The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Fair/Foul down 1B line (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/91907-fair-foul-down-1b-line.html)

rbmartin Mon Jul 02, 2012 06:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus (Post 847987)
Coach here with an add-on question - if the BU is in B or C, does the PU then have all fair/foul calls down the 1st base line (i.e., past the pane of glass at 1B)?

In a 2 man system, the only time the field umpire ever has the primary fair/foul call is when he is at "A" position and a ball is hit or passes between first base and the right field foul pole. Everything else basically belongs to HP.

DG Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:01pm

I can not remember the last field I worked on that did not have lines down the lines, some may have not been refreshed lately, but there was a line to see.

Matt Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 848022)
In a 2 man system, the only time the field umpire ever has the primary fair/foul call is when he is at "A" position and a ball is hit or passes between first base and the right field foul pole. Everything else basically belongs to HP.

Just delete this post.

I know what you are trying to say, but a new umpire will read it entirely the opposite of what should be.

nafxos Tue Jul 03, 2012 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 848022)
In a 2 man system, the only time the field umpire ever has the primary fair/foul call is when he is at "A" position and a ball is hit or passes between first base and the right field foul pole. Everything else basically belongs to HP.

If I'm reading this right, that contradicts what I learned the other night, and what most people here are saying. The ball in the original post never passed between 1B and the RF foul pole. It hit foul halfway between home and first, and remained foul as it passed first base. But it was the BU's call.

tcarilli Tue Jul 03, 2012 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by nafxos (Post 848040)
If I'm reading this right, that contradicts what I learned the other night, and what most people here are saying. The ball in the original post never passed between 1B and the RF foul pole. It hit foul halfway between home and first, and remained foul as it passed first base. But it was the BU's call.

If the ball does not come to rest or is not touched in can not be foul until it touches or passes first base, therefore the fair/foul belongs to U1 in A position. So a bounding ball that goes beyond first base can not first go foul before the base.

rbmartin Tue Jul 03, 2012 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by nafxos (Post 848040)
If I'm reading this right, that contradicts what I learned the other night, and what most people here are saying. The ball in the original post never passed between 1B and the RF foul pole. It hit foul halfway between home and first, and remained foul as it passed first base. But it was the BU's call.

If it made it to or past 1st base fair or foul (i.e. travelled at least 90 feet from home plate down right field line) and you had an umpire at "A" position, it WAS his call. If it did not make it to 1st base, it was HP's call.

rbmartin Tue Jul 03, 2012 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 848042)
So a bounding ball that goes beyond first base can not first go foul before the base.

Be careful, not necessarily true.

The Twins’ Brian Dozier Defied Physics With The Craziest RBI Single We’ve Ever Seen | SportsGrid

johnnyg08 Tue Jul 03, 2012 09:01am

PU has fair foul up to the base. Don't over think it.

rbmartin Tue Jul 03, 2012 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 848045)
pu has fair foul up to the base. Don't over think it.

+1

tcarilli Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 848044)

It is exactly true. That ball is never a foul ball. It is in foul territory, but it is not a foul ball.

Rufus Tue Jul 03, 2012 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 847999)
Well it's either PU or your base coach, coach!

Ok, under the heading of "If you think there are no stupid questions, just wait until a coach asks one!" I'll take that one squarely on the chin! Of course it makes sense that such calls would belong to the PU, but I sometimes find what makes sense and what actually is in terms of rules/mechanics have a remarkable amount of distance between them, hence the post.

Oh, and I've offered to make calls for the crews working my games in the past and strangely enough they're not too receptive! Not sure why as they'd have to do less work and still get paid. Maybe I'll just keep trying... ;)

nafxos Tue Jul 03, 2012 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 848045)
PU has fair foul up to the base. Don't over think it.

Fair enough. :)

I think my problem is that I UNDER-thought it my first year as an umpire, and assumed that "up to the base" meant that if the ball hit foul before 1B it would be the PU's call when the ball eventually passed the base.

And since nobody corrected me until the other night, I'm guessing a lot of other umpires are thinking the same way.

MrUmpire Tue Jul 03, 2012 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 848045)
PU has fair foul up to the base. Don't over think it.

That makes it sound like PU has the base. He does not. I prefer Evans' "base and beyond: base umpire"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1