The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Batter Leaves the batter's box & HBP (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/95421-batter-leaves-batters-box-hbp.html)

jdmara Mon Jul 01, 2013 01:20pm

Batter Leaves the batter's box & HBP
 
I had a gentleman ask me the correct ruling on a situation that happened in one of his lower level high school games last week.

2-2, R2, and 1 out. Pitcher starts his delivery and the batter, without being granted time, steps out of the box with ONE FOOT. The pitcher legally delivers and the pitch strikes the batter. Ruling?

Honestly, I'm stretching here a little bit but I believe using the following citations I have a dead-ball (because the pitch touched the batter) and a strikeout.

6-2-4d-1: The umpire shall call the pitch a strike

8-1-1d: a pitched ball hits his person or clothing, provided he does not strike at the ball; or:... if the umpire calls the pitched ball a strike, the hitting of the batter is disregarded except that the ball is dead.

What do you all think?

-Josh

tcarilli Mon Jul 01, 2013 01:43pm

6-2-4d-1 does not apply. The pitcher did not hesitate, he threw the pitch.

The batter has not violated 7-3-1.

HBP send the batter to first base.

MD Longhorn Mon Jul 01, 2013 01:45pm

6-2-4d-1 says both feet.

umpjim Mon Jul 01, 2013 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 899073)
6-2-4d-1 does not apply. The pitcher did not hesitate, he threw the pitch.

The batter has not violated 7-3-1.

HBP send the batter to first base.

6-2-4d-1 goes on to rule on what happens if a pitch is delivered:

1. If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box (a) with one foot or (b) with both feet or (c) holds up his hand to request "Time," it shall not be a balk. In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call "Time" and begin play anew. In (b), a strike shall be called on the batter for violation of 7-3-1. In (a), (b) and (c), if the pitcher *legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live. Thus, two strikes are called on the batter in (b). If the umpire judges the batter's action to be a deliberate attempt to create a balk, he will penalize according to 3-3-1o.

So do we have a dead ball strike?

nopachunts Mon Jul 01, 2013 02:17pm

I have a dead ball strike. Batter stepped out of the box without being granted time. Exactly what I am saying to the OHC if he asks or complains.

tcarilli Mon Jul 01, 2013 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by nopachunts (Post 899080)
I have a dead ball strike. Batter stepped out of the box without being granted time. Exactly what I am saying to the OHC if he asks or complains.


The batter has not violated the batter's box rule, so there is no penalty.

tcarilli Mon Jul 01, 2013 02:31pm

NFHS Rule 7-3-1 Penalty
 
Quote:

PENALTY: ...If the batter leaves the batter's box, delays the game, and none of the above exceptions apply, the plate umpire shall charge a strike to the batter. The pitcher need not pitch, and the ball remains live.
He has neither left the box nor delayed the game.

NFHS Case Book

7-3-1 Situation D

Quote:

B1 steps out of the batter's box (a) without requesting time... RULING: In (a), the umpire shall call a strike if he feels B1 delayed the game.



7-3-1 Situation F


Quote:

B1 has a count of three balls and one strike. In (a), F1 throws a pitch which B1 thinks is ball four and he starts running to first base prior to the umpire calling the pitch a strike or (b) B1 incorrectly thought the count was two balls and two strikes and heads to the dugout after the umpire called the pitch a strike.
RULING: In both (a) and (b), as long as the umpire judges that B1 did not delay the game, he would be allowed to continue to bat with a count of three balls and two strikes. If the umpire felt that the game was delayed, he shall charge a strike to B1. Because of the additional strike which now has been called, the batter is declared out in both (a) and (b).

The batter, in the judgment of the umpire, must delay the game. He has not in original post. He has been hit by the pitch. He goes to first base.

MD Longhorn Mon Jul 01, 2013 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by nopachunts (Post 899080)
I have a dead ball strike. Batter stepped out of the box without being granted time. Exactly what I am saying to the OHC if he asks or complains.

I guess that fulfills your moniker! :) You need more patience here.

A) Batter did not step out of the box...
B) Batter did not delay the game (the pitcher pitched anyway).

