The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jun 24, 2003, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member

I am relatively new at trying to keep stats for my softball team. The situation I have is this: With a guy on first, the batter hits an infield grounder. Infield chooses to throw to 2nd base to get the force. This, I believe, would be considered a fielder's choice, so the batter does not get the base hit, but he still gets on base. So, let's say for the game he goes 2-3 with two base hits and the fielder's choice hit. How does the fielder's choice at-bat count toward his OBP? According the the formulas I have seen to calculate the OBP, his OBP and AVG would be the same (.667), yet he was 'on base' all three times, which should make his OBP higher than his AVG. Can anyone explain this to me?

Thanks!!
Old Tue Jun 24, 2003, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by damion2275
Can anyone explain this to me?

Stats are arbitrary.

Old Tue Jun 24, 2003, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member

Stats are arbitrary

That I can understand. I was just wondering if there was an official way to look at that sitaution since it must come up a lot. Does MLB have a way of tracking that?
Old Tue Jun 24, 2003, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member

damion,

the correct formula for figuring OB% is:

hits+walks divided by At Bats+walks+sac flies.
*there are other variables, like hit by pitch, but that has no bearing in softball unless it it fast pitch.