The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Tech question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100465-tech-question.html)

Raymond Tue Dec 08, 2015 06:38pm

If the ball is live and there are 6 players on the court it is supposed to be a technical. Have you read anywhere that there is an exception if the clock is not running? So that means if the ball is at the disposal of a thrower-in or free thrower, there should be a penalty if 6 players are on the court. Most times in those situations an official will absorb the blame and say he/she should have prevented the ball from becoming live.

So if you can eliminate all the questions that involve the ball being live when the infraction occurs, it will be easier to wade through your other questions.

BillyMac Tue Dec 08, 2015 06:42pm

Try Again ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 972113)
If the ball is live and there are 6 players on the court it is supposed to be a technical. So if you can eliminate all the questions that involve the ball being live when the infraction occurs, it will be easier to wade through your other questions.

Good idea.

A) Head coach of Team B requests, and is granted, a timeout, at which point he immediately complains to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. The sole purpose of his timeout is to call attention to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. Officials, who have been unaware that six team members have been participating up until that point, count six Team A members on the court before they head into their timeout huddle. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

B) Team B head coach yells to nearest official that there are six Team A players participating. Official sounds whistle to stop the action to count the players and discovers that there are six Team A team members on the court during this dead ball, clock stopped, situation. What's the call?

C) Team A has six team members participating, which goes unobserved by the officials. Official calls a travel violation on Team A. There are no substitutions after the whistle. Before administering the throw in, officials observe that Team A has six team members participating. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

D) Team A has six players on the court. Officials are unaware of this infraction. Team A has been awarded two free throws. The first free throw is missed. No substitutions are made. Before bouncing the ball to the free thrower for his second free throw, the officials realize that Team A has six players on the court. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

E) The last Team A free throw attempt is successful. The clock hasn't started. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throwin. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

G) Team A scores a field goal. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throwin. The ball is dead, and the clock is running. What’s the call?

Raymond Tue Dec 08, 2015 06:56pm

My answers bolded within.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 972114)
Good idea.

A) Head coach of Team B requests, and is granted, a timeout, at which point he immediately complains to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. The sole purpose of his timeout is to call attention to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. Officials, who have been unaware that six team members have been participating up until that point, count six Team A members on the court before they head into their timeout huddle. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call? Official did not observe the infraction, no T.

B) Team B head coach yells to nearest official that there are six Team A players participating. Official sounds whistle to stop the action to count the players and discovers that there are six Team A team members on the court during this dead ball, clock stopped, situation. What's the call? I hope an official doesn't blow his whistle every time a coach asks for a call, but I digress. A smart official would say he counted the players before he blew his whistle in this case, so yes, I would go with a T here.

C) Team A has six team members participating, which goes unobserved by the officials. Official calls a travel violation on Team A. There are no substitutions after the whistle. Before administering the throw in, officials observe that Team A has six team members participating. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call? There is nothing to participate in if the clock is stopped and the ball is dead. Technically not a technical. Real world application, the official can say he observed 6 players participating and hope a video never appears showing that player walked on the court after the traveling violation

D) Team A has six players on the court. Officials are unaware of this infraction. Team A has been awarded two free throws. The first free throw is missed. No substitutions are made. Before bouncing the ball to the free thrower for his second free throw, the officials realize that Team A has six players on the court. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call? There is nothing to participate in if the clock is stopped and the ball is dead.

E) The last Team A free throw attempt is successful. The clock hasn't started. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throw in. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call? There is nothing to participate in if the clock is stopped and the ball is dead.

G) Team A scores a field goal. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throw in. The ball is dead, and the clock is running. What’s the call? Since the clock is running I would call this participation


WhistlesAndStripes Tue Dec 08, 2015 07:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 972114)
Good idea.

A) Head coach of Team B requests, and is granted, a timeout, at which point he immediately complains to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. The sole purpose of his timeout is to call attention to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. Officials, who have been unaware that six team members have been participating up until that point, count six Team A members on the court before they head into their timeout huddle. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

B) Team B head coach yells to nearest official that there are six Team A players participating. Official sounds whistle to stop the action to count the players and discovers that there are six Team A team members on the court during this dead ball, clock stopped, situation. What's the call?

C) Team A has six team members participating, which goes unobserved by the officials. Official calls a travel violation on Team A. There are no substitutions after the whistle. Before administering the throw in, officials observe that Team A has six team members participating. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

D) Team A has six players on the court. Officials are unaware of this infraction. Team A has been awarded two free throws. The first free throw is missed. No substitutions are made. Before bouncing the ball to the free thrower for his second free throw, the officials realize that Team A has six players on the court. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

E) The last Team A free throw attempt is successful. The clock hasn't started. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throwin. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

G) Team A scores a field goal. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throwin. The ball is dead, and the clock is running. What’s the call?

Because the rule is so vague, I'm citing Rule 2-3, and issuing a tech in each of the above situations. I realize you say "ball is dead" everytime, and "clock is stopped" on all but the last one, to try and make your point. But I can sell this call on each of these as it was clear that there were 6 people participating during live ball in each one.

BillyMac Tue Dec 08, 2015 08:10pm

Fat Chance ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 972116)
... hope a video never appears showing that player walked on the court after the traveling violation.

Yeah. Sure. This is 2015. No video? C'mon. There's probably a video on some player's grandmother's cell phone, to eventually show up on You Tube, or Facebook, or even on the Forum.

BillyMac Tue Dec 08, 2015 08:13pm

Comrade-In-Arms ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 972118)
Because the rule is so vague.

So, you agree with me that the rule is vague. I thought that I was the only one.

johnny d Wed Dec 09, 2015 12:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 972093)
B/c the HC does not lose the box for that infraction. ;)

He does when bench personnel run directly on to the court.

And it doesn't just happen at that level. My first JuCo game of the season we had a player run directly on to the court from the bench.

I hope your juco coach didn't lose his box for this technical foul.

Raymond Wed Dec 09, 2015 12:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 972145)
I hope your juco coach didn't lose his box for this technical foul.

I think it would be pretty hard to convince a college coach that he loses his box.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

Rich Wed Dec 09, 2015 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 972146)
I think it would be pretty hard to convince a college coach that he loses his box.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

JUCO coaches around here, anyway, think we're playing under HS rules (for the most part). I had one argue that his opponent should lose the box after a technical. It was a long day.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1