The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Fair/Foul down 1B line (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/91907-fair-foul-down-1b-line.html)

nafxos Sun Jul 01, 2012 09:29pm

Fair/Foul down 1B line
 
I was the PU for a Junior Legion game tonight and had a 2-man mechanics question come up on a seemingly routine play. Nobody on base and batter pulls a ball down the 1B line. Ball hits in foul territory about halfway to first base and continues past 1B about 1 or 2 feet foul. I raise both arms and call "foul". Before the next pitch, my partner working in A position catches my eye and taps himself in the chest, signalling that was his call, not mine.

I talked to him between innings and said I thought that was my call because it went foul before reaching first. He agreed that the PU has fair/foul responsibiliy "up to" first base, but his reasoning was that since the ball isn't foul until it passes the base, it's his call. I'm in my 2nd year and he was a veteran guy, so I said "fine" and let it go. And it didn't come up again the rest of the game.

Is he correct? If so, it seems the PU should only make fair/foul calls on the first base line with nobody on base if the ball comes to a complete stop before reaching first or a fielder touches it before it reaches first. Everything else would belong to the BU. Is that how people here do it?

mbyron Sun Jul 01, 2012 09:37pm

Your partner was right, and you've drawn the correct inference. The ball can also become foul if it touches something other than a fielder or leaves the field.

Rita C Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by nafxos (Post 847936)
I was the PU for a Junior Legion game tonight and had a 2-man mechanics question come up on a seemingly routine play. Nobody on base and batter pulls a ball down the 1B line. Ball hits in foul territory about halfway to first base and continues past 1B about 1 or 2 feet foul. I raise both arms and call "foul". Before the next pitch, my partner working in A position catches my eye and taps himself in the chest, signalling that was his call, not mine.

I talked to him between innings and said I thought that was my call because it went foul before reaching first. He agreed that the PU has fair/foul responsibiliy "up to" first base, but his reasoning was that since the ball isn't foul until it passes the base, it's his call. I'm in my 2nd year and he was a veteran guy, so I said "fine" and let it go. And it didn't come up again the rest of the game.

Is he correct? If so, it seems the PU should only make fair/foul calls on the first base line with nobody on base if the ball comes to a complete stop before reaching first or a fielder touches it before it reaches first. Everything else would belong to the BU. Is that how people here do it?

'

Some people use the image of the "pane of glass" at the front of the bag. It's PU's call to the pane of glass and BU's call after.

Rita

rbmartin Mon Jul 02, 2012 05:04am

If he's at "A" position, it's his call....unless you called it foul (correctly or incorrectly) before it got to first base, then its your call (and you've got some 'splaining to do Lucy).

nafxos Mon Jul 02, 2012 06:46am

Thanks guys. After listening to my partner's explanation last night, I totally get it. I'm just surprised this never came up with any other partners before last night. I'm pretty sure I've called similar balls foul as PU before, and pretty sure I've watched my partners call them foul when I was in A, and it never "felt" like either one of us was stepping on the other's call.

One other question. I worked with one partner this year who wanted the PU to take all fair/foul calls all the time. This eliminated any confusion re: whose call it was in the situation above, and allowed the BU to focus on the runner touching first on a ball into the OF down the 1B line. The only exception would be a "trouble" ball where the BU went into the OF.

Anybody else do it that way? Or see any potential problems (assuming both umpires are on the same page during pre-game)?

johnnyg08 Mon Jul 02, 2012 06:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by nafxos (Post 847952)
One other question. I worked with one partner this year who wanted the PU to take all fair/foul calls all the time. This eliminated any confusion re: whose call it was in the situation above, and allowed the BU to focus on the runner touching first on a ball into the OF down the 1B line. The only exception would be a "trouble" ball where the BU went into the OF.

Anybody else do it that way? Or see any potential problems (assuming both umpires are on the same page during pre-game)?

Proper mechanics and clearly defined responsibilities eliminate confusion.

RPatrino Mon Jul 02, 2012 07:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by nafxos (Post 847952)
Thanks guys. After listening to my partner's explanation last night, I totally get it. I'm just surprised this never came up with any other partners before last night. I'm pretty sure I've called similar balls foul as PU before, and pretty sure I've watched my partners call them foul when I was in A, and it never "felt" like either one of us was stepping on the other's call.

One other question. I worked with one partner this year who wanted the PU to take all fair/foul calls all the time. This eliminated any confusion re: whose call it was in the situation above, and allowed the BU to focus on the runner touching first on a ball into the OF down the 1B line. The only exception would be a "trouble" ball where the BU went into the OF.

