on a clock which doesn't show tenths of seconds but the clock isn't stopped until 4.9. All that matters is we saw the clock at one number when we blew our whistle and it ticked down to another. In the "no shot-clock try" scenario we know when the violation takes effect so that's definite knowledge.

You totally missed the boat. Definite knowledge of when the violation occurred has nothing to do with this. The only thing which matters is knowledge of when the whistle blew. It doesn't matter if the official was slow making the call. The official has absolutely no rule basis in California (CIF modifications) for restoring time to the point of the violation. Per the CIF shot clock rule that I cited previously, the official and timer are required to go with what the clock said when the whistle blew. There is no CIF rule instructing or permitting the official to use the time at which the violation occurred and the shot clock horn sounded. In fact, the CIF document clearly says that the whistle controls the situation and stops play.
Other states or leagues may have a different ruling, which is fine, and officials working there should follow those instructions. My only point in this thread has been that restoring time to when the horn sounded would be incorrect under CIF rules. I don't see how you or anyone else can disagree with that when I cited the rule.

Jay R Mon Dec 28, 2015 06:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 974356)
BigCat, I think you misread (or misremembered, to quote Andy Pettitte) that A.R. NCAAW has the same case play:

Jet, you misremembered that it was Roger Clemens not Andy Pettite :)

BigCat Mon Dec 28, 2015 07:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 974356)
BigCat, I think you misread (or misremembered, to quote Andy Pettitte) that A.R. NCAAW has the same case play:



I didn't include the last line of the A.R. because it isn't relevant to the conversation but it does not call for any time to be put back on the game clock.

The men's play, 2016 case book-- AR 208, does say reset game clock to when violation occurred.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 28, 2015 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 974361)
The men's play, 2016 case book-- AR 208, does say reset game clock to when violation occurred.

It's pretty much the exact opposite of the NCAAW ruling for the exact same play.

NCAAM: go back and get the violation, reset the clock, give the ball to B.

NCAAW: no violation, no clock reset, keep the ball with A.

crosscountry55 Mon Dec 28, 2015 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 974359)
The official has absolutely no rule basis in California (CIF modifications) for restoring time to the point of the violation. Per the CIF shot clock rule that I cited previously, the official and timer are required to go with what the clock said when the whistle blew. There is no CIF rule instructing or permitting the official to use the time at which the violation occurred and the shot clock horn sounded. In fact, the CIF document clearly says that the whistle controls the situation and stops play.

Obviously we're going to have to agree to disagree. I disagree because the CIF rule statement appears to have been written with the intent of not having officials mess with the clock when the shot clock expires while a try is in flight. I don't think that CIF intended to supersede NFHS timing correction protocol for a violation that occurs before a try is in flight.

Some Supreme Court justices believe in factoring legislative intent into their rulings, and others rely solely on the language of the statute itself. Ultimately, there's a majority ruling and we all move on.

Likewise, you and I are in opposite camps on this issue as it relates to the intent of the CIF modification. I'd like to see CIF issue an interpretation to clear it up. And then we can all move on. :D

JetMetFan Tue Dec 29, 2015 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 974368)
Obviously we're going to have to agree to disagree. I disagree because the CIF rule statement appears to have been written with the intent of not having officials mess with the clock when the shot clock expires while a try is in flight. I don't think that CIF intended to supersede NFHS timing correction protocol for a violation that occurs before a try is in flight.

Some Supreme Court justices believe in factoring legislative intent into their rulings, and others rely solely on the language of the statute itself. Ultimately, there's a majority ruling and we all move on.

Likewise, you and I are in opposite camps on this issue as it relates to the intent of the CIF modification. I'd like to see CIF issue an interpretation to clear it up. And then we can all move on. :D

Just to add to this (though I'm nerdy enough that I have reached out to CIF), I took this from the organization's online constitution and bylaws:

Quote:

ARTICLE 16
BASKETBALL
1600. GIRLS MODIFICATION
The National Federation Basketball Rules shall be modified for girls' basketball as follows:

A. Utilization of 30-second shot clock.
B. No 10-second rule in backcourt.
C. Utilization of 5 second count for holding the ball only.

1601. BOYS MODIFICATION
The National Federation Basketball Rules shall be modified for boys' basketball as follows:

A. Utilization of a 35-second shot clock.
If an organization uses the NCAA (or in the case of boys, the old NCAA) shot-clock rule why wouldn't it also use the interpretations that go along with that rule -- other than those it specifically wants to leave out? NF doesn't have a shot-clock rule so there has to be something to cover specific situations. In my NY GV games there's no question of intent because it's laid out in our bylaws that we use modified NCAAW's rules and the modifications are spelled out. Using the NCAA rule and not using the NCAA interp would appear to be a case of only taking half the rule.

Again, I've reached out to CIF. Hopefully I'll hear back soon.

Nevadaref Tue Dec 29, 2015 04:17pm

Please go to page 2 of that same document and read this part:
"
CIF Basketball Rule Modification
Guidelines
Shot Clock and Closely Guarded
The rules governing the shot clock for high school basketball are the [sic] similar to those used in
the NCAA
men and women’s games. The Girls closely guarded modifications are the same as those used in the
NCAA women’s games.
1.
Utilization
of 30
-
second shot clock
for Girls and 35 seconds for Boys games"

Notice that the shot clock rules are "similar" to the NCAA rules, while the girls closely-guarded rules are the "same." That should answer your question as to why they don't match the NCAA rules.

Who did you attempt to contact from the CIF? I know the new basketball rules interpreter quite well.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1