The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 18, 2003, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
This situation may have been discussed before but I could not find it in a search.

Ruuner on second (R2) and the pitcher comes to a set position. R2 starts to steal third before the pitcher begins his delivery. The pitcher steps towards third and throws to the 3B. R2 is now in a run down between second and third.

Did the pitcher balk? The rule book says that the pitcher can throw to an unoccupied base to make a play. The offensive coach argued that the pitcher should have disengaged the rubber before throwing to third base. Our crew said no. We said he was making a play at third. Did we get it right or did we kick it?

Jay
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1