The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Incorrect Test Answers (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100468-incorrect-test-answers.html)

just another ref Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:28pm

Incorrect Test Answers
 
Okay, we got our tests back for review today. They say I missed 8. I have serious issues with their results.

A1 is at the free throw line for a single try. The official bounces the ball towards A1, and does not see that B3 is trying to get to the 3rd lane space on the opposite side. By the time A1 catches the ball, B3 is crossing the free throw line, moving into the 3rd lane space. The officials stop the free throw, take the ball from the shooter, and allow the players to reset along the lane. No violation is called.

true or false

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 972132)
Okay, we got our tests back for review today. They say I missed 8. I have serious issues with their results.

A1 is at the free throw line for a single try. The official bounces the ball towards A1, and does not see that B3 is trying to get to the 3rd lane space on the opposite side. By the time A1 catches the ball, B3 is crossing the free throw line, moving into the 3rd lane space. The officials stop the free throw, take the ball from the shooter, and allow the players to reset along the lane. No violation is called.

true or false


False.

For another $50 (sent to me RefPay account; see https://forum.officiating.com/basket...t-schools.html, :p) I will tell you the correct procedure.

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Wed Dec 09, 2015 06:47am

Pants On Fire ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 972132)
A1 is at the free throw line for a single try. The official bounces the ball towards A1, and does not see that B3 is trying to get to the 3rd lane space on the opposite side. By the time A1 catches the ball, B3 is crossing the free throw line, moving into the 3rd lane space. The officials stop the free throw, take the ball from the shooter, and allow the players to reset along the lane. No violation is called ...true or false.

This is not a true/false question. True means that the situation really happened. False means that the test writer lied abut the situation.

How about ending the question with "Is the official correct? Yes or No?"

I say no, the officials were not correct. Correct would be a delayed violation on B3.

Raymond Wed Dec 09, 2015 08:53am

I know what a good crew would do.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

ODog Wed Dec 09, 2015 08:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 972167)
I know what a good crew would do.

Haha, so do I. And they wouldn't write a laughable question like this either. ;)

BlueDevilRef Wed Dec 09, 2015 09:45am

If she moves after I bounce the ball to shooter, fist extended out, shooting it again if it is missed.

So for those of you who say you know what a good crew would do, please elaborate


I wish I had a cool signature

Rich Wed Dec 09, 2015 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 972167)
I know what a good crew would do.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

Blow the whistle, get the ball back, and reset everything?

Raymond Wed Dec 09, 2015 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 972177)
If she moves after I bounce the ball to shooter, fist extended out, shooting it again if it is missed.

So for those of you who say you know what a good crew would do, please elaborate


I wish I had a cool signature

You've changed the question.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

Raymond Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 972180)
Blow the whistle, get the ball back, and reset everything?

For the situation described in the OP, yes.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

BlueDevilRef Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 972181)
You've changed the question.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk


I see that you are correct. In the instance of the OP, I would blow it dead and reset it bc my action caused the "violation". I don't know if it is correct or not, but I always pause a bit before administering to make sure nobody is set up wrong or moving.


I wish I had a cool signature

Rich Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 972184)
For the situation described in the OP, yes.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

It's a no brainer to me. Player is moving and I didn't notice. My bad. Let's go.

Rob1968 Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:19am

The question should be whether a violation has occurred.

The ball is not live until it is at the disposal of the shooter, which is when he/she catches it: 6-1-2c, 4-4-7b, 9-1-3d, f, g.

Accordingly, no violation has occurred.

Therefore, blow the whistle, verify that everyone is ready, and restart the free throw.

Raymond Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 972204)
The question should be whether a violation has occurred.

The ball is not live until it is at the disposal of the shooter, which is when he/she catches it: 6-1-2c, 4-4-7b, 9-1-3d, f, g.

Accordingly, no violation has occurred.

Therefore, blow the whistle, verify that everyone is ready, and restart the free throw.

Good point, I should have made that point when bluedevil brought up the other scenario.

BillyMac Wed Dec 09, 2015 05:23pm

Delayed Violation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 972204)
The ball is not live until it is at the disposal of the shooter, which is when he/she catches it: ... Accordingly, no violation has occurred.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 972132)
By the time A1 catches the ball, B3 is crossing the free throw line, moving into the 3rd lane space.

