The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   IAABO Play of the Week 2015 - 6 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100484-iaabo-play-week-2015-6-a.html)

Dad Sat Dec 12, 2015 01:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 972645)
Wow.....just wow. Can't believe the IAABO would rule two technical fouls on this play. Asinine.

I doubt, or at least hope, they aren't saying they should have been called here. Just pointing out two possible violations. I say possible because I don't know on what planet you're ever giving a player a T for playing a dunk safe.

Raymond Sat Dec 12, 2015 01:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 972643)
I got a kick out of this, and not only because it's a pet-peeve of mine. The lead even had the call, check out his body language when he sees the trail nabbed it, haha.

I don't see any negative body language by the Lead. He just improperly cedes the call to the Trail.

Dad Sat Dec 12, 2015 02:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 972650)
I don't see any negative body language by the Lead. He just improperly cedes the call to the Trail.

I said check it out, not what it was.

How do you properly cede the call?

ODog Sat Dec 12, 2015 02:05am

The guy being referred to as "Trail" seems to be the C to me. I'm pretty sure I detect the real T sticking with backcourt situation bleacherside before the ball is advanced.

We don't have enough information, but both the new L and C are on the same side of the court in this transition play, and I'd love to know why. No indication there was an "instant" rotation initiated by L on this play. He seems to have been there the whole time.

What am I missing? It's late, so I'm sure it's something.

Dad Sat Dec 12, 2015 02:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 972652)
The guy being referred to as "Trail" seems to be the C to me. I'm pretty sure I detect the real L sticking with backcourt situation bleacherside before the ball is advanced.

We don't have enough information, but both the L and C are on the same side of the court in this transition play, and I'd love to know why. No indication there was an "instant" rotation initiated by L on this play. He seems to have been there the whole time.

What am I missing? It's late, so I'm sure it's something.

Plenty of information. Watch where new lead is running from, so the guy trailing him should be the old lead/new trail. The C is just standing there and was never in the trail position. He's in the right spot for a press and it's his play if it crosses over in front of him.

Maybe you saw the coach and thought it was an official? The old lead is off the screen at the start.

Raymond Sat Dec 12, 2015 03:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 972651)
I said check it out, not what it was.

How do you properly cede the call?

When the call is in someone else's primary.

ref3808 Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:25pm

There is no way I'm putting air in the whistle for either the grasp which was done to avoid coming down on another player or the coach for being less than a foot out of the box.

BillyMac Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:39pm

As A Thirty-Five Year IAABO Member ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ref3808 (Post 972661)
There is no way I'm putting air in the whistle for either the grasp which was done to avoid coming down on another player or the coach for being less than a foot out of the box.

Agree 100%.

Nevadaref Sat Dec 12, 2015 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 972645)
Wow.....just wow. Can't believe the IAABO would rule two technical fouls on this play. Asinine.

Oh, and the travel is Lead's call. Trail doesn't have primary on post traveling until we are in a frontcourt offense situation....in transition this is Lead's call. Trail should have a cadenced secondary whistle on the play if Lead misses it.

I agree. Wait and come if needed.
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 972612)
Grasping the ring is not a violation, if one calls it, it's a technical foul, as is the coach being out of the box, so no additional violations were missed.

Maybe the "director", Mr. Webb, just wanted us to consider calling these fouls, and to eventually decide not to call these fouls?

Grasping at straws here guys.

Silly IAABO monkeys.

Cool graphics. Right?

"Let's Go To The Videotape" was my favorite part.

I'm surprised that this wasn't nominated for a Golden Globe Award.

Webb needs to retire. His time has passed.
I only wish to add that instead of discussing grasping, which the action in the video clearly is not, the IAABO instruction could have elected to highlight the rule prohibiting dunking a dead ball. That too would be picky in this case, but at least could be justified by rule.
The coaching box rule is being broken, but one must consider the strictness of enforcement in the particular league/area/state. Call it how your governing authority desires.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1