The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Count the basket? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100028-count-basket.html)

rbruno Thu Aug 13, 2015 09:39pm

Count the basket?
 
Had this happen tonight in a summer league game. Think I/we got it correct but can't find the rule reference.
Player A-1 shoots a three point shot that goes in. While the ball is in the air player A-2 fouls B-1 who was fighting through A-2's screen.
We counted the basket and called the foul on A-2 as a common foul. Gave the ball to Team B at the endline.
Figured that while the ball was in the air you can't have a team control foul.
Should the basket have counted?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 965831)
Had this happen tonight in a summer league game. Think I/we got it correct but can't find the rule reference.
Player A-1 shoots a three point shot that goes in. While the ball is in the air player A-2 fouls B-1 who was fighting through A-2's screen.
We counted the basket and called the foul on A-2 as a common foul. Gave the ball to Team B at the endline.
Figured that while the ball was in the air you can't have a team control foul.
Should the basket have counted?


You are correct that A2's CF was not a TCF. But I am having a hard time visualizing B1's fighting through A2's screen not being a foul on B1 instead of a foul by A2.

MTD, Sr.

AremRed Fri Aug 14, 2015 01:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 965831)
Think I/we got it correct but can't find the rule reference.

That's cuz it's one of those plays (read: every play) which draws from several different rules at once. They can be rather intricate at times.

This play has a pretty easy answer: after the release of the shot there is no team control. Thus, if an offensive foul happens after the release then you penalize the foul and count the bucket if applicable. If it's a defensive foul then penalize the foul and count the bucket if the offensive player had begun the shooting motion. The shooter gets continuation during a defensive foul. Make sense?

rbruno Fri Aug 14, 2015 07:19am

My language didn't really describe what I saw, I think. I believe A-2 was trying to screen B-1 from behind to protect the shooter at the top of the key. I saw him push B-1 and hence the whistle. Actually it is a mechanics problem also as I was trying to keep my eyes on the shooter until he returned to the floor and the fouling action was there also but not against the shooter. I would expect that my partner could have helped there but he didn't so there was confusion by both teams as to who the foul was on A-2 or B-1.

bballref3966 Fri Aug 14, 2015 07:34am

A foul while the ball is in flight on a try/tap never causes the ball to become dead, with the exception of a player-control foul committed by an airborne shooter.

Raymond Fri Aug 14, 2015 08:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 965840)
My language didn't really describe what I saw, I think. I believe A-2 was trying to screen B-1 from behind to protect the shooter at the top of the key. I saw him push B-1 and hence the whistle. Actually it is a mechanics problem also as I was trying to keep my eyes on the shooter until he returned to the floor and the fouling action was there also but not against the shooter. I would expect that my partner could have helped there but he didn't so there was confusion by both teams as to who the foul was on A-2 or B-1.

If the shot was already released, I'm wondering why B1 would still be trying to get to A1. :confused:

Adam Fri Aug 14, 2015 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 965840)
My language didn't really describe what I saw, I think. I believe A-2 was trying to screen B-1 from behind to protect the shooter at the top of the key. I saw him push B-1 and hence the whistle. Actually it is a mechanics problem also as I was trying to keep my eyes on the shooter until he returned to the floor and the fouling action was there also but not against the shooter. I would expect that my partner could have helped there but he didn't so there was confusion by both teams as to who the foul was on A-2 or B-1.

As BNR alludes to, the question that matters here is whether the shot had been released by the time A2 committed the foul. Pay no attention to the timing of the whistle.

bob jenkins Sun Aug 16, 2015 07:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 965849)
As BNR alludes to, the question that matters here is whether the shot had been released by the time A2 committed the foul. Pay no attention to the timing of the whistle.

In NCAAW, the "time of the whistle" is "the time of the foul", by definition /interpretation.

So, A1 begins the motion, A2 illegally contacts B2, A1 releases the ball, whistle blows -- count the basket, enforce A2's foul.

HokiePaul Mon Aug 24, 2015 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 965831)
Gave the ball to Team B at the endline.

I believe the throw in would be at the spot nearest the foul. This could be the endline (and the thrower could run), but it isn't always.

Of course it's the off-season and I could be a bit rusty on my rules--someone will correct me I'm sure if this is wrong.