You do not (or should not) have a dead ball strike in this situation.

bob jenkins Mon Jul 01, 2013 02:44pm

I sure hope someone from the FED is reading this and will finally get around to changing 6-2-4.

They changed 7-3-1 maybe 10 years ago now to add "and delays the game" but didn't make the corresponding change in 6-2-4. They did come out with some "memo" (I forget the exact format) that indicated it would be changed, but here we sit...

umpjim Mon Jul 01, 2013 02:51pm

2011 BRD had this as a strike no matter where the pitch was delivered. I think FED might have removed some confusing caseplays in the interim.

nopachunts Mon Jul 01, 2013 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 899086)
I guess that fulfills your moniker! :) You need more patience here.

A) Batter did not step out of the box...
B) Batter did not delay the game (the pitcher pitched anyway).

You do not (or should not) have a dead ball strike in this situation.

I may be impatient but I still have a dead ball strike. The batter did step out with one foot and by rule if the pitcher completes the pitch legally, the pitch is called a strike. If a batter is touched by a pitch, the ball is dead, hence the dead ball strike. That's what I like about you and Rita C, you are teaching me through disagreement.

Robert E. Harrison Mon Jul 01, 2013 03:44pm

Was the batter allowed/permitted to leave the box?
 
My question is was the batter allowed or entitled to leave the box after the previous pitch?

nopachunts Mon Jul 01, 2013 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison (Post 899098)
My question is was the batter allowed or entitled to leave the box after the previous pitch?

From OBR Rules:
(1) The batter shall keep at least one foot in the batter’s box throughout the
batter’s time at bat, unless one of the following exceptions applies, in which
case the batter may leave the batter’s box but not the dirt area surrounding
home plate:
(i) The batter swings at a pitch;
(ii) The batter is forced out of the batter’s box by a pitch;
(iii) A member of either team requests and is granted “Time”;
(iv) A defensive player attempts a play on a runner at any base;
(v) The batter feints a bunt;
(vi) A wild pitch or passed ball occurs;
(vii) The pitcher leaves the dirt area of the pitching mound after receiving
the ball; or
(viii)The catcher leaves the catcher’s box to give defensive signals.

tcarilli Mon Jul 01, 2013 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison (Post 899098)
My question is was the batter allowed or entitled to leave the box after the previous pitch?

The batter did not leave the box. By rule, the batter must exit the box with both feet to have left the box.

MD Longhorn Mon Jul 01, 2013 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by nopachunts (Post 899097)
The batter did step out with one foot

Exactly. With one foot.
Quote:

by rule if the pitcher completes the pitch legally, the pitch is called a strike.
Read the rule again. Specifically, look for the words, "with both feet".

jdmara Mon Jul 01, 2013 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 899088)
I sure hope someone from the FED is reading this and will finally get around to changing 6-2-4.

They changed 7-3-1 maybe 10 years ago now to add "and delays the game" but didn't make the corresponding change in 6-2-4. They did come out with some "memo" (I forget the exact format) that indicated it would be changed, but here we sit...

Bob thanks for the historical information on this. I may bring this up to our state interpreter and see if he wants to nominate the change.

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 899090)
2011 BRD had this as a strike no matter where the pitch was delivered. I think FED might have removed some confusing caseplays in the interim.

I'm using the 2012 & 2013 BRD and it states the same thing.

------------------------

I don't know how Chris handled this situation but I'll be interested to see how he did.

-Josh

nopachunts Mon Jul 01, 2013 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 899105)
Exactly. With one foot.Read the rule again. Specifically, look for the words, "with both feet".

MD,
If the batter steps out with both feet and the pitchers fails deliver the pitch, a strike is called on the batter.

1. If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box (a) with one foot or (b) with both feet or (c) holds up his hand to request "Time," it shall not be a balk. In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call "Time" and begin play anew. In (b), a strike shall be called on the batter for violation of 7-3-1. In (a), (b) and (c), if the pitcher *legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live. Thus, two strikes are called on the batter in (b). If the umpire judges the batter's action to be a deliberate attempt to create a balk, he will penalize according to 3-3-1o.

