![]() |
R1 passes R2
OBR
Is this an immediate dead ball or delayed? And if there is an R3 does he go back? |
The runner who did the passing is out, the ball stays live ball, play on.
|
What Dash Said
|
Thanks!
|
This is a base running infraction, not a kind of INT. So there's no basis for killing it or returning runners.
|
play regarding runners passing one another...R3 in a run down between third and home. R2 runs to second and is standing on third when they chase R3 back to third. As he gets to the base he trips over the base and now R3 is on the outfield side of third base with R2 standing on third...question...has R2 now passed R3 who is considered an unobstructed runner?
Looking for some help and rule reference |
Quote:
That said, on the normally unused sides of the bases (OF side of 3B and/or dugout side of 3B, for example) is where you'll get the most argument on this rule. |
R2 hasn't passed anyone. He's standing on 3B.
|
Quote:
D is [one hopes] getting an out here: either R3 is getting tagged off the bag, or if they are both in contact, tag [the right] one [hint - tag 'em both and the umpire will indicate which was the right one] and get the out. Coach: stop whining for the cheap out on umpire action [to save you and your players from having to know what to do], and play ball and EARN it. The only two ways I am calling an out here for how R3 ran bases is if R3 runs himself straight-line closer to 2d than R2, then I've got a "passing" out: but even in that sitch, more likely I've got an out if R3 runs [not falls, runs] more than 3 feet from a direct line between 3d & home TO AVOID A TAG. IOW, if'n R3 "retreats" past 3dB more than 3' into the outfield getting away from a pickle, he's done/ out. |
Is there a clear cut definition of a pass?
Yeah, R2 maybe closer to second than R3, but he's also a lot closer to third (hell, he's standin' on it). So if he's closer to the nearest base, what say you now? I'm just sayin', what's the point of reference for a pass? Is it a straight line from the point of the plate, though the front edge of the leading runner? Or something different. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
So, can I use the perpendicular line through the third to home basepath? If so, R2 is out. R2 is standing on third, afterall. |
Quote:
|
Couldn't we get him for running the bases in reverse order:confused:
|
Quote:
|
It's a travesty, I tell ya, just a travesty!!!:rolleyes:
|
Quote:
|
So that means that the runner that trips and falls to the outfield side of third does have to "retouch" if he decides to get up and head for home.
If the retouch IS in effect, then R2 who is actually standing on 3rd, is out immediately after R3 trips and loses contact with the base. Haven't I read this somewhere before?:) |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57am. |