![]() |
Throw In from Out of Bounds
This happened in a youth game. Player A, who has the ball at her disposal on the baseline, threw a bounce pass into her teammate which bounced on the out of bounds side of the baseline and then to her player/teammate. Legal play? We ruled legal.
|
Quote:
|
Concur w/ BigCat. Don't have my book with me, but the thrown ball cannot touch the court OOB before touching or being touched by a player or the court inbounds. The other aspect is the "directly" clause as mentioned.
There is a case play that supports this. I remember reading it before I took the exam the other day. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Case Book 9.2.2.A
|
What's the NF rule here: team A scores a basket. B1 takes the ball OOB on the endline. B2 is also standing OOB on the endline. B1 can pass the ball to B2 legally, but can the pass be a bounce pass?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Sure he can. That "pass" is not the throw-in. The rule only applies to the throw-in. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
To take it a step further can't you technically dribble out of bounds if you wanted (the thrower)
|
Quote:
You can bounce the ball to yourself, though. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
It is just semantics and we get to the same spot either way, but I've just thought about it differently. |
Quote:
Before that, though, a player couldn't dribble while OOB (because s/he didn't have PC). |
The title of this thread bothers me, since you wouldn't have an throw-in from inbounds. :D
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47am. |