The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2012, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Rich,

Please understand, I am not saying I agree with this test, the way it was written is very poor indeed. In the OBA they only play 7 innings, so if the home team is ahead in the bottom of the 7th (AKA the last inning) the game is over at that point and there would be no need for the umpire to call the game due to darkness.

As for the plate, I also agree that there is not enough information, but since they do not state that the batters foot is "entirely" out of the batters box we must assume that his heel is still touching the chalk of the batters box and is not entirely out of the batters box, therfore this is legal. (There is no rule that says just because the batter touches the plate with his foot while making contact with the ball he should be out) The rule does however say that if the batters foot is entirely outside of the batters box then he or she is out.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 09, 2012, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpire64 View Post
Rich,

Please understand, I am not saying I agree with this test, the way it was written is very poor indeed. In the OBA they only play 7 innings, so if the home team is ahead in the bottom of the 7th (AKA the last inning) the game is over at that point and there would be no need for the umpire to call the game due to darkness.

As for the plate, I also agree that there is not enough information, but since they do not state that the batters foot is "entirely" out of the batters box we must assume that his heel is still touching the chalk of the batters box and is not entirely out of the batters box, therfore this is legal. (There is no rule that says just because the batter touches the plate with his foot while making contact with the ball he should be out) The rule does however say that if the batters foot is entirely outside of the batters box then he or she is out.
The game would automatically be over upon the scoring of run #3 so they could NOT score three runs EXCEPT if it was a HR in which case they all count. As the question said 3 runs scored it must be on a HR and they do count.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA exam answers ibby135 Softball 1 Mon Oct 06, 2008 09:25am
NFHS Part I Exam Answers???? sndevil99 Basketball 5 Thu Dec 14, 2006 11:08am
2006 Part II exam Test and Answers Rythem1007 Football 1 Wed Aug 30, 2006 08:09am
NCAA Refresher Exam Answers Jeff the Ref Basketball 0 Fri Oct 21, 2005 07:28am
IAABO 2004 Refresher Exam Answers Jeff the Ref Basketball 2 Wed Nov 17, 2004 01:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1