In the bolded part, the rule states if the pitcher legally delivers the pitch, the pitch will be called a strike in either situatiion a, b, or c. Situation a is with one foot. That's what I am basing my answer on. If the pitcher did NOT deliver the pitch and the batter only stepped out with one foot, it would be a do over or anew.

MD Longhorn Mon Jul 01, 2013 05:01pm

Not the rule to which I was referring ... but ok.

That rule starts with:
Quote:

If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box
This was not present in the OP. This part of the rule is to prevent a batter from stepping out and messing the pitcher up and CAUSING the pitch to not be a strike. Hence the awarding of a strike.

The OP did not mention anything along these lines. If the pitcher stopped or hesitated because of the batter stepping out, I would agree with you.

umpjim Mon Jul 01, 2013 09:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 899112)
Not the rule to which I was referring ... but ok.

That rule starts with:
This was not present in the OP. This part of the rule is to prevent a batter from stepping out and messing the pitcher up and CAUSING the pitch to not be a strike. Hence the awarding of a strike.

The OP did not mention anything along these lines. If the pitcher stopped or hesitated because of the batter stepping out, I would agree with you.

I'm confused.

RadioBlue Wed Jul 03, 2013 07:57am

I think the difference here is live-ball strike vs. dead-ball strike. If the pitcher hesitates because the batter stepped out with both feet (b), then we have a dead-ball strike. If (a) or (c) occurs, you have a violation by both the batter and pitcher and you wind up with a "re-do." If, by stepping out with one or both feet or holding up a hand to request time (a, b, or c), the pitcher is not affected and he delivers a legal pitch, that pitch is to be called a strike irregardless of the pitch's location and the ball remains live.

BTW, you cannot get two strikes on this play.

MD Longhorn Wed Jul 03, 2013 08:13am

If the pitcher doesn't stop or hesitate his delivery, all you have is a pitch - none of these rules come into play. The very first sentence of the rule you keep quoting says, "If the pitcher stops or hesitates..."

The OP did not mention the pitcher stopping or hesitating at all... you're assuming the OP omitted something and then applying a rule where it doesn't belong.

jdmara Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 899202)
If the pitcher doesn't stop or hesitate his delivery, all you have is a pitch - none of these rules come into play. The very first sentence of the rule you keep quoting says, "If the pitcher stops or hesitates..."

The OP did not mention the pitcher stopping or hesitating at all... you're assuming the OP omitted something and then applying a rule where it doesn't belong.

Once again, I was relayed this situation so I am assuming the pitcher did not hesitate or stop and gave my opinion to that official.

I understand where people are coming from with this discussion.
Quote:

Originally Posted by 6-2-4d-1
"If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box (a) with one foot or (b) with both feet or (c) holds up his hand to request "Time," it shall not be a balk. In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call "Time" and begin play anew. In (b), a strike shall be called on the batter for violation of 7-3-1. In (a), (b) and (c), if the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live. Thus, two strikes are called on the batter in (b). If the umpire judges the batter's action to be a deliberate attempt to create a balk, he will penalize according to 3-3-1o."

My only issue is that if the "If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery" he cannot possibly "legally delivers the ball", correct? As currently written, this rule is poorly worded.

Therefore, I read this as almost two separate clauses (Note I took liberty and changed the wording. The following is NOT the current rule).

One clause:
"If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box (a) with one foot or (b) with both feet or (c) holds up his hand to request "Time," it shall not be a balk. In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call "Time" and begin play anew. In (b), a strike shall be called on the batter for violation of 7-3-1."
Two clause:
If the pitcher, with a runner on base, legally delivers the ball despite the batter stepping out of the box (a) with one foot or (b) with both feet or (c) holds up his hand to request "Time," it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live. Thus, two strikes are called on the batter in (b). If the umpire judges the batter's action to be a deliberate attempt to create a balk, he will penalize according to 3-3-1o."
As currently written, I don't see how the first part can coincident with the second part and make sense.

-Josh

MD Longhorn Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:19am

I agree with you. Personally, I think the 2-strike on one pitch thing is rather nonsensical, as the pitcher has to both hesitate AND not hesitate.

jdmara Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 899214)
I agree with you. Personally, I think the 2-strike on one pitch thing is rather nonsensical, as the pitcher has to both hesitate AND not hesitate.

