The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   infield fly rule question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/91964-infield-fly-rule-question.html)

MRD Sun Jul 08, 2012 10:11am

the ONLY difference between an infield fly and a regular fly ball is that the batter is out

johnnyg08 Sun Jul 08, 2012 10:33am

And a key point that some umpires forget to understand is that once the batter is declared out on an infield fly, all plays on the bases are tag plays. Once the batter is out, all force outs are removed.

Steven Tyler Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MRD (Post 848398)
the ONLY difference between an infield fly and a regular fly ball is that the batter is out

You forgot to mention there should at least be runners at 1B & 2B, and less than two outs.

Runners advance at their own risk.

mbyron Sun Jul 08, 2012 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MRD (Post 848398)
the ONLY difference between an infield fly and a regular fly ball is that the batter is out

Not quite true. 7.08f

tankmjg24 Sun Jul 08, 2012 02:07pm

I was umpiring a youth game recently (U11) and the coach for the defensive team was not only an umpire, but a board member and the assignor for his association. (Later was told over 30 years experience)

0 outs with R1 and R2. Fly ball hit between F5 and F6 and both start to merge to it. F6 is camped under it as my partner and I are signalling infield fly. At the last second F5 reaches over to catch the ball as is F6. Ball ends up dropping to the ground.

3rd base coach rightfully starts yelling to his players to stay put that it was an infield fly. R2 listens, but R1 does not and we end up having both standing on 2nd base. F5 picks up the baseball, tags third, then throws to F4 at second. F4 tags R2 who is on the base (so we have a safe call) and R1 starts running back to 1st. F4 then starts to chase R1 back to 1st and we have a run down. R1 is eventually called out heading into 1st for being out of the basepath.

3rd base coach calls timeout and I think he is going to argue runner out of the basepath but he just wants an explanation as the defense is yelling they just turned a triple play. I explain it to him, he says ok, then I have the defense come out. This is when our fellow umpire friend royally screws the pooch. He wants a triple play called as according to him the first out is the infield fly, the second out was the force at 3rd, then the 3rd out was the out of the basepath at 1st. Tried to explain it to him, but he was adamant that he was right. Then he becomes personal and can not figure out why he was ejected haha. Just goes to show you that some doing our profession do not know all they think they do.

rcaverly Sun Jul 08, 2012 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 848338)
…the communication between the umpires was HORIBLE …the infield fly was called

I don’t agree that the issue you make is “HORIBLE” umpire communications. A “No catch!” by the appropriate umpire would have been nice, but it is not required. The problem is that U2 called out an unforced runner without a tag.

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 848338)
Said runner gets up…thinking...

There may be no worse nightmare for a base coach.

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 848338)
Because the umpires failed to communicate properly said team lost A CHANCE to tie the game with the next batter

More correctly, because said runner no longer was in contact with his acquired base and was tagged with a live ball, “…said team lost A CHANCE to tie the game with the next batter.”

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 848338)
…we are being penalized because YOU(The umpires) screwed up.

We, too, are often wronged because YOU (the announcers) screw up.

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 848338)
I was broadcasting this game and took me until the drive home to figure out the very very basics of what happened.

I’ll hazard a guess that the umpires had it figured out sooner than that.

SanDiegoSteve Sun Jul 08, 2012 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 848395)
It wasn't the terminology he got wrong. It was the requirement. Significant difference.

YOU may know, or think you know, what he meant, but the lurkers will just see the wrong requirement. Not good.

You've been turing into a real something-or-other lately - feeling OK?

Yeah, I've been defending you on the boards for your vast knowledge of the rules, giving you many compliments, etc. I'm really turning into a something or other. Oh, I'm feeling pretty good considering I just had heart surgery last month.

mbyron Sun Jul 08, 2012 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tankmjg24 (Post 848413)
He wants a triple play called as according to him the first out is the infield fly, the second out was the force at 3rd, then the 3rd out was the out of the basepath at 1st. Tried to explain it to him, but he was adamant that he was right.

"Coach, how can R2 be forced if the BR is out on the IFF?"

Sounds like 1 year's experience 30 times to me.

MRD Sun Jul 08, 2012 04:36pm

you are correct. forgot about that

JJ Sun Jul 08, 2012 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 848417)
Yeah, I've been defending you on the boards for your vast knowledge of the rules, giving you many compliments, etc. I'm really turning into a something or other. Oh, I'm feeling pretty good considering I just had heart surgery last month.

Wasn't a transplant from a coach, was it? :rolleyes: :D

JJ

paulsonj72 Sun Jul 08, 2012 10:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rcaverly (Post 848416)
I don’t agree that the issue you make is “HORIBLE” umpire communications. A “No catch!” by the appropriate umpire would have been nice, but it is not required. The problem is that U2 called out an unforced runner without a tag.



There may be no worse nightmare for a base coach.



More correctly, because said runner no longer was in contact with his acquired base and was tagged with a live ball, “…said team lost A CHANCE to tie the game with the next batter.”



We, too, are often wronged because YOU (the announcers) screw up.



I’ll hazard a guess that the umpires had it figured out sooner than that.

The arguement was by the coach. I pulled my OBR book(always carried one) and tried to figure out what in the blazes was going on.

SanDiegoSteve Mon Jul 09, 2012 01:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JJ (Post 848441)
Wasn't a transplant from a coach, was it? :rolleyes: :D

JJ

HA! No, my body would have rejected it!:D

It was merely an aortic valve replacement. Now I have to get a pacemaker this week. The fun never ends. Once I recover from this, I should be back on the field by the September adult ball season.

celebur Mon Jul 09, 2012 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 848395)
Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 848354)
But if I correct someone's terminology, you tell me that I knew what they meant and to shut up. Can't have it both ways.

It wasn't the terminology he got wrong. It was the requirement. Significant difference.

YOU may know, or think you know, what he meant, but the lurkers will just see the wrong requirement. Not good.

Rich, it seems to me that you misread nopachunts' post:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 848337)
Quote:

Originally Posted by nopachunts (Post 848308)
Just like any other fly ball that may or not be caught. If fly ball is caught, the runner(s) can advance at their own risk after the ball is touched and the runner(s) has tagged the base at TOP. If the fly ball is not caught, the runner(s) may advance at any time at their own risk.

No No! The tag-up must be at (or after) the time the ball is touched by the fuielder.

The phrase you highlighted needs to be read together with the part before it, especially, "the runner(s) can advance at their own risk after the ball is touched." No, it wasn't absolutely clear, but I'm pretty sure CT1 had it right:

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 848343)
I'm sure he meant "tagged the base occupied at TOP."


nopachunts Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:22pm

To RI and CT1,
I did mean the base occupied at TOP and the base tagged after the IFF is touched. My bad for not making myself more clear.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1