![]() |
bunting
Bunting batter gets hit by his own bunt. Is the rule one foot or both feet out of the box when he gets hit for him to be called out? :confused:
|
Quote:
|
There are two rules that determine when the batter is "in the box."
One (6.03) refers to the batter's initial position in the box. Both feet must be entirely within the box (touching the lines is ok because the lines are part of the box). The other (6.06a) applies when the batter hits the ball. The batter is legal as long as neither foot is on the ground entirely out of the box, i.e., completely across (and not touching) the line. When the batter (or his bat) is hit by a fair batted ball, 6.03 applies. However, in practice (at least in my experience), it had to be pretty obvious that the batter was out of the box in order to bang him out. The lines of the box become partially obliterated after the first few batters, and the benefit of any doubt always went to the batter. In effect, umpires were applying the less strict standards of 6.06(a). OBR has recently made it clear that 6.03 is the rule that applies when the batter is hit by a batted ball, |
FED is clear (to my reading at least) that if one foot is (or has been) on the ground entirely out of the box, the batter is out.
Even though the OBR interp differs a bit -- it's still "one foot", to answer the OP. |
Are you asking if the ball hits him after he bunts it? If so, then both feet have to be out of the box for him to be declared out. If one foot is still in the box it is a foul ball.
As far as when he makes contact with the ball, if one foot is completely out of the box (in any code), he is out. In FED, if his foot is touching the plate, he is out (even though he may still be touching the line). |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
|
Quote:
I tried stop-motion and still looked like the trailing foot was up.:eek: |
Quote:
Wasn't this discussed 4 weeks ago when it happened? (May have been on another site.) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10am. |