Anybody else do it that way? Or see any potential problems (assuming both umpires are on the same page during pre-game)?

Common practice is for the BU in "A" to take all fair/foul hit past the 1b line. Now, on some fields with no chalk lines past the bag foul balls can be troublesome, and in some cases the PU will take all foul balls down both lines, but I don't recommend it.

A ball hit toward the line, down right field with the fielder coming toward the line and the ball possibly going into the RF corner IS a trouble ball, and the BU would have a much better angle on any calls on this ball. This is why I don't recommend having the PU take all fair/foul calls on the 90 foot field.

JR12 Mon Jul 02, 2012 07:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by nafxos (Post 847952)
Thanks guys. After listening to my partner's explanation last night, I totally get it. I'm just surprised this never came up with any other partners before last night. I'm pretty sure I've called similar balls foul as PU before, and pretty sure I've watched my partners call them foul when I was in A, and it never "felt" like either one of us was stepping on the other's call.

One other question. I worked with one partner this year who wanted the PU to take all fair/foul calls all the time. This eliminated any confusion re: whose call it was in the situation above, and allowed the BU to focus on the runner touching first on a ball into the OF down the 1B line. The only exception would be a "trouble" ball where the BU went into the OF.

Anybody else do it that way? Or see any potential problems (assuming both umpires are on the same page during pre-game)?

the only time I di that is when there is no RF line. It's easier for HPU because he has the bag and pole to line up an imaginary line.

mbyron Mon Jul 02, 2012 08:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPatrino (Post 847954)
A ball hit toward the line, down right field with the fielder coming toward the line and the ball possibly going into the RF corner IS a trouble ball, and the BU would have a much better angle on any calls on this ball. This is why I don't recommend having the PU take all fair/foul calls on the 90 foot field.

Another reason not to give PU "all" fair/foul calls: the bounding ball near/over first base. PU is too far and often too slow to get eyeballs on that.

jicecone Mon Jul 02, 2012 08:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by nafxos (Post 847952)
Thanks guys. After listening to my partner's explanation last night, I totally get it. I'm just surprised this never came up with any other partners before last night. I'm pretty sure I've called similar balls foul as PU before, and pretty sure I've watched my partners call them foul when I was in A, and it never "felt" like either one of us was stepping on the other's call.

One other question. I worked with one partner this year who wanted the PU to take all fair/foul calls all the time. This eliminated any confusion re: whose call it was in the situation above, and allowed the BU to focus on the runner touching first on a ball into the OF down the 1B line. The only exception would be a "trouble" ball where the BU went into the OF.

Anybody else do it that way? Or see any potential problems (assuming both umpires are on the same page during pre-game)?

I agree with no OF Foul lines it is easier for the PU to line the base up with a point in the OF. Thats the importance of pre-game. but sometimes you just never know.

Had a men's league game yesterday morning (over 40), just money ball. Worked with a partner for first time and tried to go over pre-game but he had over 30 years experience and said it wasn't necessary. OK Batted ball down fist base line stops on line after roll. Fair ball? No he decided to call it foul as soon as it left the bat? R1 advances to second on foul tip. He says it is a foul ball? Ok, I'm not going to try an teach an experienced official that knows it all, lets move on. Sometimes you just have to umpire, even while rolling your eyes.

mbyron Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:53am

This weekend I was working BU on a field with no foul lines in the OF, and my partner and I had pre-gamed that he would take fly balls near the line to RF when I'm in A.

But I went out on a long shot down the line which had a chance to get out. It ended up hitting the fence 2 feet fair, which was easy enough to see. I'm glad it was that deep, though, since if it had hit the ground it could have been tough to read.

Rufus Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:12pm

Coach here with an add-on question - if the BU is in B or C, does the PU then have all fair/foul calls down the 1st base line (i.e., past the pane of glass at 1B)?

mbyron Mon Jul 02, 2012 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus (Post 847987)
Coach here with an add-on question - if the BU is in B or C, does the PU then have all fair/foul calls down the 1st base line (i.e., past the pane of glass at 1B)?

Well it's either PU or your base coach, coach!

Rich Mon Jul 02, 2012 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 847968)
This weekend I was working BU on a field with no foul lines in the OF, and my partner and I had pre-gamed that he would take fly balls near the line to RF when I'm in A.

But I went out on a long shot down the line which had a chance to get out. It ended up hitting the fence 2 feet fair, which was easy enough to see. I'm glad it was that deep, though, since if it had hit the ground it could have been tough to read.

