The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another backcourt question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100375-another-backcourt-question.html)

BlueDevilRef Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:19pm

Another backcourt question
 
Team A Throw in at the division line. A1 tips ball in her front court, ball goes to backcourt where she gathers. I whistled a bc violation. Now, second guessing myself. I know she can catch in bc but in my head, first touch (the tip) in fc and ball into bc was a bc violation. Help me out, my books are in the car. Does the tipped ball establish control? I'm beginning to think I missed it. Thanks


I wish I had a cool signature

AremRed Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 970271)
Does the tipped ball establish control?

No.

BktBallRef Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 970271)
Team A Throw in at the division line. A1 tips ball in her front court, ball goes to backcourt where she gathers. I whistled a bc violation. Now, second guessing myself. I know she can catch in bc but in my head, first touch (the tip) in fc and ball into bc was a bc violation. Help me out, my books are in the car. Does the tipped ball establish control? I'm beginning to think I missed it. Thanks

No, that's not a violation. Holding or dribbling the ball inbounds established team/player control for the purposes of BC violations.

BlueDevilRef Sat Nov 21, 2015 10:23am

CRAP!! I knew I was wrong. Good thing it was a 50-0 ballgame and it didn't make a diff in score. I won't mess that one up again (hopefully). Thanks fellas


I wish I had a cool signature

Raymond Sat Nov 21, 2015 10:31am

There was a really interesting conversation here on that recently. Can't believe you didn't see it.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

BlueDevilRef Sat Nov 21, 2015 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 970289)
There was a really interesting conversation here on that recently. Can't believe you didn't see it.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk


I'll look for it. It was late last night when I got home and the situation was bugging me so I posted. But I'm GI Joe now, knowing is half the battle.


I wish I had a cool signature

Raymond Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:28pm

https://forum.officiating.com/basket...tml#post969139

BillyMac Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:38pm

From The Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules List ...
 
I guess that it deserves to be on the list:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 968848)
During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt, or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations.


pfan1981 Sat Nov 21, 2015 04:13pm

I was told once. Would you grant a timeout to that team? If so, then they controlled it in the front court.

SC Official Sat Nov 21, 2015 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pfan1981 (Post 970336)
I was told once. Would you grant a timeout to that team? If so, then they controlled it in the front court.

This doesn't make any sense. Player control is required to grant a timeout.

pfan1981 Sat Nov 21, 2015 05:52pm

I am referring to what constitutes front court status with regard to a possible backcourt violation. If the player has possession to the point where you would grant a timeout, then you have front court status. If the player bats it to the backcourt, you would not grant a timeout in this situation, no backcourt violation.

BryanV21 Sat Nov 21, 2015 06:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pfan1981 (Post 970343)
I am referring to what constitutes front court status with regard to a possible backcourt violation. If the player has possession to the point where you would grant a timeout, then you have front court status. If the player bats it to the backcourt, you would not grant a timeout in this situation, no backcourt violation.

Whoa! Does batting a ball mean there was player control? Not for calling a timeout, but for calling a BC violation?

EDIT: As far as I can see in the rule book, batting a ball does not equal player control, so batting the ball into the BC in this situation is not a violation. I'd like to hear it from others, though.

bob jenkins Sat Nov 21, 2015 07:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 970346)
Whoa! Does batting a ball mean there was player control? Not for calling a timeout, but for calling a BC violation?

EDIT: As far as I can see in the rule book, batting a ball does not equal player control, so batting the ball into the BC in this situation is not a violation. I'd like to hear it from others, though.

Of course not -- and that's pfan's point. There was never a time when you would have granted a TO, so there was never PC in the front court, so there's no BC violation.

BryanV21 Sat Nov 21, 2015 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 970351)
Of course not -- and that's pfan's point. There was never a time when you would have granted a TO, so there was never PC in the front court, so there's no BC violation.

I was watching football at the time, so I didn't consult the rule book for a while... hence the edit.

I just wondered if the exemption saying the ball could go into the BC due to a tipped ball, meant that the player that tipped the ball had no sort of control of it. A player "batting" a ball leads me to believe that he directed the ball into the backcourt on purpose.

Like on a previously mentioned play, where the difference between a try or tap for goal before the expiration of time, and a tipped ball before the expiration of of time, on a made basket.

Kind of playing devil's advocate.

BillyMac Sat Nov 21, 2015 07:55pm

Batman ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 970352)
... where the difference between a try or tap for goal ....

I believe that a try, and a tap, are treated the same for the purposes of scoring points, fouls in the act, etc. (although it hasn't always been that way).

Batting the ball is usually construed to mean no player control.

Apples and oranges.

BryanV21 Sat Nov 21, 2015 07:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970355)
I believe that a try, and a tap, are treated the same for the purposes of scoring points, fouls in the act, etc. (although it hasn't always been that way).

Batting the ball is usually construed to mean no player control.

