The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 16, 2004, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Batter Touches Plate AFTER Hitting - Out??

Another very similar question...

What if the batter hits the ball into fair play then, while running to first, touches home plate with his/her foot? Is this an automatic out?

The reason I ask is that a teammate of mine was called out last night for this very reason. I'm a lefty batter so I've never had to cross home plate to get to first and never given this thought, but I really wonder about this call. I've played ball since the day I could walk and have never seen or heard of such a rule.

Anyone have a definitive answer? Maybe we just had a terrible umpire?

Thanks in advance. And by the way...we lost the game by one run.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1