The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Varification Please... (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/9600-varification-please.html)

thumpferee Tue Aug 05, 2003 05:48am

Can't remember who it was playin. Happened few days ago MLB.

Man on third, Pitcher from the wind up, Runner stealing home. Catcher comes out from behind the plate through the strike zone and catches pitch before it crosses the plate and the batter has chance to swing. Catcher tags runner out by three steps. Runner called out by PU.

A similar situation was mentioned on another thread, but I can't find it. I did find tho, a ruling under OBR.

(b) Defensive interference is an act by a fielder which hinders or prevents a batter from hitting a pitch.

So, in the above situation, shouldn't that have been catcher's interference?







DownTownTonyBrown Tue Aug 05, 2003 09:30am

You are correct Sir!
 
OBR 7.07
If with a runner on 3rd base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base wihtout possession of the ball, or touches the batter or his bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk, the batter shall be awarded first base on the interference and the ball is dead.

If it happened the way you have explained... somebody screwed up.
:)

TriggerMN Tue Aug 05, 2003 12:29pm

It was the Twins and Tigers, Cristian Guzman was thrown out at home. Unfortunately, I was visiting ballparks in Cleveland and Cincinnati last week, and only saw this play on a replay once.

If the pitcher steps off the rubber before throwing the ball home, the catcher's play is legal. If it is a pitch, the catcher's play is illegal.

Rich Ives Tue Aug 05, 2003 01:58pm

J/R says if the batter backs off the plate - then there is no CI.

Ump20 Tue Aug 05, 2003 10:46pm

Batter Gives Up
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Ives
J/R says if the batter backs off the plate - then there is no CI.
Interesting point. Jaska Roder says it is NOT CI if the batter "completely gives up his opportunity to swing or bunt at a pitch". I remember a number of years ago when former Mets catcher Mike Fitsgerald was with the Expos and he was called for CI on a similar play and stated he was unaware the rule existed about the catcher coming across the plate to catch a pitch on a squeeze / steal of home. Jim/NYC

SC Ump Wed Aug 06, 2003 05:50am

Re: Batter Gives Up
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Ump20
... stated he was unaware the rule existed...
I don't know if he is still playing or not, but it definitely sounds like he is cut out for a career as a coach.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1