If a player "batted" a ball towards the basket before time expires, and the ball enters the basket after time expires, would you count the basket?

BillyMac Sat Nov 21, 2015 08:03pm

Not If The Ball Is Tapped Off Of The Player's Shoulder ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 970356)
If a player "batted" a ball towards the basket before time expires, and the ball enters the basket after time expires, would you count the basket?

Yes.

4-41-6: A tap shall be considered the same as a try for field goal, except as
in 5-2-5. (three tenths of a second or less).

BillyMac Sat Nov 21, 2015 08:09pm

Player Control ...
 
Player saves a ball that a teammate throws toward a boundary. The player's momentum takes him out of bounds. The ball remains inbounds and the player returns inbounds, picks up the ball with two hands, and dribbles the ball.

Legal if he tapped, or tipped, or batted, the ball (no player control).

Illegal if he caught the ball with one hand, and controlled it's trajectory back onto the court (player control).

BryanV21 Sat Nov 21, 2015 08:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970357)
Yes.

4-41-6: A tap shall be considered the same as a try for field goal, except as
in 5-2-5. (three tenths of a second or less).

Okay, so "batting" a ball is the same as a "try", hence it was in a player's control. I know the terminology I'm using is suspect, but the point is the ball was purposely batted into the backcourt. Let's see if I can explain it like a case play...

A1 in-bounds the ball to A2, who is standing in Team A's frontcourt. A2, seeing that a defender is closing in on him, knows he needs to do something to avoid a steal, so he bats the ball to the only open teammate he sees... A3, who happens to be standing in the backcourt.

From what's been said this is not a violation. However, the fact that A2 purposely batted the ball to A3 indicates a pass... and therefore some form of control.

The intent of the "tip" rule during an in-bounds play seems to be in reference to the ball accidentally being tipped into the backcourt, not purposely batted into the backcourt.

Am I making sense?

BillyMac Sat Nov 21, 2015 08:21pm

Backcourt Exception ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 970359)
Am I making sense?

Yes you are.

After a throwin, if the ball is tipped, tapped, or batted, even on purpose, to a backcourt teammate, there was never player control in the frontcourt, and thus, no backcourt violation.

If, on the other hand, after a throwin, if the ball caught with one hand, and it's trajectory is controlled to a backcourt teammate, there has been player control in the frontcourt, and thus, this is a backcourt violation.

The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control
when coming from a throw-in)
; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must
be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after
the ball has been in the backcourt.

BryanV21 Sat Nov 21, 2015 08:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970360)
Yes you are.

After a throwin, if the ball is tipped, tapped, or batted, even on purpose, to a backcourt teammate, there was never player control in the frontcourt, and thus, no backcourt violation.

If, on the other hand, after a throwin, if the ball caught with one hand, and it's trajectory is controlled to a backcourt teammate, there has been player control in the frontcourt, and thus, this is a backcourt violation.

The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control
when coming from a throw-in)
; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must
be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after
the ball has been in the backcourt.

Seems like a technicality that circumvents the intent of the "tip" rule, and thus should be fixed, but that makes perfect sense.

Thanks, Billy.

BillyMac Sat Nov 21, 2015 08:28pm

Player Control On A Tip, Tap, Or Bat ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 970359)
Okay, so "batting" a ball is the same as a "try", hence it was in a player's control.

Not necessarily. Slow down big fella.

If a player tips, taps, or bats, the ball into the basket from a pass, or a rebound, or a throwin, then said player never had player control (although he can be charged with player control foul if he was an airborne shooter: 4-19-6: A player-control foul is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter.)

BryanV21 Sat Nov 21, 2015 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 970362)
Not necessarily. Slow down big fella.

If a player tips, taps, or bats, the ball into the basket from a pass, or a rebound, or a throwin, then said payer never had player control (let's ignore airborne shooter for now).

Yeah, like I said, I know using the term "player control" made the statement iffy. But I couldn't think of, or was too lazy to, come up with another way to describe what I meant.

BillyMac Sat Nov 21, 2015 08:36pm

Graduate Level Course In Basketball Officiating ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 970363)
Yeah, like I said, I know using the term "player control" made the statement iffy. But I couldn't think of, or was too lazy to, come up with another way to describe what I meant.

Don't beat yourself up. Your questions were quite logical, and we all knew what you were asking. Questions regarding backcourt from a throwin are always complex, especially after the NFHS gave team control to the throwin team for (only) team foul purposes.

Good posts. Nice thread.

pfan1981 Sat Nov 21, 2015 08:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 970351)
Of course not -- and that's pfan's point. There was never a time when you would have granted a TO, so there was never PC in the front court, so there's no BC violation.

Yup!

bob jenkins Sun Nov 22, 2015 08:42am

Somewhere there is (or was) a rule to the effect that "batting a ball away from other players is not PC" (or maybe it said "is not part of a dribble").

Apply that to teh "bat into the back court" discussion


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1