The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Catcher Interference (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/89825-catcher-interference.html)

OrlandoDad Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:15pm

Catcher Interference
 
I saw a Catcher Interference call today. I looked up the rule and it appeared to be the correct call.

Runners on 2nd and 3rd and the batter hits the ball foul and I heard something weird and the umpire called Catcher Interference and placed the batter on first.

This was a Little League Baseball game and I believe they play by MLB rules(with modifications) Right?

I remember a HS Umpire advancing all runners on Catcher Interference play very similar to this. Do they have a different rule in HS? It is possible that i am remembering a Softball game(of course, they may have different rules, as well) But, I am pretty sure it was a HS Baseball game.

Thanks,
Orlando Dad

PS Do all LL Umpires call balls 2 inches off the ground strikes, or is it just here? LOL

Matt Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OrlandoDad (Post 831159)
Runners on 2nd and 3rd and the batter hits the ball foul and I heard something weird and the umpire called Catcher Interference and placed the batter on first.

This was a Little League Baseball game and I believe they play by MLB rules(with modifications) Right?

Yes, LL uses OBR as the base for its rules.

Quote:

Originally Posted by OrlandoDad (Post 831159)
I remember a HS Umpire advancing all runners on Catcher Interference play very similar to this. Do they have a different rule in HS? It is possible that i am remembering a Softball game(of course, they may have different rules, as well) But, I am pretty sure it was a HS Baseball game.

While FED does use different rules, this one is the same. On CI, there is the option to take the play or the penalty. The penalty is that the batter is awarded first, and any runners advance if forced. In addition, any runner stealing on the pitch is awarded a base. Also, if R3 is attempting a steal of home, a balk is also enforced and ALL runners advance.


Quote:

Originally Posted by OrlandoDad (Post 831159)
PS Do all LL Umpires call balls 2 inches off the ground strikes, or is it just here? LOL

When you consider the diameter of the ball and the height of a batter, a pitch two inches off the ground very well could be a strike.

RPatrino Sat Mar 10, 2012 01:08pm

There are many factors that go into calling a strike, and what appears to be a 'low' pitch could very well be a strike. Many little league catchers set up very far away from the plate, so a pitch that is caught 2 inches off the ground probably passed through the strike zone. A properly coached catcher is an umpires dream!!

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Mar 10, 2012 02:06pm

This IS NOT Interference by the Catcher; this IS Obstruction by the Catcher.

MTD, Sr.

Rich Ives Sat Mar 10, 2012 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 831164)
This IS NOT Interference by the Catcher; this IS Obstruction by the Catcher.

MTD, Sr.

Nice try but you got caught by the rules differences.

In FED it's catcher's obstruction.

In OBR and LL it's catcher's interference.

2.00 INTERFERENCE (b) Defensive interference is an act by a fielder that hinders or prevents a batter
from hitting a pitch.


6.08 The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put
out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when—
(c) The catcher or any fielder interferes with him.

jicecone Sat Mar 10, 2012 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OrlandoDad (Post 831159)
PS Do all LL Umpires call balls 2 inches off the ground strikes, or is it just here? LOL

The ole I am going to appear like I know something about umpiring and the rules of baseball and throw my dig in about officials.Huh.

If you don't like the way other people officiate, get off your butt and try it yourself.

Sorry, no sympathy here for whinning parents.

mbyron Sat Mar 10, 2012 08:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OrlandoDad (Post 831159)
PS Do all LL Umpires call balls 2 inches off the ground strikes, or is it just here? LOL

No, not all LL umpires call a good strike zone: some have the kids out there for 3 or 4 hours to play a 6 inning game. :rolleyes:

mbyron Sat Mar 10, 2012 08:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 831160)
Also, if R3 is attempting a steal of home, a balk is also enforced and ALL runners advance.

Matt, I can't find this. Citation?

umpjim Sat Mar 10, 2012 08:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 831160)
Yes, LL uses OBR as the base for its rules.



While FED does use different rules, this one is the same. On CI, there is the option to take the play or the penalty. The penalty is that the batter is awarded first, and any runners advance if forced. In addition, any runner stealing on the pitch is awarded a base. Also, if R3 is attempting a steal of home, a balk is also enforced and ALL runners advance.




When you consider the diameter of the ball and the height of a batter, a pitch two inches off the ground very well could be a strike.

I believe FED does not advance any other runners on CI (Catchers Obstruction in FED) with a steal or squeeze of home. No balk.

DG Sat Mar 10, 2012 08:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 831190)
Matt, I can't find this. Citation?