BigCat Mon Aug 24, 2015 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 966142)
I believe the throw in would be at the spot nearest the foul. This could be the endline (and the thrower could run), but it isn't always.

Of course it's the off-season and I could be a bit rusty on my rules--someone will correct me I'm sure if this is wrong.

7.5.7 E

if the ball goes in/basket counts (and B is not in the bonus) their ensuing throw in is from the end line and they can run. even if the foul by the team A teammate is at the top of key. thx

deecee Mon Aug 24, 2015 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966147)
7.5.7 E

if the ball goes in/basket counts (and B is not in the bonus) their ensuing throw in is from the end line and they can run. even if the foul by the team A teammate is at the top of key. thx

That is not correct. The proper procedure is to inbound the ball at the spot of the foul. In this case it could be the endline but it doesn't have to be. The inbounds location for ANY common foul IS spot closest to the foul.

IF the ensuing throw in is on the endline then the team has permission to run the endline due to the exception granted on fouls/violations by the defending team on endline throw ins after a made basket.

BigCat Mon Aug 24, 2015 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 966150)
That is not correct. The proper procedure is to inbound the ball at the spot of the foul. In this case it could be the endline but it doesn't have to be. The inbounds location for ANY common foul IS spot closest to the foul.

IF the ensuing throw in is on the endline then the team has permission to run the endline due to the exception granted on fouls/violations by the defending team on endline throw ins after a made basket.

i just remembered the case play and it says if teammate fouls after ball in flight and it goes in, throw in is on end line and team can run. it doesnt say the closest spot to teammates foul is end line. i dont like to assume facts in the plays that arent given but i dont feel to strongly about it either way.

BillyMac Mon Aug 24, 2015 05:02pm

Straight From The Horse's Mouth ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966147)
7.5.7 E... if the ball goes in/basket counts (and B is not in the bonus) their ensuing throw in is from the end line and they can run. even if the foul by the team A teammate is at the top of key.

7.5.7 SITUATION E: While A1's three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3
fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field goal attempt is successful. RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (6-7-7 Exception 2)

BigCat Mon Aug 24, 2015 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 966152)
7.5.7 SITUATION E: While A1's three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3
fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field goal attempt is successful. RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (6-7-7 Exception 2)

interesting, my 7.5.7E does not say "near bottom block area." mine doesnt mention a location.

my Ipad version. i will check the paper back...if i can find them....

deecee Mon Aug 24, 2015 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966151)
i just remembered the case play and it says if teammate fouls after ball in flight and it goes in, throw in is on end line and team can run. it doesnt say the closest spot to teammates foul is end line. i dont like to assume facts in the plays that arent given but i dont feel to strongly about it either way.

Don't overthink this. The inbounds for ANY common foul is nearest where the foul occured. It could be in a double foul situation where the POI is a ball in flight then on a made basket the inbounds would be endline where the team can run.

Camron Rust Mon Aug 24, 2015 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966153)
interesting, my 7.5.7E does not say "near bottom block area." mine doesnt mention a location.

my Ipad version. i will check the paper back...if i can find them....

This case is there for the purposes of demonstrating that a player still gets to run the endline after a made basket even if a occurred while the ball was in flight IF the spot happens to be on the endline. It is not there to specifiy the location of the throwin.

Nevadaref Mon Aug 24, 2015 06:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 966154)
Don't overthink this. The inbounds for ANY common foul is nearest where the foul occured. It could be in a double foul situation where the POI is a ball in flight then on a made basket the inbounds would be endline where the team can run.

Actually for a DPF with a try in flight the location of the POI throw-in would be from where the shooter released the try for goal as BALL location determines the throw-in spot on a DPF, while PLAYER location is the determining factor for a single personal foul.

BigCat Mon Aug 24, 2015 06:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 966157)
Actually for a DPF with a try in flight the location of the POI throw-in would be from where the shooter released the try for goal as BALL location determines the throw-in spot on a DPF, while PLAYER location is the determining factor for a single personal foul.

when we have a try in flight we have no team control. if the ball goes in it goes to other team for end line throw in as deecee mentioned. that is the obvious poi. if it is missed we go to the arrow as no obvious poi. throw in at ball location at time of double foul which would be where shooter let it go as you mentioned.thx

AremRed Mon Aug 24, 2015 11:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966160)
thx

You're....welcome?