They might as well mandate that you eject the coach immediately as well because I don't know many coaches that would have a clue and keep their cool (if I would dare call that)

-Josh

David B Wed Jul 03, 2013 09:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 899071)
I had a gentleman ask me the correct ruling on a situation that happened in one of his lower level high school games last week.

2-2, R2, and 1 out. Pitcher starts his delivery and the batter, without being granted time, steps out of the box with ONE FOOT. The pitcher legally delivers and the pitch strikes the batter. Ruling?

Honestly, I'm stretching here a little bit but I believe using the following citations I have a dead-ball (because the pitch touched the batter) and a strikeout.

6-2-4d-1: The umpire shall call the pitch a strike

8-1-1d: a pitched ball hits his person or clothing, provided he does not strike at the ball; or:... if the umpire calls the pitched ball a strike, the hitting of the batter is disregarded except that the ball is dead.

What do you all think?

-Josh

Time, runner goes to first. I'm not going to penalize the batter because the pitcher can't throw the ball over the plate.

Thanks
David

bluehair Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:21am

Fed 6-2-4____contains balk rules
Fed 6-2-4d__ is the specific F1 not delivering a pitch without hesitation balk.
Fed 6-2-4d-1 is the exception to the 6-2-4d balk...B’s illegal action causing F1 not to deliver the pitch without hesitation.

So if F1 never hesitates nor stops his delivery, why should anything in 6-2-4 apply?

You have 7-3-1 which suggests that if B has one foot in the BB he is legal.

But then CB 6.2.4H contradicts RB and says a penalty strike is to be called even when B has one foot in the BB and F1’s delivery is never even altered.

Then CB 6.2.4I calls for the double strike penalty, sometimes. If F1 delivers a pitch, two strikes. Again, why is 6-2-4d-1 invoked if F1’s delivery is never even altered. If B's illegal action causes F1 to stop his delivery, only one strike. WTF ???

There are way too many variables and too many conflicting RB/CB references for this not uncommon situation. These rules are a mess and need to be cleaned up into a simple/concise rule.

Suggestion: It is a ONE strike penalty if, with F1 in contact and B in BB, B steps out of BB with either foot without “Time” being granted before doing so. Make it a dead ball penalty so that D doesn’t suffer the results of a wild pitch caused by B’s illegal action.

tcarilli Fri Jul 05, 2013 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluehair (Post 899323)
Make it a dead ball penalty so that D doesn’t suffer the results of a wild pitch caused by B’s illegal action.

Stepping out with one foot is not illegal. So that batter has not committed an illegal act. That would require changing the batter's box rule as well. This really isn't that common an occurrence.

Just as "hard cases make bad laws," unusual situations make bad rules.

Manny A Fri Jul 05, 2013 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluehair (Post 899323)
Make it a dead ball penalty so that D doesn’t suffer the results of a wild pitch caused by B’s illegal action.

I think it' s a real stretch to judge that the pitcher's wildness was caused by the batter's action. But maybe that's just me.

bluehair Fri Jul 05, 2013 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 899326)
Stepping out with one foot is not illegal.

Yet, in 6.2.4H, B was charged a strike for one foot only (a) out of the BB.
Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 899326)
That would require changing the batter's box rule as well.

No, 7-3-1 could stay as it is. 7-3-1 is generally intended for the time in between pitches. In essance a game speed up rule.
Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 899326)
This really isn't that common an occurrence.

Agreed, but it is not an uncommon occurance...not the same thing. Every season I have a HS varsity B trying to disrupt F1's rhythm by asking for time/stepping out at inappropriate times. This is the kind of action that I believe Fed was trying to legislate against.
Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 899326)
Just as "hard cases make bad laws," unusual situations make bad rules.

Agree. I would prefer to go with OBR rules for this offense, but Fed seemed to want to penalize B for stepping out at inappropriate times. They can keep the desired penalty for B mucking up play. They just need to tidy up the contradicting rules/CB plays.

tcarilli Fri Jul 05, 2013 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluehair (Post 899330)
Yet, in 6.2.4H, B was charged a strike for one foot only (a) out of the BB.

