The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2012, 10:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrumpiresir View Post
According to OBR, in the case of offensive interference, don't runners return to the last base legally touched at the time of the interference? Shouldn't the runner remain at third?
The base still belonged to R3 so it wasn't legally touched by R2.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 02, 2012, 11:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wa.
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
The base still belonged to R3 so it wasn't legally touched by R2.
R3's out, it's not his bag anymore.
Reserve that for when their both standing on a bag.
If the following runner got there before the INT I'd leave him.
Consider if he'd even rounded 3B, would you still send him back to 2nd?
__________________
SLAS
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 03, 2012, 01:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike View Post
R3's out, it's not his bag anymore.
Reserve that for when their both standing on a bag.
If the following runner got there before the INT I'd leave him.
Consider if he'd even rounded 3B, would you still send him back to 2nd?
Yes. At the time of the INT, R2 had not legally acquired 3rd base.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 03, 2012, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Au contraire, mon ami

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike View Post
R3's out, it's not his bag anymore.
Reserve that for when their both standing on a bag.
If the following runner got there before the INT I'd leave him.
Consider if he'd even rounded 3B, would you still send him back to 2nd?
Read 7.08 (b) notes !! The runner standing on third did not legally aquire 3rd, since he got there before the runner that "was" on 3rd before him had legally advanced to another base. The runner that moved from 2nd to 3rd did so as a result of the interference by R3 before R3 had advanced to home (so R3's last legally touched base was 3rd), thus R2 was not legally entitled to 3rd. The ball is dead and all runners return to their last LEGALLY touched base.
Hope this helps?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA exam answers ibby135 Softball 1 Mon Oct 06, 2008 09:25am
NFHS Part I Exam Answers???? sndevil99 Basketball 5 Thu Dec 14, 2006 11:08am
2006 Part II exam Test and Answers Rythem1007 Football 1 Wed Aug 30, 2006 08:09am
NCAA Refresher Exam Answers Jeff the Ref Basketball 0 Fri Oct 21, 2005 07:28am
IAABO 2004 Refresher Exam Answers Jeff the Ref Basketball 2 Wed Nov 17, 2004 01:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1