The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Error? Free throws awarded for offensive foul. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100251-correctable-error-free-throws-awarded-offensive-foul.html)

Bad Zebra Mon Oct 26, 2015 07:37pm

Correctable Error? Free throws awarded for offensive foul.
 
Ballhandler A1 fouls B1. It is A's 7th team foul. Officials mistakenly award 1 and 1 to B1. B1 converts first free throw, misses second, team A controls rebound and play continues until referee realizes error during live ball and blows whistle to confer with partner a) before team A scores field goal or b) immediately after team A scores a field goal. Correctable under 2-10-1b in a)or b)?

WhistlesAndStripes Mon Oct 26, 2015 07:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 968568)
Ballhandler A1 fouls B1. It is A's 7th team foul. Officials mistakenly award 1 and 1 to B1. B1 converts first free throw, misses second, team A controls rebound and play continues until referee realizes error during live ball and blows whistle to confer with partner a) before team A scores field goal or b) immediately after team A scores a field goal. Correctable under 2-10-1b in a)or b)?

Yes.

crosscountry55 Mon Oct 26, 2015 08:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 968569)
Yes.

....because of 2-10-2. For purposes of this situation, "recognition" occurs when the official stops play to correct the error, even though in the OP he/she became aware of it sometime during A's possession that led up to the try for goal.

This happened to me once where I suspected an error during a possession, and in my head I knew I had until the ball next became dead, so it gave me a little time to confirm it mentally. Had I panicked and blown it dead and been wrong, I would have made an arse out of myself.*

*That said, when in doubt, blow it dead if you're not sure. Better to make sure for the sake of the aggrieved team while the correction window is still open.

Camron Rust Tue Oct 27, 2015 12:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 968570)
....because of 2-10-2. For purposes of this situation, "recognition" occurs when the official stops play to correct the error, even though in the OP he/she became aware of it sometime during A's possession that led up to the try for goal.

This happened to me once where I suspected an error during a possession, and in my head I knew I had until the ball next became dead, so it gave me a little time to confirm it mentally. Had I panicked and blown it dead and been wrong, I would have made an arse out of myself.*

*That said, when in doubt, blow it dead if you're not sure. Better to make sure for the sake of the aggrieved team while the correction window is still open.

You actually have until the ball becomes live after it becomes dead.

crosscountry55 Tue Oct 27, 2015 02:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 968581)
You actually have until the ball becomes live after it becomes dead.


Technically correct; thank you for clarifying. I meant that I knew I had the next dead ball period to address it before the window closed, but I should have been more careful in how I worded it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1