The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 03, 2003, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Tee is totally incorrect in saying or implying the pitcher need not step if throwing or feinting to 2B from the pitching rubber. There must be a step with the nonpivot foot if the move is from the rubber. If he steps to 1B or 3B from the rubber yet throws or feints to 2B, it is a balk.

Evans in JEA 8.05(c) states:
    Customs and Usage: For practical enforcement purposes, stepping directly means stepping within 45 degrees of a direct, straight line to the base. In other words, the pitcher is NOT stepping MORE toward a different base than the one to which he is throwing.

Please note, Tee, it doesn't limit the bases to 1B and home or 3B and home. If stepping more toward another base than to the one which he is throwing or feinting, a balk is committed---and that includes 2B.

It's a judgment call as to where he is stepping.
And while it's more difficult to balk to 2B due to the allowances provided by umpire judgment, it's still definitely possible.


Freix


BTW, Tee, I'll not add the IIITBTSB to the list of "misses" until credit is claimed---but it wouldn't surprise me.....



Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1