![]() |
Quote:
That said, the way people often use it is not exactly the same as "end of dribble". Many use it such that it refers to a point that is typically after the end of the dribble...when the ball is secured in two hands....and declare that only at that time is the player actually holding the ball. However, there are a few holes in the way it is often used when you try to reconcile it with the rules. Player control , as everyone knows, is defined only as holding or dribbling the ball. Quote:
Quote:
If you don't believe that, just answer this (ignoring a fumble/muff).... If a player has ended the dribble but has not yet "gathered" the ball, what is the status of player control? Does player control continue through the time between the end of the dribble to the time the player has "gathered" the ball? If the dribble has ended and they are not holding the ball, then you are saying they don't have player control and they are not subject to the rules regarding player control. That implies the player's team can not be granted a timeout and they they can't commit a PC foul. Has you ever seen a player in such a case commit a foul and it not be a PC foul or ever consider the status of the ball that is being gathered relative to a timeout request? Of course not. Unless the NFHS wants to introduce third state of player control, that is all there is and the rest of the rules apply accordingly. The term can, however, be useful in determining whether the player is in the act of shooting. It is a status, even if unofficial, that usually demarcates the latest point at which the act of shooting likely begins. |
Could it be said then that "gathering" means the player not only has secured control of the ball but also has gathered his movement/momentum in a way that an official should be able to accurately judge him/her to be in the act of shooting?
|
Quote:
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32pm. |