The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jul 11, 2003, 11:15am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to wobster
First off, I am relatively new to umpiring, only been doing it for 3 or so years. I do mostly little league at one diamond, but have done some 1/2 pint (10-13 years old, really good players for that age) games. My question is this. How certain do you have to be to over-rule your BU's call. There have been many where I thought the BU was wrong, and the stands exploded, but I wasn't totally sure he was wrong, so I let the call stand. I usually get some comments after the game that I should have over-ruled him, but I am 75 feet away and he is 5. I would have a hard time justifying it unless I was 100% sure.
Old Fri Jul 11, 2003, 11:28am
I drank what?

Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
You BETTER be 200% sure, without a doubt in your mind that s/he is wrong and you are correct. But you never overrule, you give your partner the information and let them decide what to do with it. Your parnter changes their own call.
Old Fri Jul 11, 2003, 11:30am
Official Forum Member

Loyalty. If he starts to do jumping jacks, I suggest you participate.
Old Fri Jul 11, 2003, 11:35am
Official Forum Member