The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA-M New Rules Thread (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100121-ncaa-m-new-rules-thread.html)

Raymond Mon Sep 21, 2015 02:37pm

NCAA-M New Rules Thread
 
NCAA-Men's

Rule 4-38 is going to be fun. Here is what the preface says:

"This rule change clarifies that an offensive player also has verticality rights and must be given enough space by the defender to make a normal basketball move"

We also now have 4-17.6.e & A.R. 89. Shooters can no longer move into the path of a forward-moving airborne defender to draw a foul.

BigCat Mon Sep 21, 2015 05:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 966956)
NCAA-Men's



We also now have 4-17.6.e & A.R. 89. Shooters can no longer move into the path of a forward-moving airborne defender to draw a foul.

I read AR 89 as saying when A1 pump fakes B1 into the air (B1 is moving forward) then A1 jumps forward and makes contact with B1, in the air, the foul is on B1 for not maintaining LGP. verticality. in the second situation B1 goes straight up and when A1 jumps into B1 its nothing or a foul on A1.

Maybe I'm missing something....

Raymond Mon Sep 21, 2015 06:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966972)
I read AR 89 as saying when A1 pump fakes B1 into the air (B1 is moving forward) then A1 jumps forward and makes contact with B1, in the air, the foul is on B1 for not maintaining LGP. verticality. in the second situation B1 goes straight up and when A1 jumps into B1 its nothing or a foul on A1.

Maybe I'm missing something....

A1 pump fakes. B1 jumps forward but is in a path that will keep him clear of A1. A1 then jumps into B1's path to attempt the shot.

BigCat Mon Sep 21, 2015 06:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 966973)
A1 pump fakes. B1 jumps forward but is in a path that keep him clear of A1. A1 then jumps into B1's path to attempt the shot.

OK. I thought you were citing AR 89 in support of your comment. This play is different than AR 89. I guess a better way for me to say it is I would not reach that conclusion just from reading AR 89. thx

Raymond Mon Sep 21, 2015 06:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966974)
OK. I thought you were citing AR 89 in support of your comment. This play is a little than AR 89. thx

Did you read the entire approved ruling?

A.R. 89 does support my comment. The grey highlighted area for A.R. 89.2 does not reference a defender jumping straight up, it references a defender jumping forward.

BigCat Mon Sep 21, 2015 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 966975)
Did you read the entire approved ruling?

A.R. 89 does support my comment. The grey highlighted area for A.R. 89.2 does not reference a defender jumping straight up, it references a defender jumping forward.

I downloaded case book today at NCAA publications. My AR 89 says: A1 tries a pump fake and DEFENDER B1, who is in legal guarding position:

1. Jumps forward into the air and A1 then jumps forward and makes contact with B1 in the air.

2. Jumps straight up in the air and A1 then jumps forward and makes contact with B1 in the air.

Number 1 has the defender jumping forward and number 2 has defender jumping straight up. Do I have a different book......

Raymond Mon Sep 21, 2015 07:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966976)
I downloaded case book today at NCAA publications. My AR 89 says: A1 tries a pump fake and DEFENDER B1, who is in legal guarding position:

1. Jumps forward into the air and A1 then jumps forward and makes contact with B1 in the air.

2. Jumps straight up in the air and A1 then jumps forward and makes contact with B1 in the air.

Number 1 has the defender jumping forward and number 2 has defender jumping straight up. Do I have a different book......

There is a "ruling" paragraph below it. The 2nd half of that "ruling" paragraph is highlighted and starts with the word "However".

BigCat Mon Sep 21, 2015 07:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 966977)
There is a "ruling" paragraph below it. The 2nd half of that "ruling" paragraph is highlighted and starts with the word "However".