BigCat Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 966169)
You're....welcome?

it's a habit. just as not using my shift key is a habit.....thx:)

AremRed Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966171)
it's a habit. just as not using my shift key is a habit.....thx:)

No problem. :D

Peace

Nevadaref Tue Aug 25, 2015 01:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966160)
when we have a try in flight we have no team control. if the ball goes in it goes to other team for end line throw in as deecee mentioned. that is the obvious poi. if it is missed we go to the arrow as no obvious poi. throw in at ball location at time of double foul which would be where shooter let it go as you mentioned.thx

That is correct in terms of the ultimate outcome. I would only quibble a bit with the precision of your thinking process which got you there.

Namely under NFHS rules POI is NOT any particular point in the game. Some people think of it that way, but that is not correct and can get you into administrative trouble. POI is actually an administrative process for resuming the game with a throw-in based upon the certain circumstances under which play was halted. See the definition in Rule 4. As you certainly know, it does not apply for situations in which only a single foul is committed. Also you have noted rule 4-36-2a will not be used when there is a DPF while a try is in flight as there is no team control. Therefore, the made FG situation will come under 4-36-2b (Team B due an end line throw-in) and the missed FG try activates 4-36-2c (AP throw-in at ball location).

This is really a nice scenario to test an official's understanding of team control, ball location, player location, proper throw-in location, live/dead ball, and the POI process.

Nevadaref Tue Aug 25, 2015 02:07am

To be clear, I don't agree with BigCat's usage of "that is the obvious poi" and "no obvious poi." I don't believe that how obvious the situation is really has anything to do with the POI process from a rules perspective.

As this pertains to 4-36-2, I can provide examples which are obvious which fall under all three parts: a, b, and c.

For part a:
1. A1 is holding the ball near the division line when the lights go out in the gym. (seems obvious)
2. A1 has the ball batted away by B1 and both players are chasing after it in the backcourt when a double technical foul is called on A3 and B3. (Not obvious to most)

For part b:
3. A1 has the ball in the corner of the frontcourt and requests a time-out which the official grants. While heading to their benches A4 and B4 taunt each other and a DTF is charged. (seems obvious)

4. With 7 seconds remaining in the 2nd quarter A1 is administered a throw-in from a spot along his backcourt end line. To conserve time, A1 rolls the ball on the floor up the court. When the ball has just crossed the division line B2 and A2 commit a DPF while attempting to reach the ball, but before any player has touched it. (not obvious)

For part c:
5. The official tosses the ball into the air to begin an extra period of play and a toddler runs out onto the court causing an Umpire to blow to his whistle. (seems obvious)

6. A1 and B1 contest the opening jump ball and knock it near the sideline where A2 and B2 scramble for it with neither gaining control and they simultaneously knock it out of bounds. At this time the scorer alerts the Referee that each team has a player on the court with an incorrect number. (not obvious to most)

BillyMac Tue Aug 25, 2015 05:30am

History Marches On ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966153)
interesting, my 7.5.7E does not say "near bottom block area." mine doesn't mention a location.

Sorry. My PDF casebook is from 2011-12. If anyone is aware of any newer versions online, let me know, it would be greatly appreciated.

BigCat Tue Aug 25, 2015 08:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 966176)
To be clear, I don't agree with BigCat's usage of "that is the obvious poi" and "no obvious poi." I don't believe that how obvious the situation is really has anything to do with the POI process from a rules perspective.

As this pertains to 4-36-2, I can provide examples which are obvious which fall under all three parts: a, b, and c.

For part a:
1. A1 is holding the ball near the division line when the lights go out in the gym. (seems obvious)
2. A1 has the ball batted away by B1 and both players are chasing after it in the backcourt when a double technical foul is called on A3 and B3. (Not obvious to most)

For part b:
3. A1 has the ball in the corner of the frontcourt and requests a time-out which the official grants. While heading to their benches A4 and B4 taunt each other and a DTF is charged. (seems obvious)

4. With 7 seconds remaining in the 2nd quarter A1 is administered a throw-in from a spot along his backcourt end line. To conserve time, A1 rolls the ball on the floor up the court. When the ball has just crossed the division line B2 and A2 commit a DPF while attempting to reach the ball, but before any player has touched it. (not obvious)

