The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Detached glove? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/77219-detached-glove.html)

bsaucer Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:29am

Detached glove?
 
Can a fielder catch a ball with his glove if he is not wearing it, but marely holding it in his hands?

mbyron Mon Aug 08, 2011 06:48am

No. Rule 2.00 CATCH.

rbmartin Mon Aug 08, 2011 07:39am

Quote:

7.05 Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out,advance—
(b) Three bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a fair ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril;
(d) Two bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a thrown ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play;
Would you consider a detached glove as "part of his uniform" and thus meeting the penalties described above?

bob jenkins Mon Aug 08, 2011 07:49am

As a general case, I agree with mbyron here. But, if the glove is unintentionall dislodged and then caught, I'd rule a catch.

Two outs. F6 leaps for a liner. As the ball hits the glove, the ball pops straight up in the air and the glove comes off F6's hand. F6 instinctively grabs the glove and the ball falls into it and is secured. F6 opens the glove, shows the ball to the umpire and then turns the glove over to drop the ball on the mound.

I'd rule a catch and an out.

BSUmp16 Mon Aug 08, 2011 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 778840)
Would you consider a detached glove as "part of his uniform" and thus meeting the penalties described above?

I think it's pretty clear that Rule 2.00 CATCH makes a distinction between the fielder's glove and the fielder's uniform. As examples of parts of a uniform, the rule cites "cap, protector, pocket". I also think a common sense interpretation is that the glove is not part of the uniform. Also, 7.05 makes a clear distinction between using detached parts of the uniform (7.05(b) and (d)) and a detached glove (7.05(c) and (e)). See also comment to Rule 8.02(a)

Finally, Rule 3.15 does not allow players to be on the field unless they are "in uniform". If the uniform included the glove, players would always have to carry their glove while on the field, which they obviously are not required to do.

I'd say making a catch using a securely held glove in which the fielder has not inserted his fingers is still a catch and legal. The glove is not part of the "uniform" and has not been thrown.

Larry1953 Mon Aug 08, 2011 06:19pm

This seems similar to the case where a batted ball got stuck between the fingers of the pitcher's glove so he tossed glove/ball to F3 for the out. Here the player is essentially catching his own glove.

Rich Ives Mon Aug 08, 2011 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BSUmp16 (Post 778983)
I think it's pretty clear that Rule 2.00 CATCH makes a distinction between the fielder's glove and the fielder's uniform. As examples of parts of a uniform, the rule cites "cap, protector, pocket". I also think a common sense interpretation is that the glove is not part of the uniform. Also, 7.05 makes a clear distinction between using detached parts of the uniform (7.05(b) and (d)) and a detached glove (7.05(c) and (e)). See also comment to Rule 8.02(a)

Finally, Rule 3.15 does not allow players to be on the field unless they are "in uniform". If the uniform included the glove, players would always have to carry their glove while on the field, which they obviously are not required to do.

I'd say making a catch using a securely held glove in which the fielder has not inserted his fingers is still a catch and legal. The glove is not part of the "uniform" and has not been thrown.

I bet you'd lose the protest. It's the ball that has to be held securely (not stuck in the glove, held securely) . Hard to do if your fingers aren't in the glove. The throw-the-ball-stuck-in-the-glove play is only an out when the reveiving fielder holds the ball/glove combo securely in his hand or glove.

Larry1953 Mon Aug 08, 2011 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsaucer (Post 778791)
Can a fielder catch a ball with his glove if he is not wearing it, but marely holding it in his hands?

What is a reasonably plausible circumstance where this might happen? Short of the "line drive knocks glove off" scenario it is hard to think of one.

How about this: F3 (LH) goes to the dugout railing for a foul pop. He realizes he can't reach it back-handed so he takes the glove off his right hand and holds it by the fingertips with his left hand for maximum extension. The ball falls in the pocket which allows F3 to flick it back into play where F2 catches it on the rebound (sort of like the catch Rose made). Anything illegal about this catch?

rbmartin Mon Aug 08, 2011 10:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 779057)
What is a reasonably plausible circumstance where this might happen? Short of the "line drive knocks glove off" scenario it is hard to think of one.

How about this: F3 (LH) goes to the dugout railing for a foul pop. He realizes he can't reach it back-handed so he takes the glove off his right hand and holds it by the fingertips with his left hand for maximum extension. The ball falls in the pocket which allows F3 to flick it back into play where F2 catches it on the rebound (sort of like the catch Rose made). Anything illegal about this catch?

Why doesn't he just use a butterfly net, then secure it in his hand? Anything illegal about that catch?

Larry1953 Mon Aug 08, 2011 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 779060)
Why doesn't he just use a butterfly net, then secure it in his hand? Anything illegal about that catch?

Sorry, the OP seemed a little implausible at most levels of ball. Maybe in LL, a player might take his glove off while a pitch is on its way and make a miraculous catch holding the glove in the wrong hand.

There was a play in Colt .45 lore where a knuckleball pitcher gave up a double that was likely going to score R1. The catcher was wearing the oversized knuckleball mitt allowed back then. The pitcher tossed his glove to the catcher to increase the odds of holding on to the ball during the tag.