No, 7-3-1 could stay as it is. 7-3-1 is generally intended for the time in between pitches. In essance a game speed up rule.

Agreed, but it is not an uncommon occurance...not the same thing. Every season I have a HS varsity B trying to disrupt F1's rhythm by asking for time/stepping out at inappropriate times. This is the kind of action that I believe Fed was trying to legislate against.

Agree. I would prefer to go with OBR rules for this offense, but Fed seemed to want to penalize B for stepping out at inappropriate times. They can keep the desired penalty for B mucking up play. They just need to tidy up the contradicting rules/CB plays.


Thanks, for making me re-read all the relevant rules. The issue here is that the pitch can't by rule happen if he hesitates in his delivery because by another rule the ball is dead. I get that. I think I understand the spirit and intent of the rule, 6-2-4. I agree that the case play seems to contradict both 6-2-4 and 7-3-1 because in the case play, F1 has not hesitated in his delivery. So in this instance and the original post, I think there is stick lying on the ground one end of which is shitty. I think the shitty end is call a pitch that is a ball a strike. If the pitcher hesitates, its easy: do over.

tcarilli Fri Jul 05, 2013 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluehair (Post 899330)
Agreed, but it is not an uncommon occurance...not the same thing. Every season I have a HS varsity B trying to disrupt F1's rhythm by asking for time/stepping out at inappropriate times. This is the kind of action that I believe Fed was trying to legislate against.

It must be a regional thing. I can't remember the last time I saw that in an NFHS game. So, in my experience, it is uncommon. If you don't grant time willy-nilly the problem typically resolves itself.

JJ Fri Jul 05, 2013 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 899334)
If the pitcher hesitates, its easy: do over.

And it's pretty easy to say "he hesitated"...

JJ

bluehair Fri Jul 05, 2013 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 899335)
It must be a regional thing. I can't remember the last time I saw that in an NFHS game. So, in my experience, it is uncommon. If you don't grant time willy-nilly the problem typically resolves itself.

Perhaps its a regional thing. We have very competitive baseball here. It doesn't happen every game here, but it does happen from time to time. It must happen in other places, else Fed wouldn't have had the need to address it.

I don't grant time willy-nilly. My usual response to "Time" in this type of sitch is "NO". But not granting time does not make B's action retro-actively disappear. B has already done the inappropriate action.
Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 899334)
I think the shitty end is call a pitch that is a ball a strike. If the pitcher hesitates, its easy: do over.

That's how OBR handles it. Reset...Start again. I wouldn't have a problem doing it that way. But Fed wants to penalize B for initiating an absolved pitching infraction (F1 stopping or hesitating).

tcarilli Fri Jul 05, 2013 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluehair (Post 899337)
Perhaps its a regional thing. We have very competitive baseball here. It doesn't happen every game here, but it does happen from time to time. It must happen in other places, else Fed wouldn't have had the need to address it.

As do we. Not sure why that matters.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluehair (Post 899337)
I don't grant time willy-nilly. My usual response to "Time" in this type of sitch is "NO". But not granting time does not make B's action retro-actively disappear. B has already done the inappropriate action.

Didn't intend to suggest you did, I'm sorry for my use of the second person. I should have used the third person.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluehair (Post 899337)
That's how OBR handles it. Reset...Start again. I wouldn't have a problem doing it that way. But Fed wants to penalize B for initiating an absolved pitching infraction (F1 stopping or hesitating).

Not it does not. 6-2-4 says "In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call "Time" and begin play anew." same as OBR.

bluehair Fri Jul 05, 2013 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 899339)
Not it does not. 6-2-4 says "In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call "Time" and begin play anew." same as OBR.

Yes, if F1 stops or hesitates there is no penalty in 6-2-4d-1 (a) and (c) but then in CB 6.2.4I, there are penalties of one or two strikes called for B stepping out of BB. One is for violating 7-3-1 (both feet out...I get that one), but where do you get the other penalty strike when there is no stop or hesitation in 6.2.4I (a) and (c)? Too many contradictions in this rule/sitch.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1