For part c:
5. The official tosses the ball into the air to begin an extra period of play and a toddler runs out onto the court causing an Umpire to blow to his whistle. (seems obvious)

6. A1 and B1 contest the opening jump ball and knock it near the sideline where A2 and B2 scramble for it with neither gaining control and they simultaneously knock it out of bounds. At this time the scorer alerts the Referee that each team has a player on the court with an incorrect number. (not obvious to most)

I only used "no obvious poi" because that is the phrase used in the case book when there is an unsuccessful try involved. When it goes in I flipped it noting that that is the "obvious poi." Just using case book language. not personally saying something obvious/easy etc.

BigCat Tue Aug 25, 2015 04:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 966155)
This case is there for the purposes of demonstrating that a player still gets to run the endline after a made basket even if a occurred while the ball was in flight IF the spot happens to be on the endline. It is not there to specifiy the location of the throwin.

If you get time, run through the rules/case plays analysis that gets you to the point to say that the reason they are running the end line in 7.5.7E is because there was a made basket AND the spot of the foul happen to be on the end line. thx

deecee Tue Aug 25, 2015 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966190)
If you get time, run through the rules/case plays analysis that gets you to the point to say that the reason they are running the end line in 7.5.7E is because there was a made basket AND the spot of the foul happen to be on the end line. thx

The case play specifies the spot of the foul was the lower block. Which would mean the inbounds would be on the endline. You have to look at your chart for where the foul occurs and the relation to where we inbounds the ball. The simplest diagram is start at a point at the top of the three point arc and draw a straight line to each of the 2 intersecting points of the three point line to the endline.

Any foul under the line inbounds is on the endline. Above = sideline.

BigCat Tue Aug 25, 2015 09:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 966191)
The case play specifies the spot of the foul was the lower block. Which would mean the inbounds would be on the endline. You have to look at your chart for where the foul occurs and the relation to where we inbounds the ball. The simplest diagram is start at a point at the top of the three point arc and draw a straight line to each of the 2 intersecting points of the three point line to the endline.

Any foul under the line inbounds is on the endline. Above = sideline.

7.5.7E used to say the foul was near the block. It does not now. It simply says A3 commits a foul on B3. nothing more.

As far as where you take the ball inbounds..it is the inside area of the key and then a point from the "elbow" (where lane lines and FT line meet) to the dead corner. looks like a spaceship. anywhere within that area goes end line.

Raymond Tue Aug 25, 2015 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966192)
7.5.7E used to say the foul was near the block. It does not now. It simply says A3 commits a foul on B3. nothing more.
...

In which version, 2015-16?

Camron Rust Tue Aug 25, 2015 11:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966190)
If you get time, run through the rules/case plays analysis that gets you to the point to say that the reason they are running the end line in 7.5.7E is because there was a made basket AND the spot of the foul happen to be on the end line. thx

I think this pretty much covers it...


Quote:

ART. 7 . . . A throw-in anywhere along the end line after a goal ....... shall make a throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line and the officials shall signal such.
b. A team retains this privilege if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul (before the throw-in ends and before the bonus is in effect) and the ensuing throw-in spot would have been on the end line.
The foul in question did happen before the throwin ended. It also effectively happened "after" the shot. The spot, if it happens to be on the endline, then allows the thrower to move.

BillyMac Wed Aug 26, 2015 06:09am

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 966191)
You have to look at your chart for where the foul occurs and the relation to where we inbounds the ball. The simplest diagram is start at a point at the top of the three point arc and draw a straight line to each of the 2 intersecting points of the three point line to the endline.

Close, but almost only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966192)
As far as where you take the ball inbounds..it is the inside area of the key and then a point from the "elbow" (where lane lines and FT line meet) to the dead corner. looks like a spaceship.

Better, but it's not a spaceship, it's a rocket ship ...

Rocket Ship Diagram © 2009, Back In The Saddle

https://c2.staticflickr.com/8/7137/7...40b397d7_m.jpg

BigCat Wed Aug 26, 2015 07:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 966193)
In which version, 2015-16?

In my paper back 2014/15 case book and electronic 2014/15.