I've had partners suggest that. My thinking is that my call, whatever it is, is going to have to be good enough. If there's no line, I'm still going out and giving it my best guess.

JR12 Mon Jul 02, 2012 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 847999)
well it's either pu or your base coach, coach!

lol...

rbmartin Mon Jul 02, 2012 06:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus (Post 847987)
Coach here with an add-on question - if the BU is in B or C, does the PU then have all fair/foul calls down the 1st base line (i.e., past the pane of glass at 1B)?

In a 2 man system, the only time the field umpire ever has the primary fair/foul call is when he is at "A" position and a ball is hit or passes between first base and the right field foul pole. Everything else basically belongs to HP.

DG Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:01pm

I can not remember the last field I worked on that did not have lines down the lines, some may have not been refreshed lately, but there was a line to see.

Matt Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 848022)
In a 2 man system, the only time the field umpire ever has the primary fair/foul call is when he is at "A" position and a ball is hit or passes between first base and the right field foul pole. Everything else basically belongs to HP.

Just delete this post.

I know what you are trying to say, but a new umpire will read it entirely the opposite of what should be.

nafxos Tue Jul 03, 2012 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 848022)
In a 2 man system, the only time the field umpire ever has the primary fair/foul call is when he is at "A" position and a ball is hit or passes between first base and the right field foul pole. Everything else basically belongs to HP.

If I'm reading this right, that contradicts what I learned the other night, and what most people here are saying. The ball in the original post never passed between 1B and the RF foul pole. It hit foul halfway between home and first, and remained foul as it passed first base. But it was the BU's call.

tcarilli Tue Jul 03, 2012 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by nafxos (Post 848040)
If I'm reading this right, that contradicts what I learned the other night, and what most people here are saying. The ball in the original post never passed between 1B and the RF foul pole. It hit foul halfway between home and first, and remained foul as it passed first base. But it was the BU's call.

If the ball does not come to rest or is not touched in can not be foul until it touches or passes first base, therefore the fair/foul belongs to U1 in A position. So a bounding ball that goes beyond first base can not first go foul before the base.

rbmartin Tue Jul 03, 2012 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by nafxos (Post 848040)
If I'm reading this right, that contradicts what I learned the other night, and what most people here are saying. The ball in the original post never passed between 1B and the RF foul pole. It hit foul halfway between home and first, and remained foul as it passed first base. But it was the BU's call.

If it made it to or past 1st base fair or foul (i.e. travelled at least 90 feet from home plate down right field line) and you had an umpire at "A" position, it WAS his call. If it did not make it to 1st base, it was HP's call.

rbmartin Tue Jul 03, 2012 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcarilli (Post 848042)
So a bounding ball that goes beyond first base can not first go foul before the base.

Be careful, not necessarily true.

The Twins’ Brian Dozier Defied Physics With The Craziest RBI Single We’ve Ever Seen | SportsGrid

johnnyg08 Tue Jul 03, 2012 09:01am

PU has fair foul up to the base. Don't over think it.

rbmartin Tue Jul 03, 2012 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 848045)
pu has fair foul up to the base. Don't over think it.

+1

tcarilli Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 848044)

It is exactly true. That ball is never a foul ball. It is in foul territory, but it is not a foul ball.

Rufus Tue Jul 03, 2012 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 847999)
Well it's either PU or your base coach, coach!

Ok, under the heading of "If you think there are no stupid questions, just wait until a coach asks one!" I'll take that one squarely on the chin! Of course it makes sense that such calls would belong to the PU, but I sometimes find what makes sense and what actually is in terms of rules/mechanics have a remarkable amount of distance between them, hence the post.

Oh, and I've offered to make calls for the crews working my games in the past and strangely enough they're not too receptive! Not sure why as they'd have to do less work and still get paid. Maybe I'll just keep trying... ;)

nafxos Tue Jul 03, 2012 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 848045)
PU has fair foul up to the base. Don't over think it.

Fair enough. :)

I think my problem is that I UNDER-thought it my first year as an umpire, and assumed that "up to the base" meant that if the ball hit foul before 1B it would be the PU's call when the ball eventually passed the base.

And since nobody corrected me until the other night, I'm guessing a lot of other umpires are thinking the same way.

MrUmpire Tue Jul 03, 2012 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 848045)
PU has fair foul up to the base. Don't over think it.

That makes it sound like PU has the base. He does not. I prefer Evans' "base and beyond: base umpire"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1