The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Catcher Interference (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/89825-catcher-interference.html)

Rich Ives Sun Mar 11, 2012 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 831234)
FED, it's not (wrote ahead of myself above.) See 8.1.1L.

OK Thanks.

Remember though that the OP was asking about a game under LL rules and it is 7.07 there.

mbyron Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 831271)
OK Thanks.

Remember though that the OP was asking about a game under LL rules and it is 7.07 there.

The OP also asked whether the FED rule is different.

johnnyg08 Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 831270)
It's interference in ANY OBR-based rule set. Not just the big boys.

Exactly.

DG Sun Mar 11, 2012 04:17pm

The difference between FED and NCAA/OBR on a runner advancing from 3b at time of the OBS/INT is that FED scores the run and puts BR on 1b, all runners also advancing on the pitch advance also. Runners not advancing do not, ie not a balk call. In NCAA/OBR a balk is called and all runners advance and BR goes to 1b.

LilLeaguer Mon Mar 12, 2012 02:15pm

Citation?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 831160)
Yes, LL uses OBR as the base for its rules.


While FED does use different rules, this one is the same. On CI, there is the option to take the play or the penalty. The penalty is that the batter is awarded first, and any runners advance if forced. In addition, any runner stealing on the pitch is awarded a base. Also, if R3 is attempting a steal of home, a balk is also enforced and ALL runners advance.

Except for when R3 is the runner stealing (OBR 7.07), I cannot find the justification for the bolded statement.

Thanks,

mbyron Mon Mar 12, 2012 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LilLeaguer (Post 831504)
Except for when R3 is the runner stealing (OBR 7.07), I cannot find the justification for the bolded statement.

Thanks,

Matt was talking there about FED, not OBR. 8-1-1e1 is the reference: any runner attempting to advance is awarded his advance base.

LilLeaguer Mon Mar 12, 2012 04:35pm

Thanks
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 831533)
Matt was talking there about FED, not OBR. 8-1-1e1 is the reference: any runner attempting to advance is awarded his advance base.

Thank you for the clarification. For obvious reasons, I am unfamiliar with FED rules.

umpjim Mon Mar 12, 2012 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LilLeaguer (Post 831504)
Except for when R3 is the runner stealing (OBR 7.07), I cannot find the justification for the bolded statement.

Thanks,

LLGB 7.04(c)
OBR 7.04(d)

Rich Mon Mar 12, 2012 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 831164)
This IS NOT Interference by the Catcher; this IS Obstruction by the Catcher.

MTD, Sr.

Next you'll say that R1 is on 3B.

johnnyg08 Mon Mar 12, 2012 08:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 831565)
Next you'll say that R1 is on 3B.


Mark is not afraid to speak Feddish.

DG Mon Mar 12, 2012 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LilLeaguer (Post 831504)
Except for when R3 is the runner stealing (OBR 7.07), I cannot find the justification for the bolded statement.

Thanks,

Go back and read all the posts. The answer is there, for a FED game. In OBR a balk is called on CI when R3 is stealing home so does not matter if runners are stealing.

LilLeaguer Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:10am

Thank you too!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 831563)
LLGB 7.04(c)
OBR 7.04(d)

Ahh, exactly.

Thanks for helping me out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1