How is this not a live ball before the violation? A1 catches the ball and then B3 moves into an unoccupied lane space. Delayed violation.

frezer11 Wed Dec 09, 2015 06:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 972132)
Okay, we got our tests back for review today. They say I missed 8. I have serious issues with their results.

A1 is at the free throw line for a single try. The official bounces the ball towards A1, and does not see that B3 is trying to get to the 3rd lane space on the opposite side. By the time A1 catches the ball, B3 is crossing the free throw line, moving into the 3rd lane space. The officials stop the free throw, take the ball from the shooter, and allow the players to reset along the lane. No violation is called.

true or false

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 972263)
How is this not a live ball before the violation? A1 catches the ball and then B3 moves into an unoccupied lane space. Delayed violation.

Based on the OP, I would say that the ball being caught by A1, and B3 entering happen simultaneously, not in series. I think that gives us the wiggle room to be able to say, "Hold up, my bad" and reload. If the shooter clearly has it, and THEN B3 enters, delayed violation.

deecee Wed Dec 09, 2015 06:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 972273)
Based on the OP, I would say that the ball being caught by A1, and B3 entering happen simultaneously, not in series. I think that gives us the wiggle room to be able to say, "Hold up, my bad" and reload. If the shooter clearly has it, and THEN B3 enters, delayed violation.

By the book yes. But as it has been stated the acceptable approach is that we blow the whistle get the ball back and start over. Shouldn't punish a team because we were in a rush.

frezer11 Wed Dec 09, 2015 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 972132)
Okay, we got our tests back for review today. They say I missed 8. I have serious issues with their results.

A1 is at the free throw line for a single try. The official bounces the ball towards A1, and does not see that B3 is trying to get to the 3rd lane space on the opposite side. By the time A1 catches the ball, B3 is crossing the free throw line, moving into the 3rd lane space. The officials stop the free throw, take the ball from the shooter, and allow the players to reset along the lane. No violation is called.

true or false

By the way, a little off topic here, but what route is he taking that he needs to cross the free throw line??? Should that maybe say lane line? Another example of a question that could easily be worded much better...

frezer11 Wed Dec 09, 2015 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 972275)
By the book yes. But as it has been stated the acceptable approach is that we blow the whistle get the ball back and start over. Shouldn't punish a team because we were in a rush.

Oh I agree entirely, if its even remotely close I will kill it. I've never once had a coach make any sort of argument that there may have been a violation. Now if its 2 seconds after A1 has it? Too late

BillyMac Wed Dec 09, 2015 06:29pm

Wiggle Room ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 972273)
Based on the OP, I would say that the ball being caught by A1, and B3 entering happen simultaneously, not in series. I think that gives us the wiggle room to be able to say, "Hold up, my bad" and reload. If the shooter clearly has it, and THEN B3 enters, delayed violation.

Agree 100%.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 10, 2015 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 972276)
By the way, a little off topic here, but what route is he taking that he needs to cross the free throw line??? Should that maybe say lane line? Another example of a question that could easily be worded much better...

I think they meant FT line extended.

frezer11 Thu Dec 10, 2015 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 972320)
I think they meant FT line extended.

Well even so, think about the route taken to get to the 3rd spot. Either he's pointlessly walking down the sideline and going to take a 90 degree turn once he gets inside the FT line extended, or he's so far inside the 3 point line that there is no way anyone should've administered the ball in the first place. Just odd.

just another ref Thu Dec 10, 2015 12:40pm

Interesting discussion. No doubt many of us would blow the play dead and allow the player in with no penalty if we thought we were at fault for not seeing
him. But technically I don't see any provision in the rules for doing so, and that's what I think of the test as being, all about technicalities. And what about all the variables here which are unknown? B3 may have been standing in this same spot behind the free throw shooter all night, but decided at the last split second for whatever reason to step in on this one. I think technically this is false, but in real life it is very often true, and should be. Moreover, I will file it away under BAD QUESTIONS WHICH SHOULD NEVER, EVER APPEAR ON A TEST.

Thanks for the opinions.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1