The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inbound pass hits referee OOB (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100405-inbound-pass-hits-referee-oob.html)

Adam Mon Nov 30, 2015 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 971237)
If you are on the court, then how does the player throw the ball in that direction? What if the offense has an inbounds play where one of the players runs along the sideline?

I'm still waiting for a good reason to be on the court during a throw-in. :confused:

Some will do it when there's no pressure, and will be in proper position when the defense is actually in the play. I can't imagine Rich is ever in bounds when the defense is actively involved in playing the throw in.

Raymond Mon Nov 30, 2015 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 971238)
Some will do it when there's no pressure, and will be in proper position when the defense is actually in the play. I can't imagine Rich is ever in bounds when the defense is actively involved in playing the throw in.

Are we talking about sideline throw-ins or endline throw-ins?

Guess it doesn't really matter. I hate when I find myself creeping onto the court after a made basket. Bad habit I'm constantly working on breaking.

Adam Mon Nov 30, 2015 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 971239)
Are we talking about sideline throw-ins or endline throw-ins?

Guess it doesn't really matter. I hate when I find myself creeping onto the court after a made basket. Bad habit I'm constantly working on breaking.

Backcourt, no pressure. Endline or sideline if it's deep enough.

And I agree.

BillyMac Mon Nov 30, 2015 06:59pm

Friendly Reminder ...
 
Double hijack ...

A reminder, if a player, when dribbling the basketball, touches an official who is standing out of bounds, that is not an out of bounds violation.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled thread.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Dec 01, 2015 12:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 971254)
Double hijack ...

A reminder, if a player, when dribbling the basketball, touches an official who is standing out of bounds, that is not an out of bounds violation.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled thread.


Billy:

And why would the dribbler not be out-of-bounds?

MTD, Sr.

Rich Tue Dec 01, 2015 12:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 971239)
Are we talking about sideline throw-ins or endline throw-ins?

Guess it doesn't really matter. I hate when I find myself creeping onto the court after a made basket. Bad habit I'm constantly working on breaking.

Sideline, where I'm bouncing the ball when there's no pressure.

I've done pretty well staying off the court on the end line until the ball is advancing up the court.

Camron Rust Tue Dec 01, 2015 01:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 971234)
I've never had an issue with it closing off angles. Only makes it easier.

Not geometrically possible.

BillyMac Tue Dec 01, 2015 07:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 971288)
And why would the dribbler not be out-of-bounds?

7-1-1: A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any
object other than a player/person, on or outside a boundary.

7.1.1 SITUATION A: A1, while holding the ball inbounds near the sideline,
touches (a) player B1; (b) a photographer; (c) a coach; (d) an official, all of whom
are out of bounds. RULING: A1 is not out of bounds in (a), (b), (c) or (d). To be
out of bounds, A1 must touch the floor or some object on or outside a boundary
line. People are not considered to be objects and play continues. Inadvertently
touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not
considered a violation.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 971298)
7-1-1: A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any
object other than a player/person, on or outside a boundary.

7.1.1 SITUATION A: A1, while holding the ball inbounds near the sideline,
touches (a) player B1; (b) a photographer; (c) a coach; (d) an official, all of whom
are out of bounds. RULING: A1 is not out of bounds in (a), (b), (c) or (d). To be
out of bounds, A1 must touch the floor or some object on or outside a boundary
line. People are not considered to be objects and play continues. Inadvertently
touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not
considered a violation.


DOH!!

MTD, Sr.

BlueDevilRef Tue Dec 01, 2015 11:09am

So.....the ball touching an official inbounds is same as touching the floor at that spot.......but touching a person who is out of bounds is not the same as touching the floor on that spot?

Silly to me, some of these rules are.


I wish I had a cool signature

bob jenkins Tue Dec 01, 2015 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 971315)
but touching a person who is out of bounds is not the same as touching the floor on that spot?

If it was, then perhaps B could cause a violation by standing in the FC and using his one "hot stove touch" to contact A who was standing in the BC.

Or, if B was on the boundary line and touched A who was touching the ball ...

However, note that if A is OOB for a throw-in and reaches over the boundary line and contact B, it's a violation on A (per interp)

OKREF Tue Dec 01, 2015 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 971298)
7-1-1: A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any
object other than a player/person, on or outside a boundary.

7.1.1 SITUATION A: A1, while holding the ball inbounds near the sideline,
touches (a) player B1; (b) a photographer; (c) a coach; (d) an official, all of whom
are out of bounds. RULING: A1 is not out of bounds in (a), (b), (c) or (d). To be
out of bounds, A1 must touch the floor or some object on or outside a boundary
line. People are not considered to be objects and play continues. Inadvertently
touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not
considered a violation
.

Key phrase here. If they are doing it to gain an advantage, then it is a violation. If the offense is falling out of bounds and puts their hands on the official to keep their balance and they stay inbounds.

Dad Tue Dec 01, 2015 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 971320)
Key phrase here. If they are doing it to gain an advantage, then it is a violation. If the offense is falling out of bounds and puts their hands on the official to keep their balance and they stay inbounds.

Good point.

crosscountry55 Tue Dec 01, 2015 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 971315)
So.....the ball touching an official inbounds is same as touching the floor at that spot.......but touching a person who is out of bounds is not the same as touching the floor on that spot?

Silly to me, some of these rules are.


I wish I had a cool signature

I can't tell if you're confused or just being sarcastic, so I'll make sure:

The ball touching an official is inbounds if the official is entirely inbounds, or out of bounds if any part of the official is touching on or outside a boundary. This much is true. But the ball handler, and thus the ball, is not out of bounds if said ball handler touches an official (or any other person) who is located on or outside a boundary.

BlueDevilRef Tue Dec 01, 2015 01:43pm

Inbound pass hits referee OOB
 
Let me be clear about these things. Unless otherwise stated, I understand the rule. But as I have stated before, understanding and adjudicating it correctly do not preclude being discerning about a rule. To me, it sometimes seems there is a double talk taking place in basketball rules that I don't see in softball.

As in, touching the bleachers while inbounds with the ball makes you OOB but touching a cheerleader/official/cameraman does not? Seems contradictory to me.


I wish I had a cool signature


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1