![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
quite some time ago:
Is a BR "forced" to 1B? Does the force reinstatment rule apply? If not "forced" to 1B, how could a force be reinstated? Here's the WUA's response:
The batter-runner is out for abandoning his effort to run the bases; he is out as soon as an umpire determines that he is no longer advancing toward second nor returning to first. Thanks for your question! World Umpires Association So, assuming you would agree with this WUA ruling......... and that you would call this returning BR out for abandonment before he reaches home on his return and not provide him the opportunity to ultimately correct his error (as he attempted to do in the situation), then it would seem different than any other runner being forced. I'd think that you would allow a forced runner to return and reinstate his force (without declaring him out for abandonment) when done so at other bases. Of course, this WUA ruling would disagree with the JEA criteria about abandonment where Evans states under his Professional Interpretation of 7.08(a.2):
shall not be called out before entering the dugout. [my emphasis] It seems Evans provides far more leeway to the BR on abandonment than Roder allows. So, who do you listen to........Roder or Evans? And if you accept Evans and do not call out the BR for abandonment, then what is the BR's status in the original situation provided the WUA? Is the runner out? Was a "force" reinstated? Or would the returning runner be "safe" since his person was not tagged in his ultimate return to 1B? Freix |
| Bookmarks |
|
|