![]() |
Ball/Strike count confusion
Had this happen to my plate partner and wasn't sure how to handle it either. Pitches go like this:
1. Foul tip strike - not recorded on indicator 2. Ball 3. Foul Ball 4. Ball. Count should be 2 & 2 but recorded as 2 & 1 and plate ump tells batter count is 2 & 1. 5. Called strike. Opposing coach comes out of dug up and tells the umpire that should be strike 3. Explains the pitch process and then the plate umpire tells the batter he's out on strikes. Batter's coach gets' upset and talks to the ump that he can't change his count and call his batter out because he messed up. Ump stayed with his decision and the batter was out. What's the ruling on this and if there is a reference in rules/case book on this, please list. I can't locate one. Thanks, |
Tell the OHC that you didn't change the count; what you gave as the count was wrong. The count is the count, what you say can be wrong. Then get ready to take the heat for giving the wrong count. Happens. Usually though when I give a wrong count, the slighted party will try to correct me then. Hopefully.
I used a new indicator this season, and ran into a few situations where it was wrong. I'll always try to review the pitches in my mind each at bat before checking my indicator. Don't think that this is covered explicitly in the rules. |
Quote:
|
I think my point was "umpire says count wrong" is not covered by the rules. The count is the count.
|
Quote:
What happened here is the coach went through the pitches and then the PU changed the call and IMO that's what most likely made the other coach upset. Not saying he would not have been upset anyway but when you and your partner get together and change things it looks better. Pete Booth |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16am. |