![]() |
WP on ball four, does run count?
I finally found my copy of Nemec's book and found this interesting OP. Bases loaded, 2 outs with 3-1 count, tie game in the bottom of the 11th. Ball four is a wild pitch and R3 comes home with the apparent winning run. The B/R joins in the celebration at the plate instead of going to first. VM comes out to discuss with PU that B/R is obligated to touch first. PU (Votagglio) says the WP took precedence over the walk and eliminated the B/R's need to go to first. Nemec says this OP is still uncovered by the rules (1994). Rule 7.08 says the B/R must touch first before the other runners are forced to advance but that wording doesn't really seem to address the issue. Is there an appeal at 1B that might constitute the B/R making the third out before he reaches first that would negate the run? Has the umpire manual been revised in the meantime? Thanks.
|
Why would a wild pitch take precedence over anything? Wild pitch is an official scorer thing - it has nothing to do with the rules of the game, although they probably talk about it in section 10.
|
Quote:
|
The umpire directs the batter-runner to first, and if he refuses declares him out.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
score run
Game over.
4.09a states once a run has legally scored, it cannot be erased, no matter how hard one tries. |
Quote:
ETA: there are lots of ways "legal runs" can get erased on appeal. ETA: 4.09(b)...the umpire shall not declare the game over until the runner has touched home and the B/R has touched first [it the situation of a game ending on a bases loaded walk or HBP]. |
Quote:
2) He doesn't. Your act is getting really old. I have Nemcec's book - interesting - not a valid source interpretations. The Sporting News' book used to be considered the key source as it was writtten by Billy Evans - an MLB umpire.. Still has historical value on interpretations. |
Quote:
Good work. |
The run cannot be unscored
Remember the ball 4, R2 overruns 3rd base and is tagged out before R3 scores case play? Ruling run scores, out ends the inning.
Same ruling I have in this play, run scores, out at first on appeal. But that would not erase the winning run. |
Half remembered something
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Concerning original op, run would not score
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
PS - no run. No thought required. |
I had nearly this play a couple of years ago and posted it here. Tie game. Bottom 7. R3 with 2 outs. 3-1 count. Ball 4 bounces in the dirt and goes to the backstop. R3 comes in to score.
B/R gets about 20 feet toward 1st base when his dugout (1st base side) empties to celebrate the win. He joins the celebration and never reaches 1st base (and also never makes it to the dugout). There was much debate as to whether the B/R can be called out for abandonment (and at what point that happens.) Best advice I had from this forum: as soon as I see the dugout empty, yell, "Stop. The game is not over." |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Had one in LL, bottom 6, tie game, sacks juiced. Ball 4 to B1. R3 touches home; dugout erupts. B1 does not touch first, but stays in live ball territory.
I am U2, but I stay on the field, watching B1. Finally, someone tells him to go touch first. As he runs to 1B, F2--honest--throws to F3, who tags B1 before he touches the sack. As soon as B1 hit the bag, I hightailed it out of there. In the parking lot, VC (very civilly) asked me why B1 wasn't called out on the tag. I said, "New rule, coach. When a batter gets four balls, he gets to proceed, unmolested, to first base." Slight chuckle. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52pm. |