The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   crowding the plate...... (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/9902-crowding-plate.html)

Jim Porter Tue Sep 02, 2003 04:44pm

Drawing a line? Bad idea. Hell, I wipe out the inside portion of the batter's box lines prior to a game if they're there. If I see a batter I think is closer than 6 inches, I tell him to back up. No one's pulled a Carl Everett on me yet.

bob jenkins Tue Sep 02, 2003 04:49pm

Re: I'll bet
 
Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
Blueskyblue has probably got the picture that the feet must be wholly inside the lines before the pitch.

However I've never seen a penalty called for this violation...

That's because there isn't one -- it's a "don't do that" rule.

BigUmpJohn Tue Sep 02, 2003 10:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
Blueskyblue has probably got the picture that the feet must be wholly inside the lines before the pitch.

However I've never seen a penalty called for this violation...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


That's because there isn't one -- it's a "don't do that" rule.



I believe what Tony was referring to was the ASA rule that if the batter does not adhere to the umpire's instruction to get inside the box completely, then the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. Think inside the box. Once again, baseball and softball are two different games.

cowbyfan1 Wed Sep 03, 2003 05:42am

OK on that note. Batter is in the box at the time of the pitch but his foot ends up touching the plate when he contacts the ball. I have been told and read that even though part of his foot is still in the box, since he is on the plate call him out for being out of the box. True? not? true ony per umpire "unwritten law" (you know, ones like it is not a strike if the catcher drops the ball)?

Rich Ives Wed Sep 03, 2003 08:05am

Quote:

Originally posted by cowbyfan1
OK on that note. Batter is in the box at the time of the pitch but his foot ends up touching the plate when he contacts the ball. I have been told and read that even though part of his foot is still in the box, since he is on the plate call him out for being out of the box. True? not? true ony per umpire "unwritten law" (you know, ones like it is not a strike if the catcher drops the ball)?
FED - Out

OBR - Legal

DownTownTonyBrown Wed Sep 03, 2003 08:53am

FED Reference
 
Yes for FED ... OUT! Rule reference is 7-3-2

A Batter Shall Not:
ART. 2... Hit the ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or touching home plate.

Penalty: for infraction of Art. 2... the ball becomes dead immeditately and the batter is out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1