The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   "Change of possession" correctable error (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100144-change-possession-correctable-error.html)

BryanV21 Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 967276)
Actually, "try" is not defined explicitly either. We have to mesh together when it starts (4-41 Art. 3) and when it ends (4-41 Art. 4) to come up with a definition. But in 4-41 Art. 2, we are told that field goals are tries of the 2 and 3 point variety. And we are also told in 4-21 Art. 1 that a free throw is a "try" for goal.

Can't they just make it more clear? I know... I know... look who I'm talking about

In my heart I knew team control ended on the release of the free throw, but when trying to defend that with rules I ran into that other stuff.

Please believe me... I wasn't meaning to say "this is what it says so THERE". I meant to say "I'm reading this and that... help?"

bob jenkins Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:37am

I'm doing this from memory, but I think in rule 5 it says something like, "A FT try is worth 1 point; a 3-point try is worth 3 points. Any other time a live ball goes through the basket it's 2 points."

BryanV21 Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 967282)
I'm doing this from memory, but I think in rule 5 it says something like, "A FT try is worth 1 point; a 3-point try is worth 3 points. Any other time a live ball goes through the basket it's 2 points."

I'm saying why can't 4-41 include a FT attempt as a try, instead of us having to assume that based on other rules?

Camron Rust Tue Sep 29, 2015 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 967284)
I'm saying why can't 4-41 include a FT attempt as a try, instead of us having to assume that based on other rules?

If the book spelled every related thing out in every section/article it wouldn't fit in your bag.

BryanV21 Tue Sep 29, 2015 11:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 967293)
If the book spelled every related thing out in every section/article it wouldn't fit in your bag.

Fair point

Camron Rust Tue Sep 29, 2015 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcdanrd (Post 967252)
In this scenario the ball never became live. Rule 4.13.6 states that neither team control nor player control exists during a dead ball. Rule 6.7.2a states that the ball remains dead on a free throw which is to be followed by another free throw.

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 967259)
Is no one going to comment on how completely wrong this guy is?

I am now that I am awake....

It is not dead since the official actually awarded only 1 FT. Since 1 FT was awarded, it remained live. It shouldn't have, but, due to the incorrect award, it did.

bob jenkins Tue Sep 29, 2015 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 967284)
I'm saying why can't 4-41 include a FT attempt as a try, instead of us having to assume that based on other rules?

You can propose a rules change / edit.

BryanV21 Tue Sep 29, 2015 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 967298)
You can propose a rules change / edit.

Done. Thanks for the suggestion.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1