![]() |
Coach impedes his runner - out
Had to be there or see the video but interesting that it wasn't called right away:
Carroll takes final game in thrilling fashion to advance Corpus Christi Caller-Times Apparently he was windmilling the runner home while looking at the ball and other runners. His runner runs into him and gets up and still makes it home. F5 says something about his throw being obstructed so what was called may not be what the paper is reporting. I'll look for video. |
That news story had to be the most convoluted mess of facts I have ever read. Clearly they have obstruction and interference confused. This is a YHTBT situation for sure, but based on the description of the play a call of coach assistance might be justified. The coach didn't assist, he actually hindered.
|
Quote:
"Huebner was focused on the plate. Gesell, well out of the coaches' box, was locked in on the other two runners on base and stepped into Huebner's path. Huebner bowled over Gesell and fell to the Whataburger Field turf. Huebner got up and scrambled home with the apparent tying run as the relay throw went past the catcher. But, after an umpire's conference, and at the urging of Yeager, who kept pumping his right fist to signify an out, Huebner was ruled out on obstruction." It sounds like a train wreck, with the runner getting up on his own volition and advancing to HP. It also seems as though the umpire was pressured by this Yeager person into changing his call. |
Can't find any video but in searching I found some video from the first of the DH. Whats interesting is at 22 seconds the team that benefited from the call in the next game has a coach doing the same thing and probably had contact with his runner but no collision. I'm guessing that if there was a collision maybe the coach helped his runner up and then you have INT.
Saturday Baseball and Softball Playoffs - Part 2 |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Don't see how they could call interference since he didn't help the runner at all. Now if he had pushed him, or did anything else to help, you could make the call. And then to let a coach talk you into a call, that's poor. Umpire must have been in over his head. Thanks David |
Quote:
PU was probably watching the play instead of watching his runners :roll eyes: Thanks David |
4 man crew (split crew 2 from San Antonio, 2 from Corpus Christi). Corpus Christi had the plate. Umpire at 3 rd went out and didn't see the collision at 3rd.
|
I am totally confused:
Huebner was focused on the plate. Gesell, well out of the coaches' box, was locked in on the other two runners on base and stepped into Huebner's path. Huebner bowled over Gesell and fell to the Whataburger Field turf. Huebner got up and scrambled home with the apparent tying run as the relay throw went past the catcher.So, the 3rd base coach got tangled with his runner and they both go down. The runner gets up and makes it to the plate as the relay to F2 is overthrown. If I have this right, where is there either interference or obstruction? If they both went down and the coach did nothing to assist the runner getting up, how can there be interference? It doesn't seem that the throw was interfered with in any way and no defensive player prevented the runner from advancing, so why was this not ruled a collision? Please someone explain what the hell went on here!!!! |
"I got the relay and looked up to throw, and there was someone standing right in my way," Cruz said. "I was like, whoa, why was he in front of me? I guessed he fell. I've got to move around and make a throw."
Sounds like the coach, who was out of the box, interfered with the throw home as he was getting up. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If the coach interfered with the play and the umps saw it that way, then they made the correct call. Even the off coach said it was the right call, but wtf does he know. Maybe he knew he interfered with the throw and why he claimed responsibility. I kind of understand the discussion here, but I haven't seen anyone state the fact that F5 states the coach was in his way on the relay throw home. IMO that is what's relative here. Am I wrong? And since when do announcers and reporters have a F'ing clue on what theyre talking about:confused: JMTC |
Coach interference - Judgement - not automatic. Hint of an intent requirement but not actually stated.
3.15 PLAY: Batter hits ball to shortstop, who fields ball but throws wild past first baseman. The coach at first base, to avoid being hit by the ball, falls to the ground and the first baseman on his way to retrieve the wild thrown ball, runs into the coach. The batter-runner finally ends up on third base. Whether the umpire should call interference on the part of the coach is up to the judgment of the umpire and if the umpire felt that the coach did all he could to avoid interfering with the play, no interference need be called. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the coach was attempting to make it appear that he was trying not to interfere, the umpire should rule interference. |
Quote:
I hope not because, IMO it's nowhere near the same situation. Am I missing something? |
Quote:
A negligence provision requires the coach to do "all he could to avoid interfering with the play." It's not sufficient, as the ruling goes on to say, to give the appearance of doing all one can (and maybe that's the hint of intent you're picking up on), nor is it sufficient to do nothing and just stand there (as a batter may sometimes do in the batter's box). |
So we may have this:
"Rule: 3-2-3 ART. 3 . . . No offensive team personnel, other than the base coach, shall be near a base for which a runner is trying so that a fielder may be confused; nor be on or near the baseline in such a way as to draw a throw; nor shall the base coach or members of the team at bat fail to vacate any area needed by a fielder in his attempt to put out a batter or runner. If a thrown live ball unintentionally touches a base coach in foul territory, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is live and in play. If the coach is judged by the umpire to have interfered intentionally with the thrown ball, or interferes in fair territory, the interference penalty is invoked. PENALTY: The ball is dead immediately and the runner is out. The batter-runner or runner may be out as in 7-4-1f and 8-4-2g. Other runners return as in 8-2-8. " While interference with a thrown ball requires intent, interference with a fielder trying to put out a runner does not. Maybe the coach not only did not vacate the area, he put himself in it. Or he interfered in fair territory. Just guessing about what really happened. |
Quote:
What some here seem to be hanging hat on is that any contact between coach and runner is interference. Not so. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31am. |