![]() |
Run up to tag up?
A fan asked me this. Apparently some mistake us broadcasters for rules experts. :rolleyes:
Runner on third, less than 2 out. Fly ball to right and the right fielder has a good arm. If the runner on third were to go a few steps toward second and get a running start to third, then tag third and head for home after the right fielder catches the ball, would that be legal? Instead of leaving from a dead stop, R3 would have momentum going and step on third just as RF catches the ball. I said I had no idea but would find out. What say you? |
No.
|
No - he cannot.
Per the Officia Baseball Rules used by pros and just about every youth organization in the country: 7.10 Any runner shall be called out, on appeal, when— (a) After a fly ball is caught, he fails to retouch his original base before he or his original base is tagged; Rule 7.10(a) Comment: “Retouch,” in this rule, means to tag up and start from a contact with the base after the ball is caught. A runner is not permitted to take a flying start from a position in back of his base. For High Schoool Rules: 8-4 ART. 2 . . . Any runner is out when he: o. positions himself behind a base to get a running start; |
The out for that is like passing a runner: live ball, defense can record other outs, right?
|
The was asked at a high school (FED) game, so I assume he meant for those rules, though I didn't specify in the original post.
Thanks, all! |
Quote:
It's a rare out that creates a dead ball. Interference is about the only one. |
Quote:
|
I've always thought that this was an appeal play. Looks like it's not in FED. Off to peruse the BRD for more info.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39pm. |