+1.

And a pitch 2 inches above the ground (plate) would not be a strike for a toddler just started walking.

Rich Ives Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 831190)
matt, i can't find this. Citation?

7.07

johnnyg08 Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 831164)
This IS NOT Interference by the Catcher; this IS Obstruction by the Catcher.

MTD, Sr.

So in big boy baseball, it's Interference.

Matt Sun Mar 11, 2012 03:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 831225)
7.07

FED, it's not (wrote ahead of myself above.) See 8.1.1L.

mbyron Sun Mar 11, 2012 10:27am

OK, thanks, thought I was missing something!

Quote:

Originally Posted by Case Book
8.1.1 SITUATION L

With R1 on third base and trying to score on a steal or squeeze play, F2 obstructs the batter's swing.

RULING: This is defensive obstruction and R1 is awarded home. The batter is awarded first base.

COMMENT: If the catcher, or any other defensive player, obstructs the batter before he has become a batter-runner, the batter is awarded first base. If on such obstruction a runner is trying to score by a steal or a squeeze from third base, the play will be a delayed dead ball which results in the runner on third scoring and the batter being awarded first base. Runners not attempting to steal or not forced to advance remain on the bases occupied at the time of the obstruction.


Rich Ives Sun Mar 11, 2012 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 831226)
So in big boy baseball, it's Interference.

It's interference in ANY OBR-based rule set. Not just the big boys.

Rich Ives Sun Mar 11, 2012 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 831234)
FED, it's not (wrote ahead of myself above.) See 8.1.1L.

OK Thanks.

Remember though that the OP was asking about a game under LL rules and it is 7.07 there.

mbyron Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 831271)
OK Thanks.

Remember though that the OP was asking about a game under LL rules and it is 7.07 there.

The OP also asked whether the FED rule is different.

johnnyg08 Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 831270)
It's interference in ANY OBR-based rule set. Not just the big boys.

Exactly.

DG Sun Mar 11, 2012 04:17pm

The difference between FED and NCAA/OBR on a runner advancing from 3b at time of the OBS/INT is that FED scores the run and puts BR on 1b, all runners also advancing on the pitch advance also. Runners not advancing do not, ie not a balk call. In NCAA/OBR a balk is called and all runners advance and BR goes to 1b.

LilLeaguer Mon Mar 12, 2012 02:15pm

Citation?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 831160)
Yes, LL uses OBR as the base for its rules.


While FED does use different rules, this one is the same. On CI, there is the option to take the play or the penalty. The penalty is that the batter is awarded first, and any runners advance if forced. In addition, any runner stealing on the pitch is awarded a base. Also, if R3 is attempting a steal of home, a balk is also enforced and ALL runners advance.

Except for when R3 is the runner stealing (OBR 7.07), I cannot find the justification for the bolded statement.

Thanks,

mbyron Mon Mar 12, 2012 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LilLeaguer (Post 831504)
Except for when R3 is the runner stealing (OBR 7.07), I cannot find the justification for the bolded statement.

Thanks,

Matt was talking there about FED, not OBR. 8-1-1e1 is the reference: any runner attempting to advance is awarded his advance base.

LilLeaguer Mon Mar 12, 2012 04:35pm

Thanks
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 831533)
Matt was talking there about FED, not OBR. 8-1-1e1 is the reference: any runner attempting to advance is awarded his advance base.

Thank you for the clarification. For obvious reasons, I am unfamiliar with FED rules.

umpjim Mon Mar 12, 2012 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LilLeaguer (Post 831504)
Except for when R3 is the runner stealing (OBR 7.07), I cannot find the justification for the bolded statement.

Thanks,

LLGB 7.04(c)
OBR 7.04(d)

Rich Mon Mar 12, 2012 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 831164)
This IS NOT Interference by the Catcher; this IS Obstruction by the Catcher.

MTD, Sr.

Next you'll say that R1 is on 3B.

johnnyg08 Mon Mar 12, 2012 08:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 831565)
Next you'll say that R1 is on 3B.


Mark is not afraid to speak Feddish.

DG Mon Mar 12, 2012 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LilLeaguer (Post 831504)
Except for when R3 is the runner stealing (OBR 7.07), I cannot find the justification for the bolded statement.

Thanks,

Go back and read all the posts. The answer is there, for a FED game. In OBR a balk is called on CI when R3 is stealing home so does not matter if runners are stealing.

LilLeaguer Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:10am

Thank you too!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 831563)
LLGB 7.04(c)
OBR 7.04(d)

Ahh, exactly.

Thanks for helping me out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1