The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Fielders Choice Question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/94166-fielders-choice-question.html)

The Doctor Sun Feb 24, 2013 07:04am

Fielders Choice Question
 
A slow ground ball is hit by a batter to the shortstop with a runner already on second base. The shortstop plays the ball, he has no play on the runner advancing to third and holds on to the ball. The batter reaches first. Is this a hit or a fielder's choice?

CT1 Sun Feb 24, 2013 08:45am

Depends. If F6 could have thrown out B1 on a normal play but chose not to, it's a FC. If he held the ball because he knew he had no chance to throw out B1 at first, it's a hit.

Judgment call by the official scorer.

Tim C Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:58am

ô!ô
 
I will be nice . . .I will be nice . . .I will be nice . . .I will be nice . . .I will be nice . . .

T

maven Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:28pm

To the Doctor: this is not a forum that specializes in Rule 10 or scorekeeping.

That said, I believe CT1 has provided the correct answer.

RPatrino Sun Feb 24, 2013 01:12pm

E6 and restrict the scorekeeper to the dugout. I hope the scorekeeper is not using a PEN!!

Rich Ives Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPatrino (Post 881572)
E6 and restrict the scorekeeper to the dugout. I hope the scorekeeper is not using a PEN!!

E on you.

I know most of you ignore Rule 10 but it's there. And so is the answer.

10.12 (a) The official scorer shall charge an error against any fielder:
(1) whose misplay (fumble, muff or wild throw) prolongs the time at bat of a batter, prolongs the presence on the bases of a runner or permits a runner to advance one or more bases, unless, in the judgment of the official scorer, such fielder deliberately permits a foul fly to fall safe with a runner on third base before two are out in order that the runner on third shall not score after the catch;

Rule 10.12(a)(1) Comment: Slow handling of the ball that does not involve mechanical misplay shall not be construed as an error. For example, the official scorer shall not charge a fielder with an error if such fielder fields a ground ball cleanly but does not throw to first base in time to retire the
batter.

maven Mon Feb 25, 2013 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 881716)
E on you.

I know most of you ignore Rule 10 but it's there. And so is the answer.

10.12 (a) The official scorer shall charge an error against any fielder:
(1) whose misplay (fumble, muff or wild throw) prolongs the time at bat of a batter, prolongs the presence on the bases of a runner or permits a runner to advance one or more bases, unless, in the judgment of the official scorer, such fielder deliberately permits a foul fly to fall safe with a runner on third base before two are out in order that the runner on third shall not score after the catch;

Rule 10.12(a)(1) Comment: Slow handling of the ball that does not involve mechanical misplay shall not be construed as an error. For example, the official scorer shall not charge a fielder with an error if such fielder fields a ground ball cleanly but does not throw to first base in time to retire the
batter.

I'm no expert on Rule 10, but that doesn't seem to have anything to do with ruling the OP a hit or a FC.

bob jenkins Mon Feb 25, 2013 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 881747)
I'm no expert on Rule 10, but that doesn't seem to have anything to do with ruling the OP a hit or a FC.

I think he's mis-reading RPatrino's sarcasm and responding as if it were serious.

Rich Ives Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 881753)
I think he's mis-reading RPatrino's sarcasm and responding as if it were serious.

I got the sarcasm on the restriction and the pen. I didn't take the E6 part to be part of it.

RPatrino Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 881894)
I got the sarcasm on the restriction and the pen. I didn't take the E6 part to be part of it.

It's okay Rich, it was subtle...:p

Rich Ives Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPatrino (Post 881896)
It's okay Rich, it was subtle...:p

You may need to spend more time in the coaching world, especially at the 12U level, to understand some of my reactions.

I'd bet a substantial amount that there are people who would rack it up as an E6. I can hear it: "He had time to get the out and didn't. That's an error. If it wasn't why is the coach mad at him?"

Ever look at a scorebook kept by a LL Mom? 73.81% of them have every fair batted ball where the batter reached base shown as a hit.

:)

RPatrino Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:27am

Trust me, I have done my coaching time. Coached my son from 6 years old to 18 years old, through the LL program. I have seen many versions of score keeping!

CT1 Tue Feb 26, 2013 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rich ives (Post 881995)
ever look at a scorebook kept by a ll mom? 93.81% of them have every fair batted ball where the batter reached base shown as a hit.

:)

fify


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1