The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 24, 2003, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7
I am relatively new at trying to keep stats for my softball team. The situation I have is this: With a guy on first, the batter hits an infield grounder. Infield chooses to throw to 2nd base to get the force. This, I believe, would be considered a fielder's choice, so the batter does not get the base hit, but he still gets on base. So, let's say for the game he goes 2-3 with two base hits and the fielder's choice hit. How does the fielder's choice at-bat count toward his OBP? According the the formulas I have seen to calculate the OBP, his OBP and AVG would be the same (.667), yet he was 'on base' all three times, which should make his OBP higher than his AVG. Can anyone explain this to me?

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1