The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   NCAA and NFHS question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/96574-ncaa-nfhs-question.html)

bob jenkins Sat Nov 23, 2013 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by xtremeump (Post 911812)
Please advise, I am sorry and do not understand ? If you help me I can be a productive participant in many discussions.

Chuck

I tdoesn't matter wheather it was a cleared bat or an accidentally placed bat -- it's two bases TOT regardless

MD Longhorn Mon Nov 25, 2013 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by xtremeump (Post 911564)
Point taken. If the ball hits a cleared bat it is a 2B award with a dead ball.

You asked for clarification on my "Oh dear", and then after we clarified you told Rich you needed help being a more productive poster...

Let's just say this. The statement you made above is false. If this was a T/F on a test, I would hope you would say False.

A thrown ball hitting a bat (cleared or not) is simply a thrown ball hitting a bat. It is not a 2B award. it is not a dead ball.

xtremeump Mon Nov 25, 2013 08:27pm

The OP has the ball going out of play, I do not know what Oh Dear Has to offer to the discussion ? Book rule is 2B @ TOT, I looked back at my post and see that I was not clear with that. What is the question that I should have false on ? I am sorry I have a hard time following you. Very Sorry for any confusion on my post.

xtremeump Mon Nov 25, 2013 08:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 911439)
And if the cleared bat ends up in the way of the throw and the same play happens?

I'm not saying it's not good practice to clear the bat, when you can, and I am saying that good umpires learn this even if they don't go to Evans, just that it's not relevant to the play as presented.

This is the post that I tried to answer. After a PU clears a bat and a thrown ball hits the bat. 2B award at TOT. OH DEAR.

Manny A Tue Nov 26, 2013 08:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by xtremeump (Post 911929)
This is the post that I tried to answer. After a PU clears a bat and a thrown ball hits the bat. 2B award at TOT. OH DEAR.

The problem is that your example is incomplete. Someone who isn't familiiar with baseball rules (and there may be a few lurking here) will think that once the thrown ball hits the bat, it's some sort of automatic two-base award, regardless what happens next.

As others have said, you need to include the fact that the ball must subsequently go into DBT after the ball hits the bat. The ball hitting the bat, in and of itself, means nothing.

MD Longhorn Tue Nov 26, 2013 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by xtremeump (Post 911928)
The OP has the ball going out of play, I do not know what Oh Dear Has to offer to the discussion ? Book rule is 2B @ TOT, I looked back at my post and see that I was not clear with that. What is the question that I should have false on ? I am sorry I have a hard time following you. Very Sorry for any confusion on my post.

Not sure why you're not getting this. Several people have answered your question.

It's this simple: You stated that if a ball hits a cleared bat, the runners get two bases. This statement is false. THAT is the question you should have false on, if it were asked on a test.

23) A thrown ball that hits a bat that has been cleared by the umpire. The umpire should award the runners 2 bases from the TOT.

Answer: False.

A ball that hits a cleared bat ... or an uncleared bat ... is not treated any differently than a ball that doesn't hit a cleared or uncleared bat. The bat is completely irrelevant.

Dave Reed Tue Nov 26, 2013 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 912027)
A ball that hits a cleared bat ... or an uncleared bat ... is not treated any differently than a ball that doesn't hit a cleared or uncleared bat. The bat is completely irrelevant.

This quoted statement is also false. Perhaps you meant:
A thrown ball that hits a cleared bat ... or an uncleared bat ... is not treated any differently than a thrown ball that doesn't hit a cleared or uncleared bat. The bat is completely irrelevant.

xtremeump Tue Nov 26, 2013 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Reed (Post 912032)
This quoted statement is also false. Perhaps you meant:
A thrown ball that hits a cleared bat ... or an uncleared bat ... is not treated any differently than a thrown ball that doesn't hit a cleared or uncleared bat. The bat is completely irrelevant.

Thank you, I have read and understand that my post was incomplete.

Rich Ives Wed Nov 27, 2013 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Reed (Post 912032)
This quoted statement is also false. Perhaps you meant:
A thrown ball that hits a cleared bat ... or an uncleared bat ... is not treated any differently than a thrown ball that doesn't hit a cleared or uncleared bat. The bat is completely irrelevant.

If a batted ball hits a bat is usually nothing. It is only interference if the umpire judges that the batter intentionally placed the bat into the path of the ball.

It is interference if a bat hits a batted ball.

6.05(h)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1