The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   protest play??? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/71824-protest-play.html)

TussAgee11 Fri Jun 10, 2011 09:54am

Wait a second. We are saying that he CAN return him to 3rd. He CAN also score him if he sees fit. This is a play where the umpires can do whatever they want to fix the problem, use "the hand of God".

It is entirely within their judgment and if they scored the run and a protest came, it is their judgment that is being protested.

Think about the can of worms you are opening if you allow this protest to result in an overturn. Where does it end?

MD Longhorn Fri Jun 10, 2011 10:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TussAgee11 (Post 764705)
Wait a second. We are saying that he CAN return him to 3rd. He CAN also score him if he sees fit. This is a play where the umpires can do whatever they want to fix the problem, use "the hand of God".

It is entirely within their judgment and if they scored the run and a protest came, it is their judgment that is being protested.

Think about the can of worms you are opening if you allow this protest to result in an overturn. Where does it end?

It's not impossible for the protest to result in an overturn. However, as you infer, it's critical that the committee dissect the difference between the umpire's RULE usage, and his/their judgement.

If, upon talking to the umpire, they learn that the umpires did discuss whether the run would have scored or not had the call at first been made at the normal time - we have no protest.

If, instead, the umpires were unaware that this was even an option and ALSO they state that they feel the runner would not have scored had the call been made at the normal time - this is protestable and overturnable.

PeteBooth Fri Jun 10, 2011 10:23am

[QUOTE]
Quote:

Originally Posted by wentdl (Post 764518)

My feeling is, once he called runner out at 1st all play ends. It is like any normal 3rd out call what happens defense rolls ball to the mound and trots off. Now you have a reversal and time certainly had to be dead to do this. So unless this guy was a superhuman speedster you know darn well he has 3rd and thats as far as it goes.

OBR 9.02(c)

If the umpires consult after a play and change a call that had
been made, then they have the authority to take all steps that they may deem necessary, in their discretion, to eliminate the results and consequences of the earlier call that they are reversing, including placing
runners where they think those runners would have been after the play,
had the ultimate call been made as the initial call
.


Since the umpires awarded the run the run stands because on a call reversal, it is umpire discretion as to where to place runners.

In FED, there is a specific rule to govern this and in all likelyhood R3 would be returned to 3rd base.

SIDE NOTE: You can do what you will but in PRE-GAME make it clear that if your partner needs help do it right away. If there is some time like this case then DO NOT reverse the call or even bother asking at this point.

Pete Booth


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1