The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Nfhs 8-3-d (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/99535-nfhs-8-3-d.html)

chuck chopper Wed Mar 18, 2015 07:01pm

Nfhs 8-3-d
 
Could someone tell me what this rule says. Having a debate about a caught ball being carried into deadball area and 5-1-1(i) and this 8-3-d area being referenced. I am being told the ball can be run back on to the field & live ball is resumed.

Matt Wed Mar 18, 2015 08:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chuck chopper (Post 958104)
Could someone tell me what this rule says. Having a debate about a caught ball being carried into deadball area and 5-1-1(i) and this 8-3-d area being referenced. I am being told the ball can be run back on to the field & live ball is resumed.

I think you mean 8-3-3d. Once a caught ball is carried into dead-ball territory, it is dead. One base for all runners.

rcaverly Wed Mar 18, 2015 09:41pm

Matt has it right. The only thing to add is there is no "catch and carry" in NFHS games. If you catch the ball in live ball territory (LBT) for an out and carry it into dead ball territory, you cannot carry the "dead" ball back into LBT and change the status of the ball back to "live" again.

Other codes (OBR) may allow this action but only by specific ground rule.

bob jenkins Wed Mar 18, 2015 09:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chuck chopper (Post 958104)
Could someone tell me what this rule says. Having a debate about a caught ball being carried into deadball area and 5-1-1(i) and this 8-3-d area being referenced. I am being told the ball can be run back on to the field & live ball is resumed.

That's (more or less) the NCAA rule. Does not apply to HS.

umpjim Wed Mar 18, 2015 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rcaverly (Post 958114)
Matt has it right. The only thing to add is there is no "catch and carry" in NFHS games. If you catch the ball in live ball territory (LBT) for an out and carry it into dead ball territory, you cannot carry the "dead" ball back into LBT and change the status of the ball back to "live" again.

Other codes (OBR) may allow this action but only by specific ground rule.

OBR allows it by rule. And by general ground rules.

We should note that FED requires both feet in to make the ball dead.

umpjim Wed Mar 18, 2015 10:25pm

Interestingly, there is a semantic issue that may be at the point of the OP's dispute. Suppose the pitcher charged toward the 1B foul line to glove a bunt. He gloves it but his momentum carries him into a marked dead ball area ( pipes, drainage whatever). The ball is dead. What is the award?

chuck chopper Thu Mar 19, 2015 01:17am

The flip side to this debate is it appears that in MLB if you STAY ON YOUR FEET and don't fall over, the ball stays live-runners may tag up, and I suppose you're allowed to throw the ball from the DBT 7.04c, 5.10f

bob jenkins Thu Mar 19, 2015 07:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 958119)
Interestingly, there is a semantic issue that may be at the point of the OP's dispute. Suppose the pitcher charged toward the 1B foul line to glove a bunt. He gloves it but his momentum carries him into a marked dead ball area ( pipes, drainage whatever). The ball is dead. What is the award?

1 base.

Unless, of course, he did it on purpose. then, it's two bases.

umpjim Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 958128)
1 base.

Unless, of course, he did it on purpose. then, it's two bases.

I'm wondering if it might be 2 bases and treated as a thrown ball. The fielder did not catch a fair or foul line drive or fly.
Ground ball with over throw to F3 who chases it and as he picks it up his momentum carries him into a dead ball area. Award?

bob jenkins Thu Mar 19, 2015 01:48pm

I read your play ("F1 gloves bunt") as a catch. Sorry.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1