The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   back court violation following an interrupted dribble? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100423-back-court-violation-following-interrupted-dribble.html)

DrPete Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 971378)
If A1 is still considered a "dribbler" during an interrupted dribble, why is it not a violation if he steps out of bounds?

Good point there.

BigCat Tue Dec 01, 2015 11:16pm

also, in addition to what i mentioned in post 13, the dictionary definition of interrupt is "to stop." interrupted dribble means the dribble has stopped. 3 points, as mentioned above, says must be "during" a dribble.

The dribble has not ended but it has stopped. that's my opinion.

Camron Rust Tue Dec 01, 2015 11:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 971378)
If A1 is still considered a "dribbler" during an interrupted dribble, why is it not a violation if he steps out of bounds?

I didn't suggest that A1 was still a dribbler during the interruption but the moment they touch the ball, they are again a dribbler. Being between the time the dribble has started and not yet having ended, it is still during the dribble. Sort of like commercials that happen during a game....they're during the game but not part of the game.

I could flip the other way on this (and did a few times before I posted my opinion).

If you consider the opposite case, what if the dribbler dribbles the ball off of a leg very briefly as they're crossing the line such that the ball bounces in the front court and is able to, after an ever so brief delay, continue the dribble? Is that an interrupted dribble? Is that a violation?

just another ref Wed Dec 02, 2015 01:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 971385)
If you consider the opposite case, what if the dribbler dribbles the ball off of a leg very briefly as they're crossing the line such that the ball bounces in the front court and is able to, after an ever so brief delay, continue the dribble?


Quote:

Is that an interrupted dribble?
yes

Quote:

Is that a violation?
yes

Camron Rust Wed Dec 02, 2015 01:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 971388)
yes



yes

Just for glancing off his own leg such that he had to adjust slightly to continue the dribble? Really?

OKREF Wed Dec 02, 2015 01:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 971388)
yes



yes

What's the violation? The touch was not an intentional kick, and it's not a double dribble.

just another ref Wed Dec 02, 2015 02:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 971389)
Just for glancing off his own leg such that he had to adjust slightly to continue the dribble? Really?


The definition of interrupted dribble includes the word momentarily. How long is that? When you say he was able to "continue the dribble," that says to me that this was indeed an interrupted dribble. So if it was an interrupted dribble it wasn't a dribble when the ball gained frontcourt status. The three point rule applies only during a dribble. So if this player now touches the ball with a foot in the backcourt, whether it's to resume the dribble or not, this is a backcourt violation.

billyu2 Wed Dec 02, 2015 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 971391)
The definition of interrupted dribble includes the word momentarily. How long is that? When you say he was able to "continue the dribble," that says to me that this was indeed an interrupted dribble. So if it was an interrupted dribble it wasn't a dribble when the ball gained frontcourt status. The three point rule applies only during a dribble. So if this player now touches the ball with a foot in the backcourt, whether it's to resume the dribble or not, this is a backcourt violation.

The definition also includes the words "gets away." How far does "gets away" have to be? In the OP A1 had to dive to recover control of the ball. I think we can safely say the ball "got away." In Camron's example, I don't think so. But if my brain is quick enough to tell me (during the time it takes the player to regain control) "THAT'S AN INTERRUPTED DRIBBLE. CALL THE VIOLATION!" then I will.
But . . . it isn't, so I ain't.

OKREF Wed Dec 02, 2015 08:48am

FWIW. I sent this question out to my entire association, and all the response's I have received back have thought this is not a back court. I think it isn't a BC violation, however I'm not 100% sure and could be swayed to change my mind. Since there was never player control of the ball in the FC, wouldn't this have a bearing on the play?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 02, 2015 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 971397)
Since there was never player control of the ball in the FC, wouldn't this have a bearing on the play?

"PC in the FC" has no bearing on any BC call.

OKREF Wed Dec 02, 2015 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 971399)
"PC in the FC" has no bearing on any BC call.

Yea, you're right. My bad.

Dad Wed Dec 02, 2015 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 971399)
"PC in the FC" has no bearing on any BC call.

I would say no bearing is misleading. Several cases where you would have to think if there was PC at some point before ruling a BC.

Adam Wed Dec 02, 2015 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 971409)
I would say no bearing is misleading. Several cases where you would have to think if there was PC at some point before ruling a BC.

But, and this is what bob alluded to, PC IN the FC is never an issue.

Dad Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 971410)
But, and this is what bob alluded to, PC IN the FC is never an issue.

Yeah, thanks. I regretted posting before I thought about it.

BigCat Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 971410)
But, and this is what bob alluded to, PC IN the FC is never an issue.

I read Bob's comment in the context of this OP. To the extent that you can't get team control without PC it can be an issue in the FC. Throw-in to or steal in FC by team A. ball then goes to BC and team A player first to touch it. Violation in this play only if there was team control in the FC…(which would have required PC in FC to establish it)

I know you know all this. I don't get why you would say PC in FC is "never" an issue? maybe I'm missing something...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1