The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   ML rules balk (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/89779-ml-rules-balk.html)

Rich Ives Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 830512)
The video guy was thinking of the pitch that bounces in, fielded cleanly (but not CAUGHT), and thrown to 2B to get the runner diving back to the base. ;)

Just make it clear, the ball remains in play only if it's ball 4 AND all runners get to advance becaue it's ball 4.

Rich Ives Wed Mar 07, 2012 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dileonardoja (Post 830451)
Don't you mean diving over a fielder is illegal (FED). Diving back to a base is certainly OK.

Yep - I'll fix it.

DG Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:53pm

Nobody mentions 2:05 in the video.

JR12 Fri Mar 09, 2012 07:35am

Good point!

gpdeppert Fri Mar 09, 2012 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 830437)
JR,

"He" is mistaken.

From the MLBUM:



There is an exception noted if the pitch is ball four and all runners would be forced to advance by the batter's award of 1B. Then you keep it live and allow the play to continue.

So, if the pitch were ball 4, "He" would be correct - otherwise, he's not.

JM


Just to clarify: Catcher catches pitch in flight. Call time - enforce balk. (Got it.)

Pitch skips in dirt BUT catcher still picks it clean - call time and enforce balk? (This is where I get fuzzy)

mbyron Fri Mar 09, 2012 09:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 830522)
Just make it clear, the ball remains in play only if it's ball 4 AND all runners get to advance becaue it's ball 4.

False. The ball also remains in play on a batted ball, a passed ball, a wild pitch, and a wild throw to a base.

Edited to add: you might be saying this: on ball 4, the ball remains live only if all runners are forced to advance by the BR's award. That's true! :)

mbyron Fri Mar 09, 2012 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by gpdeppert (Post 831003)
Just to clarify: Catcher catches pitch in flight. Call time - enforce balk. (Got it.)

Pitch skips in dirt BUT catcher still picks it clean - call time and enforce balk? (This is where I get fuzzy)

Yes. The defense is not permitted to play on a runner before he reaches his advance base, so you should never have the situation suggested in the video.

Rich Ives Fri Mar 09, 2012 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 831016)
False. The ball also remains in play on a batted ball, a passed ball, a wild pitch, and a wild throw to a base.

Read it in context. I said that because I was responding in the thread about the pitch being ball 4.

gpdeppert Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 831017)
Yes. The defense is not permitted to play on a runner before he reaches his advance base, so you should never have the situation suggested in the video.

So the fact that the pitch SKIPS does not change the situation? I understand that a wild pitch remains a live ball.

UmpJM Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:55am

gdpeppert,

That is correct - the essential element is not whether the catcher "legally caught the pitch in flight", but whether or not he immediately controlled/gloved the pitch.

JM

mbyron Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 831034)
gdpeppert,

That is correct - the essential element is not whether the catcher "legally caught the pitch in flight", but whether or not he immediately controlled/gloved the pitch.

JM

Right. For instance: strike 3, ball in the dirt, the BR takes off. If the ball goes to the backstop, we let the play go. If the BR and each runner reaches his advance base, the play stands; otherwise, enforce the balk.

But if F2 comes up with the ball immediately, kill it and enforce the balk. Advance the runners, no pitch to the batter, bring him back to the plate. No point letting this go, since the defense can't record an out here.

mbyron Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 831024)
Read it in context. I said that because I was responding in the thread about the pitch being ball 4.

What context? You quoted me, and I wasn't talking about ball 4.

Uncharacteristically ambiguous and misleading post from you. C'mon coach!

Rich Ives Fri Mar 09, 2012 06:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 831037)
What context? You quoted me, and I wasn't talking about ball 4.

Uncharacteristically ambiguous and misleading post from you. C'mon coach!

Nice try. But I was responding to your response to UmpJM and he WAS talking about the ball 4 exception. Like I said - I was responding in a THREAD about ball 4, not just your post.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1