![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
SA, are you referring to OBR or Fed?
Publius, I respect the work Carl has put in over the years not only compiling these interpretations but also in keeping them current. I don't think it is a stretch to say that J/R had fallen out of favor lately. Add to the fact that the Wendelstedt school is but one of two where PBUC selects their candidates so I am quite comfortable in relying upon them for the latest interpretations.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
There is no rule that allows an appeal in this case.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
I thought this horse died on Friday.
This is absurd. Once the 3rd out of the inning is made, no other action by the offense matters. None. No other action by the defense matters except as described by the rulebook - which includes ONLY an appeal of a transgression done by the offense BEFORE that 3rd out was made. After the 3rd out - whether batter-runner eventually reaches first base or not is entirely immaterial. No 4th out is available here EXCEPT on an appeal. In fact, SA, if your logic holds any water, then even if BR DOES continue to first after the 3rd out is made, it does not matter - the play was over and BR was not at 1st when the 3rd out was made. THERE IS NO RULE that allows further play to be made regarding action that happens after the 3rd out --- to reiterate, the ONLY thing the defense can do is appeal regarding something that happened BEFORE that 3rd out was made.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
, but nobody confirmed or denied it.
|
|
|||
|
wobw.
|
|
|||
|
No, they can't. He had not committed an infraction.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
That said ... the batter's status at the moment the 3rd out was made is "not out" He has not been tagged and neither has 1st base.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The amount that he posts is directly proportional to the irrelevance of this board, which is a shame.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Many people gain greater understanding (not just knowledge) by parsing what's wrong than they do by blindly accepting what's right. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
OBR 4.09(a)(1) is what you meant to quote. However, there's one word you missed, and I'll highlight it for you: One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made by the batter-runner before he touches first base. Your third out wasn't by the batter-runner, it was by R2. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|