![]() |
This situation may have been discussed before but I could not find it in a search.
Ruuner on second (R2) and the pitcher comes to a set position. R2 starts to steal third before the pitcher begins his delivery. The pitcher steps towards third and throws to the 3B. R2 is now in a run down between second and third. Did the pitcher balk? The rule book says that the pitcher can throw to an unoccupied base to make a play. The offensive coach argued that the pitcher should have disengaged the rubber before throwing to third base. Our crew said no. We said he was making a play at third. Did we get it right or did we kick it? Jay |
It's the right call, provided the umpires don't determine that the runner was bluffing.
Since you didn't think the player was bluffing, it's not a balk. Ask the manager how much clearer the phrase "except for the purpose of making a play" needs to be? Rich |
Quote:
In your case, the proof was in the pudding - or rather the "pickle"! :D If R2 was only bluffing then he wouldn't have been caught in that run down. Good call, blue! Hope this helps Cheers |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40pm. |