:eek: i was looking at the 2015 case book. i see it now....sorry

BigCat Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 966956)
NCAA-Men's

Rule 4-38 is going to be fun. Here is what the preface says:

"This rule change clarifies that an offensive player also has verticality rights and must be given enough space by the defender to make a normal basketball move"

They should have included pictures/drawings for 4-38….:) I havnt had a meeting yet or looked at any video but pretty obvious they want space between players. Likely directed at the defender who tries to get in someone's grill... getting more flow/freedom of movement..4-38-1c needs a picture...

Camron Rust Tue Sep 22, 2015 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966992)
They should have included pictures/drawings for 4-38….:) I havnt had a meeting yet or looked at any video but pretty obvious they want space between players. Likely directed at the defender who tries to get in someone's grill... getting more flow/freedom of movement..4-38-1c needs a picture...

Is this going to be the "get out of my way" rule?

BigCat Tue Sep 22, 2015 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 966993)
Is this going to be the "get out of my way" rule?

I'll have to get back to you..im still trying to figure out the diameter of the cylinder they are trying to describe:eek:--- I can see the situation when the offense is holding the ball and defense gets soooo close. offense can't move….maybe the "get back" rule.

APG Tue Sep 22, 2015 06:43pm

A.R. 89. A1 tries a pump fake and defender B1, who is in legal guarding
position:

1. Jumps forward into the air and A1 then jumps forward and makes contact with B1 in the air; or

2. Jumps straight up in the air and A1 then jumps forward and makes contact with B1 in the air.

RULING 1: Even though B1 established legal guarding position on the floor, his jump forward and toward A1 is not a legal attempt to maintain legal guarding position so that any non-incidental contact with A1 is a personal foul on B1. However, if B1’s jump forward is in a direction that he clearly would not have made contact with the shooter, and the shooter moves sideways to cause the contact, B1 has not committed a personal foul. (Rule 4-17.6.e)

2: B1 has again established initial legal guarding position and his jump into the air is a legal attempt to maintain legal guarding position as long as the jump is within B1’s own vertical plane. Any subsequent contact by A1 jumping forward and into B1 is either a personal foul on A1 or incidental contact. (Rule 4-17.6.e)

Bolded portion is the new part of the case book play

OKREF Tue Sep 22, 2015 08:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 967005)
A.R. 89. A1 tries a pump fake and defender B1, who is in legal guarding
position:

1. Jumps forward into the air and A1 then jumps forward and makes contact with B1 in the air; or

2. Jumps straight up in the air and A1 then jumps forward and makes contact with B1 in the air.

RULING 1: Even though B1 established legal guarding position on the floor, his jump forward and toward A1 is not a legal attempt to maintain legal guarding position so that any non-incidental contact with A1 is a personal foul on B1. However, if B1’s jump forward is in a direction that he clearly would not have made contact with the shooter, and the shooter moves sideways to cause the contact, B1 has not committed a personal foul. (Rule 4-17.6.e)

2: B1 has again established initial legal guarding position and his jump into the air is a legal attempt to maintain legal guarding position as long as the jump is within B1’s own vertical plane. Any subsequent contact by A1 jumping forward and into B1 is either a personal foul on A1 or incidental contact. (Rule 4-17.6.e)

Bolded portion is the new part of the case book play

I love this addendum. I wish NFHS would adopt this.

Camron Rust Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by okref (Post 967006)
i love this addendum. I wish nfhs would adopt this.

+1

APG Wed Sep 23, 2015 05:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 967006)
I love this addendum. I wish NFHS would adopt this.

Just showing what levels of play above NF are saying about this play:

NBA (2014-2015) Case Book:

262. Offensive Player A1 pump fakes a 3-point field goal attempt and Defender B1 clearly jumps/runs to the side of A1 and would not make any contact. Player A1 jumps sideways and initiates contact with Defender B1. How is this handled?

Since Defender B1 was not going to contact Player A1, a foul cannot be called on him assuming he did not reach over and hit his opponent. If the contact by A1 is marginal, meaning it did not affect B1’s ability to continue play, no foul has occurred. If the contact initiated by A1 is more than marginal, an offensive foul shall be assessed.

RULE 12B - SECTION VII


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1