The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Improper Scorecard (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/91953-improper-scorecard.html)

jdmara Thu Jul 05, 2012 03:59pm

Improper Scorecard
 
FED; At the beginning of the game, Abel is batting in the 8th position in the line-up and Baker is batting in the 4th. During the game (sometime within the first 3 innings) Cain replaces Abel in the 8th spot. Subsequently, Abel replaces Baker in the 8th spot. (Yes, I know this is not allowed). In the bottom of the 4th inning both Abel and Cain play on defense.

Between the bot 4/top 5, the PU becomes away of the snafu. How does one correct the issue?

-Josh

CT1 Thu Jul 05, 2012 05:58pm

Cain is an illegal sub, since he's already been in & out once. Abel must bat in the 8th spot. Whoever takes Cain's place on defense must bat in the 4th spot. If that's not Baker, Baker has been replaced once & can reenter.

DG Thu Jul 05, 2012 07:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 848230)
FED; At the beginning of the game, Abel is batting in the 8th position in the line-up and Baker is batting in the 4th. During the game (sometime within the first 3 innings) Cain replaces Abel in the 8th spot. Subsequently, Abel replaces Baker in the 8th spot. (Yes, I know this is not allowed). In the bottom of the 4th inning both Abel and Cain play on defense.

Between the bot 4/top 5, the PU becomes away of the snafu. How does one correct the issue?

4 Baker
8 Abel

Next we have

4 Baker
8 Cain replaces Abel

Next we have

4 Baker
8 Abel replaces Baker

Next we have

Abel and Cain playing defense

Cain was a sub and somewhere along the line he left the batting order/game, so he can't play defense, he is ejected.

Abel was a starter and is re-entering in same batting order he left from.

Need more info to deal with Baker, if he batted 4th and 8th, I am confused, and shame on both benches scorekeepers...

jicecone Thu Jul 05, 2012 08:40pm

I just couldn't resist:

How does one correct the issue?

You let Cain and Abel duke it out, and if history prevails, Cain will win the fight and Abel will the be out of the game.

The two haven't got along for YEARS.

David B Fri Jul 06, 2012 08:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 848243)
I just couldn't resist:

How does one correct the issue?

You let Cain and Abel duke it out, and if history prevails, Cain will win the fight and Abel will the be out of the game.

The two haven't got along for YEARS.

LOL - that's funny!

Thanks
David

jdmara Fri Jul 06, 2012 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 848243)
I just couldn't resist:

How does one correct the issue?

You let Cain and Abel duke it out, and if history prevails, Cain will win the fight and Abel will the be out of the game.

The two haven't got along for YEARS.

That's great! Thanks for the laugh

-Josh

jdmara Fri Jul 06, 2012 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CT1 (Post 848234)
Cain is an illegal sub, since he's already been in & out once. Abel must bat in the 8th spot. Whoever takes Cain's place on defense must bat in the 4th spot. If that's not Baker, Baker has been replaced once & can reenter.

First of all, I hope that my partner learned an important lesson about keeping a proper line-up card. But anyways...

Since it was between innings, Cain was not currently violating the illegal substitution rule (he wasn't currently out in the field nor at bat). Since we had an improper card, it had to be fixed. Abel was moved to the 8th spot and Baker (by team choice) was reentered into the 4th spot.

Any other thoughts? I think we did what we could with the situation. This situation was actually much more messy but I don't think I want to get into it at this point.

-Josh

ozzy6900 Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 848266)
First of all, I hope that my partner learned an important lesson about keeping a proper line-up card. But anyways...

Since it was between innings, Cain was not currently violating the illegal substitution rule (he wasn't currently out in the field nor at bat). Since we had an improper card, it had to be fixed. Abel was moved to the 8th spot and Baker (by team choice) was reentered into the 4th spot.

Any other thoughts? I think we did what we could with the situation. This situation was actually much more messy but I don't think I want to get into it at this point.

-Josh

Just curious.... were any of the changes reported to the PU or did these things just happen? The reason I ask is because the lineup card is the official document, not a scorekeeper's book.

CT1 Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 848266)
Since it was between innings, Cain was not currently violating the illegal substitution rule (he wasn't currently out in the field nor at bat).

All players must be in the batting order somewhere. Cain must be placed in the order retroactive to the bottom of the 4th, thus making him an illegal substitute.

I believe you made the best of a bad situation.

jdmara Fri Jul 06, 2012 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 848273)
Just curious.... were any of the changes reported to the PU or did these things just happen? The reason I ask is because the lineup card is the official document, not a scorekeeper's book.

The changes were reported to the PU and put into the scorecard.

What brought this up to the surface was that the opposing team let the PU know that they were going to appeal a BOO when Abel got up to bat (who was in the on-deck circle following the batter in the third spot). Once the PU realized he had an improper card, he had to go talk with the coach to fix it. In my opinion, once he knows he has an improper card, it has to be fixed.

-Josh

ozzy6900 Sat Jul 07, 2012 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 848309)
The changes were reported to the PU and put into the scorecard.

What brought this up to the surface was that the opposing team let the PU know that they were going to appeal a BOO when Abel got up to bat (who was in the on-deck circle following the batter in the third spot). Once the PU realized he had an improper card, he had to go talk with the coach to fix it. In my opinion, once he knows he has an improper card, it has to be fixed.

-Josh

Well, my point is, if the changes are being reported and recorded by the PU, there shouldn't be an improper scorecard. From the sound of it, your partner wasn't recording the changes and that lead to the situation.

jdmara Mon Jul 09, 2012 07:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 848363)
Well, my point is, if the changes are being reported and recorded by the PU, there shouldn't be an improper scorecard. From the sound of it, your partner wasn't recording the changes and that lead to the situation.

Actually my partner was recording the changes, just not properly ;)

He doesn't mark off substitutes on the sub list, like I've been taught to do but he was recording all the subs on line-up. It was a major blunder

-Josh

ozzy6900 Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 848496)
Actually my partner was recording the changes, just not properly ;)

He doesn't mark off substitutes on the sub list, like I've been taught to do but he was recording all the subs on line-up. It was a major blunder

-Josh

Now I understand.... I hope you gave him a quick lesson on how to handle a lineup card.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1