Raymond Wed Aug 26, 2015 07:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966192)
7.5.7E used to say the foul was near the block. It does not now. It simply says A3 commits a foul on B3. nothing more.

As far as where you take the ball inbounds..it is the inside area of the key and then a point from the "elbow" (where lane lines and FT line meet) to the dead corner. looks like a spaceship. anywhere within that area goes end line.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 966193)
In which version, 2015-16?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966196)
In my paper back 2014/15 case book and electronic 2014/15.

The 2014-15 Case Book still had the phrase "near the bottom block"

7.5.7 SITUATION E:

While A1's three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3 fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field-goal attempt is successful.

RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (6-7-7 Exception 2)

BigCat Wed Aug 26, 2015 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 966197)
The 2014-15 Case Book still had the phrase "near the bottom block"

7.5.7 SITUATION E:

While A1's three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3 fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field-goal attempt is successful.

RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (6-7-7 Exception 2)

This is what my 2014/15 say
7.5.7 SITUATION E: While A1's three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3 fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus). The three-point field-goal attempt is successful. RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B will be permitted to move along the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (6-7-7 Exception 2)

The "near the bottom block" phrase is not present….:confused:

Raymond Wed Aug 26, 2015 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966198)
This is what my 2014/15 say
7.5.7 SITUATION E: While A1's three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3 fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus). The three-point field-goal attempt is successful. RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B will be permitted to move along the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (6-7-7 Exception 2)

The "near the bottom block" phrase is not present….:confused:

Is your e-version from the NFHS Central Hub on Arbiter?

BigCat Wed Aug 26, 2015 09:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 966199)
Is your e-version from the NFHS Central Hub on Arbiter?

No, I went to NFHS site and it sent me to iTunes. I now have my paper version sent to me from Illinois in front of me. It is identical to my e version.

BigCat Wed Aug 26, 2015 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 966194)
I think this pretty much covers it...


Quote:
ART. 7 . . . A throw-in anywhere along the end line after a goal ....... shall make a throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line and the officials shall signal such.
b. A team retains this privilege if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul (before the throw-in ends and before the bonus is in effect) and the ensuing throw-in spot would have been on the end line.



The foul in question did happen before the throwin ended. It also effectively happened "after" the shot. The spot, if it happens to be on the endline, then allows the thrower to move.

Below is how i'm reading the language of 7-5-7
Under 7-5-7, see above, The PRIVILEGE to run the end line is obtained after the goal is made. 7b then says you RETAIN (get to keep what you already have) that privilege if the scoring team COMMITS (future tense) a violation or COMMITS a foul and the ensuing throw in would have been on end line. You could read that and conclude they are talking about violations and fouls that occur after the goal has been made. The case plays on 7b involve violations and fouls which occurred after the goal was scored. 7.5.7B & C

In our case the foul did occur before the throw in ended and after the shot, as you pointed out, but not AFTER the GOAL. one could argue 7b doesn't come into play. At the time of the foul there was no privilege to run the end line and nothing to retain at that time. The ball remains live on the foul and goes in. Team B gets to run the end line because a live ball went through the basket--a goal regardless of where the foul occurred. Art 7.

My 7.7.5E case play simply says A3 fouls B1 while a try was in flight and then went in. Team B gets to run the end line. That is consistent with 7-5-7 language.

Over the years when this has happened to me the foul has always been inside the space/rocket ship--end line throw in, so this may be more of an academic exercise. What is more of a concern is that it appears as if my case book and BNRs are different. thx

Raymond Wed Aug 26, 2015 02:14pm

I just want to make sure I'm clear about what is being debated here.

If Team A commits a foul while a Team A try is in flight and the try is successful and Team B is not in the bonus, the throw-in is:

1) a designated spot throw-in determined by the spot of the foul.

2) always a non-designated spot throw-in along the endline.

3) determined by the spot of the foul. If throw-in is from the endline, Team B may run the endline.

BigCat Wed Aug 26, 2015 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 966202)
I just want to make sure I'm clear about what is being debated here.

If Team A commits a foul while a Team A try is in flight and the try is successful and Team B is not in the bonus, the throw-in spot is:

1) a designated spot throw-in determined by the spot of the foul.

2) will always be a non-designated spot throw-in along the endline.

3) determined by the spot of the foul. If throw-in is from the endline, Team B may run the endline.

