The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   NFHS Balk Rule. (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/89890-nfhs-balk-rule.html)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Mar 15, 2012 09:09am

NFHS Balk Rule.
 
Play: R1 on 3B, 0 outs; right-handed B2 is in the Batter's Box; right-handed F1 is pitching from the Stretch. F1 has come to the Set Position. F1 then starts his pitiching motion toward HP when B2 while keeping his right foot in the Batter's Box pivots to his left on his right foot causing his left foot to be planted outside the Batter's box toward the 3B Coaching Box as if to take further instructions from his 3B Coach. No one from the Offensive team has requested a Timeout and B1's movement causes F1 to stop his pitching motion.

I know that F1 has technically committed a Balk, but it seems to me that there is someplace in the Rules or Casebook that states that in this play Time is to be called immediately; no Balk is called; B1 is told not to do that again; F1 is told to always continue to pitch until Time is called; and we have a do over.

The problem is that I can't find the appropriate Rule or Casebook Play. I would appreciate any help. Thanks.

MTD, Sr.

nopachunts Thu Mar 15, 2012 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 832004)
Play: F1 on 3B, 0 outs; right-handed B2 is in the Batter's Box; right-handed F1 is pitching from the Stretch. F1 has come to the Set Position. F1 then starts his pitiching motion toward HP when B2 while keeping his right foot in the Batter's Box pivots to his left on his right foot causing his left foot to be planted outside the Batter's box toward the 3B Coaching Box as if to take further instructions from his 3B Coach. No one from the Offensive team has requested a Timeout and B1's movement causes F1 to stop his pitching motion.

I know that F1 has technically committed a Balk, but it seems to me that there is someplace in the Rules or Casebook that states that in this play Time is to be called immediately; no Balk is called; B1 is told not to do that again; F1 is told to always continue to pitch until Time is called; and we have a do over.

The problem is that I can't find the appropriate Rule or Casebook Play. I would appreciate any help. Thanks.

MTD, Sr.

Look at 6.2.4 Situation 1.

BTW: I highly recommend getting the NFHS app for your iPhone if you have one. The rule and case book are searchable by word or phrase.

dash_riprock Thu Mar 15, 2012 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 832004)
Play: F1 on 3B, 0 outs; right-handed B2 is in the Batter's Box; right-handed F1 is pitching from the Stretch.

F1 is not allowed to pitch from 3rd base.

jicecone Thu Mar 15, 2012 12:38pm

Just for clarity sake, that is 6-2-4d.1 pg 41.

umpjim Thu Mar 15, 2012 05:05pm

Also covered under OBR in 6.02(b) Comment.

Probably done on purpose with an R3. Must be getting away with it enough to try it.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Mar 15, 2012 08:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 832040)
F1 is not allowed to pitch from 3rd base.


I correctec the typo.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Mar 15, 2012 08:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 832198)
Also covered under OBR in 6.02(b) Comment.

Probably done on purpose with an R3. Must be getting away with it enough to try it.


This team didn't have any players smart enough to think of something that diabolical. LOL

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Mar 15, 2012 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 832060)
Just for clarity sake, that is 6-2-4d.1 pg 41.


Thanks. I knew I remember seeing it somewhere.

MTD, Sr.

DG Thu Mar 15, 2012 09:48pm

Batter step back causes balk, no balk. If he steps completely out of box then strike in FED.

yawetag Thu Mar 15, 2012 10:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 832284)
Batter step back causes balk, no balk. If he steps completely out of box then strike in FED.

In FED, if the pitch is made, it's two strikes.

dash_riprock Thu Mar 15, 2012 10:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 832288)
In FED, if the pitch is made, it's two strikes.

Only if the batter has also delayed the game.

Welpe Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 832289)
Only if the batter has also delayed the game.

Not according to 6.2.4 Situation I.

With R1 on third base, F1 starts his pitching motion and B2 requests "Time," but the umpire does not grant "Time." B2 steps out of the batter's box with both feet and (a) F1 delivers a pitch, (b) does not deliver the pitch or (c) throws a wild pitch.

RULING: (a) The umpire shall call two strikes on B2, one on the pitch, and one for stepping out of the box. In (b), the umpire shall call a strike on B2 for stepping out of the batter's box. The balk is nullified. In (c), two strikes shall be called on B2, one on the pitch and one for stepping out. The ball remains live. (7-3-1 Penalty)

dash_riprock Fri Mar 16, 2012 07:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 832293)
Not according to 6.2.4 Situation I.

With R1 on third base, F1 starts his pitching motion and B2 requests "Time," but the umpire does not grant "Time." B2 steps out of the batter's box with both feet and (a) F1 delivers a pitch, (b) does not deliver the pitch or (c) throws a wild pitch.

RULING: (a) The umpire shall call two strikes on B2, one on the pitch, and one for stepping out of the box. In (b), the umpire shall call a strike on B2 for stepping out of the batter's box. The balk is nullified. In (c), two strikes shall be called on B2, one on the pitch and one for stepping out. The ball remains live. (7-3-1 Penalty)

See 7-3-1 (this is the rule that results in the second strike).

Caesar's Ghost Fri Mar 16, 2012 07:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 832293)
Not according to 6.2.4 Situation I.

With R1 on third base, F1 starts his pitching motion and B2 requests "Time," but the umpire does not grant "Time." B2 steps out of the batter's box with both feet and (a) F1 delivers a pitch, (b) does not deliver the pitch or (c) throws a wild pitch.

RULING: (a) The umpire shall call two strikes on B2, one on the pitch, and one for stepping out of the box. In (b), the umpire shall call a strike on B2 for stepping out of the batter's box. The balk is nullified. In (c), two strikes shall be called on B2, one on the pitch and one for stepping out. The ball remains live. (7-3-1 Penalty)

But that's in conflict with case 5-2-1 Situation A. I'm going with the "only if it delays the game" ruling.

jicecone Fri Mar 16, 2012 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 832284)
Batter step back causes balk, no balk. If he steps completely out of box then strike in FED.

This thread is about the pitcher and batter both violating a rule. not just the batter.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1