From AstrosDaily

Bobby Tiefenauer
Full name: Bobby Gene Tiefenauer
Born: 12/10/29, Desloge, MO
Died: 6/13/00, Desloge, MO; cause not reported
Career: STL-N (1952, 55), CLE (1960), STL-N (1961), HOU (1962), MIL-N (1963-65), NYM (1965), CLE (1965, 67), CHC (1968)
Notes: Knuckleball pitcher. As a Colt .45, his catcher once used the hurler's glove to make a tag at home plate on a throw from the outfield.

bob jenkins Tue Aug 09, 2011 07:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry1953 (Post 779026)
This seems similar to the case where a batted ball got stuck between the fingers of the pitcher's glove so he tossed glove/ball to F3 for the out. Here the player is essentially catching his own glove.

No, it's not.

BSUmp16 Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 779060)
Why doesn't he just use a butterfly net, then secure it in his hand? Anything illegal about that catch?

??

Rich Ives Tue Aug 09, 2011 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BSUmp16 (Post 779227)
??

It's a joke son.

rbmartin Tue Aug 09, 2011 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BSUmp16 (Post 779227)
??

Maybe this forum should supply a "Sarcasm Font".:rolleyes:

BSUmp16 Tue Aug 09, 2011 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 779270)
Maybe this forum should supply a "Sarcasm Font".:rolleyes:

I got the sarcasm. Got the humor too

But since you asked, the answer is "the percontation point."

bsaucer Tue Aug 09, 2011 07:43pm

I was thinking of the case where a fielder removes his glove just before the ball is batted to him.

Rich Ives Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsaucer (Post 779312)
I was thinking of the case where a fielder removes his glove just before the ball is batted to him.

1) Nobody does that

2) It's still detatched

BSUmp16 Wed Aug 10, 2011 01:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 779361)
1) Nobody does that

2) It's still detatched

If by "detached" you mean "not worn with the fingers inserted inside the glove, but held in the hand", then it doesn't matter if its "detached". The rule violation is for "throwing" a glove (which touches a live ball) 7.05

I can visualize a player extending the length of the glove's reach by holding the base of the glove with his fingers that are not inserted inside the glove. An extra inch or two reach could easily make a difference. If the ball then landed in the glove and the player held the ball in the glove long enough to prove that he had complete control of the ball and that his release of the ball was voluntary and intentional, I'd call that a catch

bob jenkins Wed Aug 10, 2011 07:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BSUmp16 (Post 779394)
I can visualize a player extending the length of the glove's reach by holding the base of the glove with his fingers that are not inserted inside the glove.

That's detached, and it's a violation. award 3 (or 2 or 1) bases.

rbmartin Wed Aug 10, 2011 07:33am

If the sequence of events is as follows
1) Fielder attempts a catch with glove is in it's proper place
2) glove becomes detached during the attempt
3) the ball remains in the glove
4) glove is secured by fielder without hitting the ground
5) fielder removes ball from glove with bare hand and displays posession

I rule catch and/or out only after step 5.

If the sequence of events is as follows
1) Fielder attempts a catch with glove is in it's proper place
2) glove becomes detached during the attempt
3) the ball remains in the glove
4) glove is secured by fielder without hitting the ground
5) fielder fails to secure ball in his bare hand or reattach glove

I rule no catch

If the sequence of events is as follows
1) Fielder attempts a catch or field with glove detached from it's proper place
2) the ball remains in the glove
3) glove is secured by fielder without hitting the ground
4) fielder removes ball from glove with hand and displays posession

I rule no catch and assign penalties prescribed in 7.05 (b) or (d)

rbmartin Wed Aug 10, 2011 07:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsaucer (Post 779312)
I was thinking of the case where a fielder removes his glove just before the ball is batted to him.

So to answer your question bsaucer, in the scenario you describe, I rule no catch and assign penalties prescribed in 7.05 (b) or (d).

Just my opinion.

Rich Ives Wed Aug 10, 2011 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BSUmp16 (Post 779394)
If by "detached" you mean "not worn with the fingers inserted inside the glove, but held in the hand", then it doesn't matter if its "detached". The rule violation is for "throwing" a glove (which touches a live ball) 7.05

I can visualize a player extending the length of the glove's reach by holding the base of the glove with his fingers that are not inserted inside the glove. An extra inch or two reach could easily make a difference. If the ball then landed in the glove and the player held the ball in the glove long enough to prove that he had complete control of the ball and that his release of the ball was voluntary and intentional, I'd call that a catch


You have the BS part right.

It's not going to happen. Don't lose any sleep over it.

BSUmp16 Wed Aug 10, 2011 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 779498)
You have the BS part right.

It's not going to happen. Don't lose any sleep over it.

Well, if your name is Richard you have the Dick part right.

Now can we go back to a legitimate discussion without the 2nd grade name-calling. Sheesh

yawetag Wed Aug 10, 2011 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 779361)
1) Nobody does that

2) It's still detatched

I'm thinking there's been a time where a fielder took his glove off to tie his shoe (or whatever) and the pitcher pitches without knowing it. The fielder picks up his glove but doesn't have time to put it back on his hand and the ball's hit to him. He uses the detached glove to make a play.

Obviously, this is a lower-level situation.

Rich Ives Wed Aug 10, 2011 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BSUmp16 (Post 779542)
Well, if your name is Richard you have the Dick part right.

Now can we go back to a legitimate discussion without the 2nd grade name-calling. Sheesh

How can you have a legitimate discussion about a "ain't gonna happen" scenario?

in any case, your question has been answered by several folks. The discussiuon is over. Sorry you don't like the answer.

BSUmp16 Wed Aug 10, 2011 06:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 779613)
How can you have a legitimate discussion about a "ain't gonna happen" scenario?

Ok - I'll leave it at that.

But to quote Yogi: "It's tough to make predictions, especially about the future." :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1