Yes, that is the question. I dont feel the language of 7b fits this situation. Based on the language 2) above appears correct to me. I wondered if there were any old interps etc. that would fit the situation better.

Camron Rust Wed Aug 26, 2015 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 966202)
I just want to make sure I'm clear about what is being debated here.

If Team A commits a foul while a Team A try is in flight and the try is successful and Team B is not in the bonus, the throw-in is:

1) a designated spot throw-in determined by the spot of the foul.

2) always a non-designated spot throw-in along the endline.

3) determined by the spot of the foul. If throw-in is from the endline, Team B may run the endline.

Yes, and I don't think anyone is suggesting #1 is an option. I think the two choices really are 2 & 3.

There is some ambiguity in the rule but history suggests #3 is the correct interpretation.

Camron Rust Wed Aug 26, 2015 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 966201)
Below is how i'm reading the language of 7-5-7
Under 7-5-7, see above, The PRIVILEGE to run the end line is obtained after the goal is made. 7b then says you RETAIN (get to keep what you already have) that privilege if the scoring team COMMITS (future tense) a violation or COMMITS a foul and the ensuing throw in would have been on end line. You could read that and conclude they are talking about violations and fouls that occur after the goal has been made. The case plays on 7b involve violations and fouls which occurred after the goal was scored. 7.5.7B & C

In our case the foul did occur before the throw in ended and after the shot, as you pointed out, but not AFTER the GOAL. one could argue 7b doesn't come into play. At the time of the foul there was no privilege to run the end line and nothing to retain at that time. The ball remains live on the foul and goes in. Team B gets to run the end line because a live ball went through the basket--a goal regardless of where the foul occurred. Art 7.

My 7.7.5E case play simply says A3 fouls B1 while a try was in flight and then went in. Team B gets to run the end line. That is consistent with 7-5-7 language.

Over the years when this has happened to me the foul has always been inside the space/rocket ship--end line throw in, so this may be more of an academic exercise. What is more of a concern is that it appears as if my case book and BNRs are different. thx

I think it really comes down to the idea that when a try is in flight time is not truly ordered. Some things that occur before the try ends are dealt with as if they occur after the try ends (but with the ball still considered live). The game doesn't stop at the infraction, the penalty is delayed until the ball becomes dead.


The language of the rule, and the explanations given when this rule was actually added, indicated that it was unfair for a team to lose the endline privileges because the other team committed an infraction. But, at the same time, the explanations indicated that a throw-in position farther up court was considered to not be unfair but more advantageous. If time is an issue, a location the ball part way down the court instead of on the backcourt endline would be more advantageous (with the possible exception of it being deep in a corner, but I'm going to judge that it was on the endline side of the diagonal in those cases ;). In fact, that is why NBA teams call timeout to advance the ball in the later parts of games....it is an advantage to move it down the court without the clock running.

BigCat Wed Aug 26, 2015 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 966205)
I think it really comes down to the idea that when a try is in flight time is not truly ordered. Some things that occur before the try ends are dealt with as if they occur after the try ends (but with the ball still considered live). The game doesn't stop at the infraction, the penalty is delayed until the ball becomes dead.


The language of the rule, and the explanations given when this rule was actually added, indicated that it was unfair for a team to lose the endline privileges because the other team committed an infraction. But, at the same time, the explanations indicated that a throw-in position farther up court was considered to not be unfair but more advantageous. If time is an issue, a location the ball part way down the court instead of on the backcourt endline would be more advantageous (with the possible exception of it being deep in a corner, but I'm going to judge that it was on the endline side of the diagonal in those cases ;). In fact, that is why NBA teams call timeout to advance the ball in the later parts of games....it is an advantage to move it down the court without the clock running.

Yeah, if time is a factor id certainly want it up the floor on the side. This is more of a test question type thing because is just doesnt happen enough to really matter. If time isnt an issue it really isnt that big of a deal to be on end line or side line. If you cant get the ball inbounds your going to lose...;)

I could see nfhs saying keep it simple-if the last thing that occurs is a made basket then end line throw in. I guess what id like to know is how many books show 7.5.7E with the "near the block" language? my 2014/15 stuff does not say that. BNR said his does. different language in what are supposed to be same book is a problem..


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1